Best-selling Japanese cooking tools today

18 Jun

I’d like to share the following videos that feature 10 best selling kitchen tools and machines (somehow food is included though) nowadays in Japan.

Top 10-5

No.10 Cookingoo 2980 yen

No.9 Magic Cold Plate 3675 yen

No.8 Shuttle Cheff 21000 yen

No.7 Chili oil 400 yen

No.6 Liquid miso 368 yen

No.5 Cotton Candy Maker 15750 yen

Top 4-1

No.4 Crepe Maker 6720 yen

No.3 Tajine Nabe 5250 yen (*It’s from Morocco. Their healthy pot best matches with our food culture.)

No.2 Acrylic Nukazuke Meijin 6900 yen

No.1 Lukue Steam Case 5250 yen

Did you find anything interesting? I have a similar type of silicon-made case as No.1’s. But it was cheaper and not that famous as Lukue. As a result, I saved some money then but I cannot find as many recipes as Lukue now. 😦 In the future I may want to buy No.2’s Japanese pickles maker. It looks quite hassle-free. I like Japanese pickles but I didn’t want to make them by myself because it really smells bad and I have to stir the rice-bran paste in the pod everyday. I was seriously thinking that I’d rather give up eating the pickles if I have to put up with the smell and labor. No.3’s Tajine Nabe was already very popular in the winter, but I don’t have it yet.

Even if how good tools and machines are available in the market, my biggest problem is that my kitchen is very small. I have no room to store these. I even give up a bread-baking machine only because I have nowhere to keep it in my kitchen! (T_T)

The chili oil at No. 7 is so popular it’s always out of stock.

21 Responses to “Best-selling Japanese cooking tools today”

  1. exotic_japan June 18, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    Interesting info. Thanks.

  2. Emily June 18, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    That's awesome! I want the cotton candy maker! Are the little ball thingies made of natural flavors or something like that? Can't understand Japanese lol.

    Thanks for posting this! I'm sharing this with my mom! 😀

    • kirin June 18, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

      The little ball things are just candies you can get anywhere. As candy useually has several flavors, you can make cotton candy with cola flavor if you use cola flavor candy for example. Cool, huh~? 😉

      I didn't add translation this time because I thought you can guess from what you see.
      But if you are unsure about details, please feel free to ask me! 🙂

  3. Walter6735 June 18, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    Interesting.
    Cooking in a silicon holder is not new here, but the shape is unfamiliar. I use Chinese bamboo steaming baskets ( you know the round ones 🙂
    The crepe maker is imho a waste of money and space ( and how do you get the last dough out of the mixing bowl ? Haha ! ). You can get the same with a small crepe pan ( it's teflon coated , like a normal pan, but smaller and very compact )

    As for the Tajine being compatible with Japanese cooking, I almost fell off my chair reading that ! The way of cooking with a tajine slaoui ( the earthenware pot) originated from the Berber people of the Maghreb (consisting of Algeria, Tunesia and Morocco ) these days more commonly known as Northern Africa ) . It is used on a charcoal fire for the slow stewing of foods ( meats, chicken , vegetables ) which is excellent for blending the tastes of the meat and vegetable and the many spices used.
    Gas stoves are too hot for an earthenware tajine ( it would break ).
    Interestingly , the Berbers used tajines only for small groups of people, for larger gtoups they used large copper tinned pots, called k'dra.

    Of course I only know this because I have a cookbook on traditional Moroccan cookbook and another solely dealing with tajine recipes. And I've been to Algeria a few times, but I've only eaten traditional food once or twice 🙂 there. ( Business trips ^^ )

    You can look up one very well known recipe here on my blog http://brandnewbearings.blogspot.com/2009/08/moro

    The pickles maker looks interesting because I just bought a book on japanese pickling ( ! ) but I still haven't found the necessary rice bran. Yet.

    • kirin June 19, 2010 at 12:11 am #

      Thank you for the comment, Walter.

      Oh you have "seiro" (that's what we call it) ? Cool~.
      Yeah, the crepe maker is nonsense. I'd eat out if I had to store such a thing in my tiny kitchen!

      I myself don't have the Tajine pot, I actually don't know how we are supposed to use it. I think we have Tajine recipe book arranged as Japanese way sold here and there in Japan. If I read them well, they may instruct we should use it over low heat on gas or IH. :p I remember the post of yours, so you're alreay familiar with it!

      Oh are you going to try to make Japanese pickles? The rice bran smells so bad and weird. My mother-in-low does it everyday and she told me the smell is left on her hands even after they are well-washed! That's why I ask her to give us some pickles when we see. I never do it by myself. So if I'm free from those problems, why not?

    • Chimster June 20, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

      You can find IRINUKA OR NUKA (toasted and non toasted rice bran) at a Japanese grocery store or online. It takes a while for the NUKADOKO to mature and become flavorful, but worth the try. Mine is a little over a year old, and it is finally beginning to taste good. I use plastic or rubber gloves to mix. Sometimes I use wooden spoon or spatula. It is supposed to be ideal if you mix with your bare hands, I noticed that my hands were very smooth and did not need hand cream (but smelly) because of the oil in rice bran. I rubbed lemon on my hands and it took care of the smell.

