My Lunch Today -Mentaiko Spaghetti-

15 Jun

Japanese people LOVE Italian cuisine. There are many Italian restaurants in Tokyo. Mentaiko Spaghetti is a Japanese-Italian cuisine and it tastes so good! I actually love Mentaiko so much, especially when it’s mixed with mayo. Thus I like to put Mentaiko mayonnaise inside rice ball or over steamed rice as much as Mentaiko pasta or Mentaiko potato with butter. I wonder if you can get Mentaiko at your place, but if you can please give it a try. It’s yummy!!

Mentaiko spaghetti with thinly sliced beefsteak plant or laver.
I had a cup of vegetable soup with Parmesan cheese. I love cheese too!
And half an orange as a dessert.

Cooking Mentaiko spaghetti is pretty simple and easy.
While boiling spaghetti (100g for 1 person), cut a few leaves of beefsteak plant and mix the following ingredients in a bowl so that boiled spaghetti can be well mixed later. (I didn’t use a bowl because I mixed everything on the hubby’s plate and arranged it beautifully on my plate. lol)

for 1 person
-Mentaiko x 1
-mayonnaise x 3tbs
-butter x 1tbs
-squeezed lemon x little bit
-Japanese Konbucha powder. Or Japanese dashi no moto powder to be replaced. Both are like instant soup powder. I would say 1 teaspoon of either powder.

*I found mayonnaise sold in Australia was pretty different from Japanese one. When I was staying in Australia with working holiday visa, Japanese mayonnaise was something very precious among us. I begged one of my working holiday friends who worked at a Japanese restaurant to share some Japanese mayo with me. lol We were serious about saving money then because we wanted to keep travelling until the money ran out. I don’t know about mayo in other countries.

Well, as the dish has butter, mayo, and tarako that all contain high cholesterol, I cannot say it’s very healthy. But once in a while will be OK! :p I think most of Italian restaurants in Japan have Mentaiko spaghetti on their menu, but I’m not sure if authentic Italian restaurants might not like to include such non-Italian dish.

20 Responses to “My Lunch Today -Mentaiko Spaghetti-”

  1. sedonia2 June 15, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

    Very interesting! I've never heard of this before. If I ever see it in a restaurant here in the US, I'll try it.

    • kirin June 15, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

      I don't know if this is available at any restaurants in the US…but some Japanese restaurant might have it. ^ ^;

  2. Thomas Gantz June 15, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    Mmmm. That sounds delicious. That for sharing the recipe. πŸ™‚

    • kirin June 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

      Actually I'm so bad at telling recepes because I never measure anything using scales like teaspoon. I'd say I rely on my eyes and tasting, which my husband dislikes because I can never create the same taste. lol

  3. Emily June 15, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    lol I would have never guessed you guys like Italian food. I'm lucky to be around some great privately owned Italian restaurants around here. I LOVE Italian and Japanese food! I like more out of the ordinary cuisine.

    • kirin June 15, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

      Things will depend on which part of Japan, I guess, but speaking of Tokyo there are hundreds of Italian restaurants here and there. But when I went to Osaka, I sensed there were much less Italian or French restaurants or any international restaurants or simply nice cafes. Instead they had Okonomiyaki, Takoyaki, Udon, Ramen…many Japanese casual restaurants. I think this is one of the big reasons I think I cannot live in Osaka. Otherwise, I liked its culture maybe more than that of Tokyo's. :p

  4. Lisa June 15, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

    Looks delicious! Yeah Japanese mayo is very special. I think it's different from most other countries'. I quite like it, but sometimes I find it in places I don't expect it and the shock putsm e off it… > .<; For example, one time I was in a hurry and grabbed a sandwich in the supermarket quickly without looking carefully – I had bought a cream cheese sandwich there a few days before and really liked it, so I planned to get another one. Only… next to the cream cheese bread was 'mayo bread'; and without reading carefull, the packages looked the same! It was not a pleasant surprise, haha! But it taught me to look more closely in future. πŸ˜‰

    • kirin June 15, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

      Really? Japanese mayo is very different from most of other countries? Then Mentaiko spaghetti should taste different if you use mayo from non-Japanese brands! (@_@)

      Mayo bread? That sandwich only had mayo inside? Weird~.

      • Lisa June 16, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

        Yes, only bread and mayo… I was sooo disappointed! Maybe it could still have been good, but… I couldn't eat all of it even so. :/

      • kirin June 17, 2010 at 12:24 am #

        (@_@)~~ I've never seen or even heard of such sandwich around Tokyo! I wonder who is attracted to it… I even think it was a sandwich made by mistake! lol

  5. astrorainfall June 16, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    I think Japanese mayo is saltier and sweeter than regular mayo πŸ™‚

    • kirin June 17, 2010 at 12:25 am #

      Thank you for telling me that. I was not sure what made Japanese mayo so special. πŸ™‚

  6. Pinksugarichigo June 16, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    i love mentaiko spaghetti.. i first discovered it here in japantown, san francisco, california last year at one of the restaurants and it was very very tasty. i found an instant packet in one of the stores, and decided to try it out – it's the S&B Cod Roe spaghetti: http://i280.photobucket.com/albums/kk161/pinksuga
    I'm pretty sure it's not as tasty as the real version, but hopefully I can find fresh mentaiko in the stores and try out your recipe! For now, I guess I will have to eat at the restaurant.

    I really love your blog, I've been a visitor for awhile and haven't commented until now. Your posts are always so fun to read! And I learn a lot!

    • kirin June 17, 2010 at 12:41 am #

      OMG you have that S&B package!? lol That's one of the very familiar products at any supermarkets in Japan, too. Usually S&B does a great job. Even if their products are instant and pre-fixed, the tastes are close to the homecooking. I think S&B had Mentaiko version of that line. It might be difficult to find Mentaiko abroad, but I also hear Mentaiko is originally from Korea. (I don't know what they call it in Korean though.)

      Thank you for your first comment! (^0^) Your deco is awesome! Keep up the great works!

  7. Phil June 16, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    I wasn't familiar with mentaiko so I looked it up – fish eggs, specifically eggs of pollock. I'm not a fan of fish eggs (including caviar) but I'd like to try this. We're fortunate to have a Japanese market not too far from here where I've gotten Japanese mayo in the past – yes, it's quite different from the American version. It seems to me that a lot of foods that Japanese have are quite different from foods with the same name in the U.S.! Vive la differ'ence!

    • kirin June 17, 2010 at 12:59 am #

      Wow~ that sounds so interesting. So the mayo I felt different in Australia…was not because it was from Australia. It was just ours that was different! lol I think Japanese people love our mayo so much!

  8. Leo June 16, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    I dislike mayonnaise so much, and I hate it when anything japanese has it because it immediately tastes like western fast food to me. I have however tried tarako spaghetti back when the Tarako kewpie was all the rage and I can vouch it's absolutely delicious! So flavourful!

    • kirin June 17, 2010 at 1:01 am #

      Mentaiko is Tarako with chili. So if you don't like something a bit spicy, Mentaiko is better in taste than just Tarako. πŸ™‚ Give it a try~!

  9. fran June 17, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    Yes!!! I LOVE mentaiko spaghetti! I used to order it all the time when I was a kid in those Western style Japanese cafes like “Pokka cafe”!

    It’s harder to get good mentaiko here in NZ, and it can be quiet expensive. So I tried mentai furikake instead-which wasn’t quite the same effect but was still okay…lol. 😎

    • kirin June 18, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

      You're from NZ and it's hard to get Mentaiko there…hummm I am quite interested in living in NZ but that means life without Mentaiko. (>_<)

Leave a Reply

