Carrot Apple juice strongly recommended by a Japanese doctor

11 Jun

First off, I have not lost interest in short sleep yet. Since I failed my first experiment that I tried to change my sleeping hours from 8 hours to 6-3 hours, I have started to have a glass of fresh juice from carrot and apple with a few drops of squeeze of a lemon every morning instead of egg, sausage and bread. I remembered that I read one of Dr. Ishihara’s books a few years ago when I was searching how we can improve immunity to fight against cancer cell. At that time I reached his book in terms of prevention of cancer, but I remembered he recommended the juice as an easy way to fast, which eventually brings in lose-weight. As I like eating well, I wanted to start from something easy but still good for health.


Dr. Ishihara’s diet method goes like this.
For breakfast drink fresh carrot apple juice. Prepare 2 carrots and 1 apple, use a juicer (not a blender!) so that the fiber should be separated from the extract. Some people wonder if the fiber is better for health. In a sense it is, but it also prevent the body from absorbing the vitamins and nutrition from carrot and apple if we take both juice and fiber together.
Extract from 2 carrots and 1 apple is about 2.5 glasses of fresh juice. This is it. If we feel hungry before lunch, he recommends we should drink a hot tea with grated ginger and honey as often as we like. (This is however very difficult unless you work from home, though.)

For lunch, he recommends we should take soba.
For dinner, he says we can have anything as we like as long as it’s Japanese cuisine and we can also have alcohol.
Every time we feel like eating something, we have to drink a cup of hot ginger tea. This hot ginger tea is very good to warm the body and that’s the basic of his theory; By warming up human body, our immune system is improved and we can prevent any kind of diseases.

As you can see, I cannot live with this. How can I eat soba for lunch everyday? (I may be able to live with spaghetti for everyday, though… :p) How can I enjoy my dinner when it’s always Japanese? No other cuisine…no, no, that’s no way! I know I cannot do this 100% as Dr. Ishihara recommends, I will just follow a glass of fresh juice from carrot and apple with a tiny piece of bread with spread for breakfast. (I will change it to hot ginger tea when summer is over. :p) For the rest of meals, I’ll take as I like! This is all I can do at a moment, and I’ve already found myself feeling it’s too much if I have to have an egg or sausages in the morning.

This method is useful if we want to fast, and also to prevent cancer cells from growing.
Even after we have cancer, he says we can cure it naturally (without surgery and chemotherapy) by drinking carrot juice 13 times a day, brown rice or bread, and vegetables and this method is taken at several countries.

Carrot apple juice can increase good bacterium within the intestine.
Carrot contains beta-carotene (vitamin A) that keeps our skin healthy.
Carrot has all kind of vitamins and minerals we need, especially vitamin A, B1, B2, mineral and kalium.
It’s anti-aging, anti-oxidation, anti-allergic, and it helps improve immunity.

Apple contains fruit sugar, vitamin C, kalium, and etc.
Its pectine helps regulate the functions of the intestines.
It also helps relieve a cough, which is the reason we used to eat grated apple when we caught a cold.
It helps deactivate the production of melanin. That’s why carrot apple juice is also good for beauty, especially it can lighten freckles.

If you are looking for an easy way to lose weight or prevent/fight against cancer, carrot apple juice maybe great.
Dr. Ishihara’s another book tells all the details of recipes for each health problem. For example, my husband was coughing on and on for no specific reason. He was taking prescribed drug by his doctor but nothing changed. Only half believing it, I suggested he drink carrot apple juice with pineapple extract, as in Dr. Ishihara’s recipe book. As it turned out, it was amazingly effective to him. I wouldn’t say he stopped coughing, but his coughing has reduced so well now he barely coughs and I almost forget he had that problem.
My husband was more sensitive against the change of his body since we replaced our breakfast with carrot apple juice. He feels so light and he can concentrate on his work in the morning more.

I hope I can lose extra fat by taking less calories in the morning. When carrot and apple have so many kind of nutrition, I don’t have to spend much money to try micro diet. At least I am not bored of the same juice everyday for over 2 months when it’s only for breakfast.

The point is to continue everyday and for that, choosing the juicer that is easy to be washed and maintained is the key.

