deco trend now in Japan

28 May

It was around 10 years ago that deco boom started. As represened by decoden, decorating on the cell phone is still popular now. In 2009, “Uni deco” or decorating Uniqlo clothing became popular, which has been familiar if you read my blog. It was introduced in Tokyo Kawaii TV, as “Uni-kakushi” and I actually saw the booth by deco-clo at Japan Hobby Show 2010 the other day. I’m planning to make a deco T-shirt, and will be sharing my experience in this blog later. 🙂

The video focuses on the Japan Hobby Show that I also visited this year and introduces some interesting devices and goods that are invented at following companies.

-Hayashi Chemical…strong deco glue
-Christal.J…iron-on crystal sheet
*This booth was so crowded with bunch of people and it was impossible for me to take any pictures. (>_<)
-Deco Design Studio…new type of deco? It looks like an illumination sheet.

Meister by Yuzawaya Shibuya branch shop has a deco booth where customers can select anything they like from 300 pairs of men’s and lady’s boxer pants and 6000 pieces of deco parts! It’s so cool they have a working space so the customers can put decoration right on site.

How about men’s deco?
Deco is not only for women. Men enjoy deco, too. (Is it only me that cannot help but find these Japanese guys at a craft shop look like herbivore men?)

Craft Depot is a deco trade website where crafters exchange their deco works, tools and materials by barter.

6 Responses to “deco trend now in Japan”

  1. giz May 28, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Wow, cool to hear about Japanese craft trends. It's also interesting to see their communities like the Craft Depot site.
    Keep up the good blogging! :3

    • kirin May 30, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

      Thanks. I didn't know the Craft Depot, but that must be so fun if one is good at deco! 🙂

  2. lore May 28, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    uoooooo there're a lot of awesome things!!!! I always like work with my hands and make beautiful thing as that you find in my website, but in my city and country in general it's so difficult find shops with decora accesorice, they have to be imported from Japan and it's to expensive, fuuuuuuuu I want to go to Japan!!!!!

    • kirin May 30, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

      Really~? Then you'll be so much excited if you come over here~. ^ ^

  3. mikidii May 29, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    Sugoi. o: I'd like to have those boxers myself! Thank yoiu for sharing, Kirin-san!

    • kirin May 30, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

      I'll check out the shop later. Last time I passed the shop, I didn't see the boxers corner…if my memory was right.

Leave a Reply

