FlutterScape = cool stuff from Japan

27 Jun

Have you checked out FlutterScape before?
I’ve read about it here and there and I finally joined them as a seller the other day!!
I’d quote a post from Tofugu that explains things better than I will do so from scratch. :p

So basically it’s a marketplace where sellers who live in Japan and buyers overseas meet. I wanted to have a chance to sell kawaii stuff from Japan but eBay was not my thing. I opened my account but somehow I didn’t feel like joining them. It’s just too huge and too complicated for a person like me who is not familiar with online auctions. Then what about FlutterScape? To me, it seemed to be less complicated, family atmosphere that sellers and buyers exchange comments so casually each other just like on blogs, and more over it was run by a Japanese guy and their office is in Shibuya where I can easily visit if I needed to do something off-line.

I also once thought of making an opportunity for you to be able to purchase Decotti from me when I made my first Decotti making video but my problem was how buyers can feel comfortable about paying everything in advance when they don’t know me very well. It’s good to have a corporate agent inbetween the sellers and buyers who don’t know each other.

That’s the background I decided to join them as a seller at FlutterScape.
As always, I can be easily confused with new online systems and services, at FlutterScape, even though it’s rather simple, my confusion occurred almost exclusively. I had to keep asking questions to the staff, and meanwhile I made a first sale the other day! I was allowed to drop off the parcel at their office in Shibuya. I needed to go to Shibuya anyhow to buy some cosmetics that day, it was nice I could do both at a time. Moreover, Mr. Kakiyama, the CEO of FlutterScape was so nice he invited me to join his dinner with his colleagues and his loyal customer from the UK who’s visiting Tokyo on vacation. It was fun to see them in person off-line!

I’ll keep uploading cool stuff and kawaii stuff from Japan on my account at FlutterScape, but you can also request specific items from Japan. All the other sellers have very interesting and cool stuff that you can enjoy shopping or even only browsing. BTW, if you want to deal with me directly because you trust me and you like me so much (lol) just contact me. I am available for you at several ways from here, Tokyo. πŸ˜‰

25 Responses to “FlutterScape = cool stuff from Japan”

  1. Sharon June 27, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    YES YES YES !!!!!! πŸ˜€
    this is awesome ! so this is kind of like a shopping service?

  2. Lisa June 27, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Yeah I've read about Flutterscape on Tofugu as well. It definitely sounds like an interesting concept. May have to look into selling things once I get back to Japan. ^^
    Will definitely recommend you as a seller to friends who are looking for stuff via the site; I think personal recommendations always feel a bit more 'safe', even though the Flutterscape system is really good. πŸ™‚

    • kirin June 29, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

      Thank you Lisa.
      I understand what you mean. I trust what my friends trust. πŸ™‚
      Yeah you can be a seller if you live in Japan again. πŸ˜‰

  3. exotic_japan June 27, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Thanks for that interesting post. Sakie and I should join and see about selling her jewelry, or as you said can get business as a personal shopper for people who want to buy things that companys will not ship to other countries.

    • kirin June 29, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

      Yes, that's a good idea. I think it's better for her to have several channels to sell her works. I thought you already joined.

      • exotic_japan June 29, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

        I made one a while back with my “gantaro” ID, but totally forgot about it until I had created the “EphemeralB yDesign” account after reading your blog. But Sakie is having second thought about selling online. She might just continue making pieces just by word of mouth to not take away too much time from her writing.Β Β  πŸ™‚

      • kirin June 30, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

        That's it, that's the one I thought it was you. Nice naming~, I like it! ^ ^

      • exotic_japan June 30, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

        Ha, ha, ha. thanks. I guess is is a little close to my family name GantzΒ  πŸ™‚

  4. Aru June 27, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    Wow, this is the first time I'm hearing about a website like that ! I think it's a fantastic idea ^_^ But minus about FlutterScape is that there is no information about each sellers fees and FlutterScape fees 😦

    • kirin June 29, 2010 at 2:07 pm #

      Each seller can decide the price. Usually the total price will be product price + profit for the seller + domestic delivery to the seller's place to FlutterScape's office + FlutterScape's fee (9-15% if I was not wrong). So it's not of course as cheap as what you buy at stores in Japan by yourself. But some things are what you can never reach from your place.

      I'm still new to FlutterScape, so I might be wrong, but I guess it was like that. :p

  5. sedonia2 June 27, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    Good luck with that, Kirin! πŸ™‚

  6. hellolynn June 29, 2010 at 1:07 am #

    Kirin! thanks for introducing tis new service to all your blog readers! =D

  7. Cath June 29, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

    Absolutely COOL!!! I’ll check with you the next time I order clothes and skincare products from Japan. I think the fact that you’re able to translate is a HUGE plus point!

    • kirin June 29, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      Yes please. You can send them a request but you can actually email me directly to request specific item so I can take it into consideration that it was from you when I decide the price. πŸ˜‰

  8. kirin June 29, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Yes, we (sellers who live in Japan) update cool stuff from Japan which you can not easily find at other places like eBay and you can shop them thru FlutterScape. πŸ˜‰

  9. fran June 30, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    Hmm..I spent some time checking it out. I like how there’s a range of kawaii items, but I find that for the newest trends in fashion it’s not as ideal.

    I’ve been using http://eng.j-goods.net/index.html (J-Goods Proxy service) for over a year now. Basically it’s a service that helps you purchase from any Japanese online web-store (+commission +express mail service). It’s quite efficient and the staff is friendly and speaks good English too!

    • kirin June 30, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

      I didn't know that service. Thanks for sharing that with other readers of this blog. πŸ™‚

  10. Adam June 30, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Yeah I agree that flutterscape is overly complicated and confusing. it's also very expensive because they add additional fees to the sellers price which is already marked-up over the retail price….

    Companies like White Rabbit Express got the model right. You request it, they buy and ship it. You can probably buy anything listed on Flutterscape from the folks at White Rabbit Express cheaper and faster haha

    • kirin July 1, 2010 at 2:48 pm #

      Thank you for sharing an interesting service with other readers of this blog. πŸ™‚ Indeed, White Rabbit Express looks very simple and easy.

  11. Kasper August 15, 2011 at 12:23 am #

    Why is Ebay not your thing? I would guess that Ebay offered a far bigger market for your items than FlutterScape will do (I for one have never heard about it before I read your post, but maybe it's because I'm not so much into buying things?)

    • kirin August 15, 2011 at 1:46 am #

      Hmm…because it's too big and so often times I am recommended to make my goods as cheap as possible to be outstanding. I don't like to be involved in price competition. Also I hear there are scams always. Ebay is too complicated for me. But now I don't have time to do FlutterScape either.

  12. Robert Devins October 26, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    Yes, FlutterScape reminds me of the way Ebay was in the beginning. Today, EBay has strict guidelines for users and merchants and this can turn some people off. Let's hope FlutterScape keeps it simple.

    • kirin October 28, 2011 at 2:12 am #

      I think their system is pretty simple. I am no longer active at FlutterScape because I'm too busy, but I really enjoyed my experience with them. I didn't feel like selling stuff at eBay because it seemed more complicated and also I heard there are some scams. 😦

  13. Sam Milby March 13, 2012 at 2:36 am #

    How is this different from other website online shopping? Are the services really more effective and consistent?

  14. Jenny September 10, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Nah I haven't but I sure would love to try it out and see for myself. I have long been looking for something worth the while. I'd love to see you guys grow and better!

Leave a Reply