***There are archives of posts and videos about Health and Beauty listed under the page titled “Health & Beauty” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.

28 Responses to “Carrot Apple juice strongly recommended by a Japanese doctor”

  1. exotic_japan June 11, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Yeah, some diets are too extreme. I think as you said you can take the parts of various people's advice that makes sense to you to combine into your plan

    • kirin June 13, 2010 at 4:43 am #

      Right, I want to enjoy meals and that's the most important thing. I cannot prefer health and sacrifice the joy of eating…

      • exotic_japan June 13, 2010 at 4:58 am #

        Yes, if you only eat healthy food that you don't enjoy, then it is not worth it.

  2. nao June 11, 2010 at 5:49 pm #

    Hi Kirin. Thank you for such useful information. Love carrot in any form. )))
    As for sleeping hours, I practice Five Tibetans (tibetan yoga). With that practice my sleeping hours decreased till 3-6 hours.

    • kirin June 13, 2010 at 4:55 am #

      Really~~?? That sounds interesting!! I've never heard of Tibetan yoga. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  3. Holly June 11, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    That sounds nice, but I don't have a juicer so my mum suggested that I buy some apple juice and some carrot juice. I don't think it'll be the same…

    • kirin June 13, 2010 at 4:58 am #

      I hear the difference of commercial juice sold at supermarkets and home made juice is the difference of enzyme. The juice at supermarkets is pasteurized by heat and so the enzyme is dead in that process. But I think it's better than nothing.

  4. courtney June 11, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    I like Carrots and Apples, and i like drinks with carrot juice in them! now if can just convice my mum to buy a juicer :3

    • kirin June 13, 2010 at 5:00 am #

      If your family members also drink it, they can be healthier. It's not only for your sake, your mom can also reduce the rink of growing cancer cells.

  5. sedonia2 June 12, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    Carrot apple juice is incredibly delicious! My boyfriend makes fresh carrot juice every morning – he loves it and feels so healthy from it. I like it a lot too but I don't make it for myself because I'm too lazy to clean the juicer afterward. lol;)

    • kirin June 13, 2010 at 5:03 am #

      Your boyfriend is doing it right! At the same time I understand what you mean. Also some people say it's too much money for a glass of juice. So…it depends. Please tell your boyfriend that he is doing something very good for his health! πŸ˜€

      • sedonia2 June 13, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

        Yes – he's 57 now and has been juicing since he's 23. Today he added some cabbage to it. 😑 lol. A good thing to eat along with the carrot juice is a soft boiled egg. Some people eat only the yolk. I eat the whole egg. He learned the natural hygiene diet from a doctor named Christopher Giancursio. That's when he started to drink the carrot juice.

      • kirin June 14, 2010 at 11:56 am #

        Amazing! πŸ˜€
        I think adding cabbage is also good for something, for example, stomach. Carrot + apple + cabbage was also introduced in one of the Dr. Ishihara's recipe books, if I was not wrong. (I borrowed the book from a public library, so I don't have the book.)

      • sedonia2 June 14, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

        Yes, I'm sure it is. Raw juices are really wonderful for the heatlh. πŸ™‚

  6. lore June 12, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    drink carrot juice 13 times at day!!!! there aren't time in a day for drink so much juice!! haha.
    I hate diets, I think that a healthy diet may have a little of everything not only fruit or soba apart of it will be so bored. I like take the breakfast, every morning I wake up with a lot of hungry and I use to eat a toasted with jam and a glass of milk with cola cao( maybe you don't know this brand, is a type of cocoa powder) and some cereals. If I don´t start the day with this kind of breakfast I probably die at half of morning hahah

    • kirin June 13, 2010 at 5:07 am #

      I think each person should have different diet. Thus one method should not fit all. Especially when you are young, you can eat more than the old. As I am getting aged, I need to reconsider what I am eating. ^ ^;

  7. Mat June 13, 2010 at 2:16 am #

    Is sleeping for 6-3 hours really worth it? I know someone who does so, but tends to forget things, make lots of mistakes and wastes most of the saved hours to make up for them.

