cool boxer underwear shop in Harajuku

2 Jun

★Boxer underwear shop★
Body Wild Under Wave

address: (B1F – 2F) 6-14-5 Jingumae Shibuya-ku, Tokyo 150-0001
nearest station: 4 minutes from Meiji Jingu mae (明治神宮前)station
phone: 03-3409-6891
open: 11:30am – 8:00pm *Closed on Monday, but when it’s national holiday it’s open.

*Disclaimer: the photo is quoted from Body Wild official website and Nikkei Trendy Net.

Gunze is one of the most well-known national underwear makers in Japan.
They opened an exclusive boxer underwear shop sometime before Valentine’s day 2010.
It’s on Cat street, in Harajuku, which is well-known as Urahara. They try to attract young people who are keen on fashion. They made one million patterns of customized design possible from 100 colors of boxers, 100 patterns of waist rubber parts, and 100 types of pockets. A custom designed boxers costs 2100yen, and 3150yen for 2 of them. Usually it takes only 15 minutes or so to have them sewed up to go. If you don’t need to customize them, you can choose boxers from 100 clolors of options for 1050yen. You could customize them as you like, just as I introduced the case in Yuzawaya Shibuya branch shop the other day.

Nowadays boxer underwear can be both for men and women. It’s something unisex.
It’s nice that a couple can shop at the same underwear shop so they can choose matching ones.
12 Responses to “cool boxer underwear shop in Harajuku”

  1. lore June 2, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    It's a original idea, but I probably would get crazy if I had to choose the color and the pattern, I would take one of each type hahahahah

    • kirin June 3, 2010 at 1:12 am #

      This is the store I have not visited yet, but I understand what you mean. I would need so much time to settle down at one best combination from such a lot of options. ^ ^;

  2. exotic_japan June 2, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    Wow, such a rainbow of colors.

  3. sedonia2 June 2, 2010 at 2:38 pm #

    If I ever get to Tokyo (which I hope!) I will want to see this store in person. 🙂

    • kirin June 3, 2010 at 1:22 am #

      I'll be increasing the post under kawaii shop (http://tokyokawaiietc.com/kawaii-shop) so you can keep notes of what you like. I think I can write about small shops that a travel guidebook such as Lonely Planet cannot even cover. 😉

      • sedonia2 June 3, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

        That's really wonderful. Thank you. I love yur blog. I enjoy reading the entries and also, I'm currently writing two novels that are set in Tokyo so your blog is helpful for research.

  4. Cath June 2, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    Oh my goodness!!! *LOL* Really cute! I think I'll burst out laughing and be kicked out of the store for being disrespectful!

    • kirin June 3, 2010 at 1:18 am #

      LOL Such a cheerful customer!

  5. Amanda June 3, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    :O I never thought about wearing matching underwear! 超かわいい!! Oooh! I'm sooo doing that! 😀

    • kirin June 3, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

      カップルでおそろいにできるよ^^かわいいよね。

  6. Cyril June 6, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Very nice,
    Do you have some info about the fundoshi maker at the end of the video ?
    I like the design he make, and would love to order one !

Leave a Reply

