Kawaii Clay Sweets and Sweets Art

7 Jun

Sweets Heaven
28/NOV/2009 on air

Do you like to have fake sweets or do you like to make them?

These preserved flower cakes are not edible. Sweets accessory is everywhere now in Japan. It’s 8000yen for the admission to the sweets fashion show where models had real sweets on their clothes. The show was created from collaboration with famous Japanese confectioners. Now our sweets motif trends are going to be diversified.

Okada-san is a new type of idol called “Nendol”. She can make anything from clay. (Clay in Japanese is Nendo. Nendol is from Nendo + idol) She can make miniature clay foods. Fruit parfait is only 1 cm small. She’s been improving her skills of making clay foods since she was only 6 years old at an elementary school. In a bento box there is a miniature osechi that is also made of clay. Okada-san is now so famous on TV for what she does. She often opens her clay classes at several places in Japan.

She shows how to make a miniature strawberry cake.
1) First, add brown water color into the light clay to make sponge cake.
2) Then put the white colored clay on the sponge cake as whip cream.
3) Next, Add the strawberry shaped clay whose outline is painted in red.
4) Add another white clay to cover the strawberries.
5) Add another brown clay (sponge cake) and then white clay (whip cream) and strawberry shaped clay on the top.
6) Cut it into 6 pieces. Every piece has 3) strawberries observed.

Miniature foods are very popular especially among 20s, 30s and 40s women in Japan.
28-year-old mama is a collector of miniature foods, but she is not just displaying them. She plays with them with other collectors using Blythe dolls! They take pictures to enjoy them on calendar or past cards. She says “We cannot eat so much of sweets at a time. We cannot dress this much or dye our hair this much. The dolls do all these things for us.”

Watanabe-san is a sweets artist.
A department store in Shibuya had an eye on sweets art. Strawberry cake clock is 20,000 yen, macaroon chandelier is 320,000yen and fruits overloaded skull is 50,000yen. Watanabe-san has held exhibitions in Italy, Belgium, or China.
He taught himself how to make food samples after he learned painting at an art university. He shows how to make a fake sliced lemon.
1) First, prepare silicon mold that was created from real lemon.
2) Then put finely-crushed candles over a fire to melt them.
3) Add yellow crayon to color the melt candle.
4) Put 3) into the 1) mold and wait for 1 hour.
5) Take 4) off and paint it in acrylic color.

He uses modeling paste that is often used for acrylic painting as whip cream.

At a 390 years of long-established Wagashi (Japanese sweets) store in Hiroshima, cream puff that really looks like Takoyaki (see Takoyaki photo at my Osaka trip is interesting. Takoyaki sauce and bonito flake are replaced by chocolate. Green laver is by matcha powder. Red ginger is by cherry. They inserted nata de coco instead of octopus.

A bag store in Tokyo also has sweets motif items. A coin case looks like a rice cracker. They have the one with laver!

A whiskey bar targets sweet tooth men.

Cake shaped gifts are selling well at department stores in Tokyo. 500 are sold per month, and their sales are 30 million yen annually. Who’s making these? They are all housewives who work from a small room. The cake is called “Omutsu cake” (omutsu=diaper). The idea is originally from the U.S.

Takara Tomy’s cooking toys are so interesting.

Jozaki-san, an employee and developer of soft caramel making toy shows how to make soft caramel.
1) Put 20g of coarse sugar, 50cc of milk, and 50cc of fresh cream into the maker.
2) Microwave it for 1-3 minutes.
3) Turn the knob softly to mix the ingredients.
4) Put the paste onto the tray and chill it for over 1 hour in a freezer.

Kirin’s opinion:
Miniature foods collectors who play with Blythe dolls look like they go back to little girls!
I liked Watanabe-san’s sweets art, although his works seem to be a bit expensive. It’s interesting that Okada-san’s miniature clay sweets can be that popular. Fake sweets can be business in Japan just like this. How is it in your country? Feel free to comment! 😀

***There are archives of episodes listed under the page titled “Tokyo Kawaii TV” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.
***If you want to know the music that was used in the episode, please refer to this page and help yourself to find it by selecting the date when the episode was on air in Japan.