    • kirin June 13, 2010 at 5:08 am #

      Really? If so…hmmm…I don't want to stick to it any more. The book I read didn't mention such bad effects. 😦

  8. Tekunoloji June 13, 2010 at 2:48 am #

    This is quite interesting. i will have to consider this drink next time. Thanks for the information!

    • kirin June 13, 2010 at 5:13 am #

      You may sense smells of carrots but it's not that bad. Actually to be mixed with apple it tastes so well. Today I also mixed with pineapple, as I felt something was wrong with my throat and OMG, it was fantastic taste!!!

      Carrot + Apple + Pineapple = Delicious!! πŸ˜€

      Also the uncomfortable feeling from my throat has gone before I notice. It worked out for me, too. πŸ˜€

  9. Darklite Archangel June 14, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    To me, you shouldnt force things against nature. so to speak. Some things take time to change e.g sleeping habits, and forcing a change, especially rapidly, usually end up in failure or have side effects. Just my two cents.

    • kirin June 14, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

      Yeah, the experiment I did was extreme, it was only 2 weeks. I see what you mean. I'm used to 8 hours sleeping in my life and how can I change the habit within 2 weeks? Right. I will not try to do it rapidly. When I sleep 8 hours, I don't feel sleepy in a day at all. But when I sleep 6 hours I feel sleepy around 2-3pm and I need to have a nap. (-_-)

      But according to the side effects, the book I read mentioned that no side effects were found from official experiments that were conducted at several foreign countries. The author of the book insisted sleeping short is no harm to human body.

  10. Hellolynn June 14, 2010 at 6:12 am #

    Kirin…as u can see…I have so much to catch up in your blog as I had been v busy lately ;p i really love love love those recent articles u had posted in particular to those health and beauty tips such as the facial massage, hot stone massage, yr breakfast and tis post on carrot apple juice. Pls continue to share with us on more tips for us to stay healthy and pretty πŸ˜‰ But i do agree dat some health diet theories are really too extreme and it made u seem boring in life without able to have good food. I strongly feel dat so long we can keep a balanced diet …it should be good enuff =)

    i got excited when u mentioned about yr hubby recovering a cough by taking the recommended juice from the book. Do you mind sharing with me the recipe??? I had been coughing for many many months despite several visits to the western and chinese doctors 😦 hmmm…. mebbe i should consider investing in a juicer. Is yours easy to maintain? I hate to wash those complicated home gadgets.

    • kirin June 14, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

      Thank you for your comment. You can come back anytime. I will read every single comment and I will also reply to the comments left at old posts. So please don't worry and enjoy this blog at your pace!

      I drink carrot apple juice in the morning, but I don't follow other parts of what Dr. Ishihara recommends. I eat as much as I like at lunch, I enjoy eating sweets and snack from time to time. So it's only breakfast when I reduce what I take in.

      As for Carrot + Apple + Pineapple juice, there's no recipe. Just mix them as you like. I always use 2 carrots and 1 apple to share with my husband. But for him, I add pineapple extract, too. How much of the extract? Hmmm, I never measure it but around 1/3 of a glass. (the glass in the photo, that contains about 240ml)

      I found the juicer that is easy to be washed, but I have to admit it gives me another task in the morning. My husband takes adoair diskus (name of the prescribed drug) but it didn't work at all. But once he started drinking pineapple juice, he apparently looks almost recovered from the problem.

      • Hellolynn June 15, 2010 at 2:19 am #

        Thanks dear! hope it works out for me too =)

      • kirin June 15, 2010 at 11:08 pm #

        I do hope so, too. But I always have to keep buying these fruits, that gives me another task. So please consider if you are convinced and determined to bear extra work (washing and shopping and repeat of that), before you actually start this. My husband's coughing has almost stopped these days.

  11. Steven Stier June 14, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    Better to be fat and happy than thin and miserable. Unless your husband looses interest .

    • kirin June 15, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

      I won't do miserable diet, but just do something a little bit to make myself look better. Even if my husband thinks OK, I need to think OK myself. I eat lunch, dinner and snacks as I like. It's only a breakfast, not a big deal. ^ ^ Many people say we have to eat enough at breakfast, but I think that's while people are growing. In my age, me working from home, no need to eat much from morning.

Leave a Reply