      • kirin June 21, 2010 at 12:59 am #

        Cool~! You have Nukadoko by yourself and keep it? Amazing~. I didn't know that the rice bran makes our skin smooth. If only it didn't smell that I want to use it for beauty, and eat Nukazuke for health. But now as we have this tool, I'll buy it and I can finally make pickles at home without hassle! 🙂

      • chimster June 28, 2010 at 10:30 pm #

        When I first made NUKADOKO few years ago,NUKAZUKE I made tasted pretty bad. One day I found mold all over the NUKADOKO ( I forgot to mix for few days! ). I was horrified and threw it away. Since then, I started another NUKADOKO. I read a NUKAZUKE article in UKATAMA ( one of my favorite magazines ) and followed my mother's instructions. Finally, after a little over a year it is tasting good. I love cabbage NUKAZUKE. I did this just for the cabbage ( funny isn't it ). I recently had NAGAIMO NUKAZUKE made by a very creative sushi chef. It was really delicious.

        You can make NUKABUKURO to wash your face and body. Just get fresh rice bran from OKOMEYASAN and put it in a cotton bag. Let us know how the NUKAZUKE maker works out.

      • kirin June 29, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

        Oh yes I have to check out the stuff. Even though I'm a Japanese I know less than you. I have no experience of making Nukazuke in my life! lol When I get the device, there's no way I can compare and write a good review because that will be my first-ever Nukazuke making! lol But I can ask my mother-in-low to give me some Nukamiso she has been mixing years to come.

      • chimster June 30, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

        Getting Nukamiso from your mother-in-law is the best! I wish I can get mine from my mom, but she lives in Osaka and I live in Atlanta.

  4. Steven Stier June 19, 2010 at 3:03 am #

    I love ice cream so after watching this I desperately want some ice cream. But I am not a big cooking gadget fan. However my son has a cotton candy maker. It is much cheaper and it uses table sugar to make that sweet treat. I believe he has used it only once. I love steamed vegetables but I just put a little water in the bottom of a pan and put the vegetables on a grate that fits inside the pan with a lid on it. I have never made crepes at home but after seeing the strawberry crepes in the video I am thinking of getting a recipe and trying it soon.

  5. Amanda June 19, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    I like the look of the cotton candy maker! (We call it fairy floss in Australia.) It looks so easy to use.
    The silicon steamer looks really good too. I can't believe it cooks rice that quickly. I'd probably use it a lot.

    • kirin June 19, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      Fairy floss? It sounds nice~. Aussie English is very unique! I remember people said "Ta" instead of "Thank you" and there are many more…right? ^ ^;

  6. maresnia June 19, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    Wah!Sugoi!! I like to know many creative,weird and cute stuffs from Japan. So far I have seen a lot of those stuffs from other websites and I felt like, wow, I've never been thinking of something like that. And they are great. ^_^

    • kirin June 19, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

      Thank you for your comment. I'll feature this sort of post once in a while. 😉

  7. Maria June 20, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Kirin, you need a metal soap. Many people around here have one in their kitchens. It neutralises smells from hands. You use it like normal soap.
    The only thing I might buy from the top 10 list is the Steam Case. Everything else is something I don't need.
    If I remember right those Tajine Nabes were very popular here few years ago. I never bought one, I already have good pots that I use. I have one that has glass lid, it works the same as that Tajine one. The pot itself is made out of porcelain so it's rather thin material. I haven't seen any shops selling ones like it, mine is old (maybe 50 or 60 years old).

    • kirin June 21, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      Ah~ metal soap! I remember I got one from 100yen shop, but somehow I didn't use it well. Hmmm…I'd rather wash my hand with fragrance-free kitchen soap…but that's not eco-friendly…^ ^;

  8. chimster June 20, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Thank you for posting all the neat stuff. I find myself wanting many of the items mentioned, but the storage is the problem. I want COOKINGOO, but sandwich press probably will make osenbei. I wonder if any of the sandwich presses sold in U.S. have smooth surface. I need to look for Momoya no rahyu at my local Japanese store.

    For past 3-4 years, retailers in U.S. have been trying to promote tajine. I have been styling many tajines for catalogs and ads. They are rather pricey and I'm not sure if they are selling. It is a great thing to have. Again, thank you for all your fun posts.

    • kirin June 21, 2010 at 12:54 am #

      Oh I'm happy you enjoyed this post. 😀
      It looks like we can make use of CookinGoo for several ways. I don't like rice burger as in the video, but I like to use it instead of sandwich press. haha…

  9. starcraft 2 cd key July 11, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    this is a great post. I dont know how I stumbled upon it, but it was worth reading. I added this to digg. hope to see more great blog post in the future.

Leave a Reply

