Sony Plaza and Mini Plaza

13 Jun

★Imported goods and cosmetics★
SONY PLAZA
address: around Japan and online shop but limited to domestic shipment.

Browsing inside Sony Plaza once in a while is also fun. The shop is located at so many shopping malls, station malls, and even inside major stations if MINiPLA, a sister store is also counted.

When I was a high school girl, I liked to stop at the nearest Sony Plaza from my high school on the way home and shop kawaii stationery or snack imported from foreign countries. Sony Plaza basically has domestic and international stationery, clothes, cosmetics, daily goods, small kitchen tools, or anything kawaii. I no longer need any foreign stationery but I can easily find nice goods for beauty in a short time. In that sense, LOFT or Tokyu Hands are too large scaled for me to browse within limited time. Yes, Sony Plaza and especially Mini Plaza is handy.

Bunch of cheap cosmetics products are on the shelves. I say cheap, compared with cosmetics brands such as SHISEIDO.

Nail colors and goods, just like this.

When I took my friend from abroad to one of Sony Plaza stores in Tokyo, she was thrilled to find something she was never able to do in Europe. On the other hand, you will be surprised how expensive the snack is priced when you remember the local price in your country. (lol) Thanks to such store that tries to collect the best things (biased by the buyer though) from around the world, I can get the nice things only by checking out the store from time to time while I am out. 🙂 But I think this store is basically designed for female customers judged from their product line.

***There are archives of kawaii shops listed under the page titled “Kawaii Shop” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.

13 Responses to “Sony Plaza and Mini Plaza”

  1. exotic_japan June 13, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    I must admit that I could spend most of a day browsing around Tokyu Hands. It is my favorite store since you can get anything for any hobby there so the possibilities are endless. But as you say, if you don't have much time and min Sony Plaza stores are fun to look around in.

    • kirin June 14, 2010 at 11:25 am #

      I wonder if you have stores like Tokyu Hands in your country? (you from the U.S?)

      • exotic_japan June 14, 2010 at 11:53 am #

        Yes, I'm from Illinois originally. No, I don't think there are stores like Tokyu Hands in the US. There are stores that have some of the things, but no store with as interesting things as that.

      • kirin June 14, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

        What would be like if Tokyu Hands expands their business in the U.S? I wonder what if they have a branch store in New York or somewhere…?? ^__^

  2. Cath June 14, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    A Daiso just opened in a mall near my home! The residents are thrilled and the cash register has been ringing non stop! Haha… I browse through the shop in about 20 mins but didn't get anything. My husband, as expected, picked up some snacks. n_n Browsing through the shop reminds me of Japan 100yen shops, of course. My husband has not decided if we will REALLY come back this year end. He says a lot depends on my daughter's behaviour. =( She has 2 months to improve on her level of obedience! O_O!!
    My husband and I adore Loft! He doesn't like Tokyu Hands as much as I do. But it's very tough to shop with two little kids. They want to touch everything. So… We take turns to shop. Haha… It was possible to do this with ONE child. I cannot imagine what happens when we shop with TWO now… -___-!!!
    I remember Plaza at Odaiba. I browsed for a long time but didn't buy much. My husband can't understand me. Haha… Oh, I can shop at Plaza Online now. Yay!

    • kirin June 14, 2010 at 11:34 am #

      LOL Daiso is that popular over there?!
      I cannot imagine how it's like to have small kids around when I shop or travel, because I want to concentrate on shopping, eating out and local events so much. ^ ^;
      Sony Plaza online shop doesn't ship internationally though… 😦
      Most of Japanese shops do not like international shipment. But you can make use of shipping service (http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/3287) I mentioned before. 😉

  3. Amanda June 14, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    What kind of foreign snacks do you like? I tried making goma-ae with miso by the way. I think I still need to practice but it tasted good! 🙂 Thanks. ^_^

    • kirin June 15, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

      If only I could give you the detailed recipe…But most people use soy sauce or add only a bit of miso. Thus checking the recipes at cooking sites meant nothing to me. Do you have the tools to grate sesame seeds? I'd have no problem myself by eye measuring and tasting it while making. Hope you're doing well. 🙂

    • kirin June 15, 2010 at 10:52 pm #

      What kind of foreign snacks?

      -snyders pretzel
      -mere poulard cookie

      TimTam for example is too sweet to me. I found that I didn't like something so sweet.
      But I usually buy foreign snacks at different places that sell them cheaper. :p

  4. Thomas Gantz June 15, 2010 at 12:50 am #

    I checked and Tokyu Hands only has some stores in Taiwan outside of Japan

    • kirin June 15, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

      Only Taiwan, while so many people from the US love that store? I hear that US tourists spend great amount of money at Tokyu Hands and sell the stuff at eBay. :p

  5. Lisa June 15, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    Sony Plaza and Mini Plaza were great places to stop by and be comforted with some things from home; even if they weren't things I would normally buy there – it was nice to see them occasionally. ^^

    • kirin June 15, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

      Aha! It's like when I see Japanese products at Asian markets abroad. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