16 Responses to “Kawaii Clay Sweets and Sweets Art”

  1. exotic_japan June 7, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    Interesting video, and nice explanation. Watching it makes me want to eat something sweet. 🙂

    • kirin June 8, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

      Thank you. I cannot do this without dictionary. It's a good exercise to improve my English, too. ^ ^;

      • exotic_japan June 8, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

        Good job with your English. :-)After seeing your post, I've been wanting something sweet. Please see my latest post about Fairycake Fair.

      • kirin June 9, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

        Thank you. ^ ^
        Yeah, I saw it. But what's wrong with my old comments? I have left a couple of comments at a couple of posts of yours but none of them are left there… 😦 Please tell me if I did anything wrong to them.

      • exoticjapan June 10, 2010 at 1:42 am #

        Hi. thanks for letting me know. Hmmm. I have no idea why your reply comments to my comments on your blog disappeared?? I got your reply comment here OK, and I got an email with your reply comment above, so it looks OK now. I wonder what happened to your replies to my comments on other of your posts? I wonder if there was an issue with the Intensedebate comment system?

      • kirin June 10, 2010 at 11:47 am #

        I again tried to leave a comment on the one that kitty and puppy sleeping together. When I left it, it's there. I can see it it's up. When I hit Home and come back, my comment is gone… 😦 Really weird. I'll ask IntenseDebate on this matter. Their system sometimes work strangely. I have had several times my replies to my blog are gone…

  2. Diyana June 7, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    In Singapore, we have fake cakes made of towels~

    • kirin June 8, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

      We have towel cakes too. But the one I know is small and cheap. :p

  3. Patty June 7, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    I find that decoden type toys fascinating, it's cute and different. My husband saw me playing w/ it and he was commenting that how come I would play w/ fake food, but don't make real food… haha. It's always easy when everything is already prepared for you than to make things from scratch.

    • kirin June 8, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

      lol I know~ cooking is time taking. >_< I wonder how much time I have to use everyday for cooking, dish washing, and shopping at grocery stores…

  4. Cath June 8, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    Really cute! I just ordered a cake pendant from France. n_n I wouldn't mind having a cake clock in my kitchen or fake sweets decoration in my daughter's room. For me, less is more. If I have a fake sweets theme for my home, my husband will divorce me. *LOL*

    • kirin June 8, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

      A cake pendant!? That sounds so cute!! XD

  5. Lisa June 10, 2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Ooh, I really loved the Wagashi shop in Hiroshima – I couldn't believe how realistic it looked. Wouldn't it be wonderful to surprise someone with a 'fake/sweet' takoyaki!? ^_^

    Thank you, as always, for posting these shows. I've started watching before reading your summaries and it's going quite well! There are always some parts I miss, or don't understand fully, so thank you again for writing about them! Although, do you happen to know the name of the shop in Hiroshima? It may be a place worth a visit! ^^

    • kirin June 13, 2010 at 5:24 am #

      Exactly! ^__^ That fake Takoyaki is great to surprise someone! 😉

      Oh~, I forgot to place a link to the wagashi shop in Hiroshima. It's here. http://www.okashi.tv/cgi-bin/db/okashishopdp-User

      It seems that they have Okonomiyaki looking cake, too. lol Nice~

  6. Jess July 8, 2010 at 1:25 am #

    I wonder what kind of modeling paste Watanabe-san uses. I loved this video ^-^

  7. VERONICA July 21, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    HI KIRIN MY NAME IS VERONICA, I`M FROM MEXICO AND I LOVE ALL KAWAII STUF PLEASE I WANT MORE CHAPTERS OF KAWAII TV,

Leave a Reply

