Kawaii deco nail

22 May

Kawaii Deco Nail
22/OCT/2008 on air

Japanese girls are crazy about nail deco. How about you?

Young girls from Shibuya and Harajuku today never go out without nails coordinated with their fashion themes. To them, wearing nail decorations is almost as important as wearing makeup. Japanese nail industry is 100 billion yen of yearly sales. It looks like Japanese young girls do not mind spending money for their nails in spite of economic downturn.

It’s nothing special to put rhinestones, small decorations, sweets deco or Hello Kitty over nails. Any kind of nail art is possible and Japanese women enjoy it as a part of fashion. At the same time though, wearing such heavy decorations on long nails sometimes makes their life difficult. For example, cream goes into nails when they try to put it on the face. So they have to use other part of the body or use a spoon instead. Another example, they cannot close buttons and so they use safety-pin as a supplementary tool to help them do that. There is a must item for these girls. It’s a can opener as well as zipper opener and coin picker. Shampoo brush is such a helpful item for them so they don’t have to have their long nails stuck in their hair. The rice washing machine is interesting. Not a single rice should be stuck between nails and fingers. For household works they need to protect their nails. Plastic gloves that doctors use for operations are very durable and useful. To do sports, golf gloves for example allow their beautiful nails appear on purpose. At a bowling alley, bowls especially designed for the beautiful nails have rubber coated deeper holes.

More than 400 kinds of nail chips are so cute at a Harajuku nail chip store.

Hand made Usa-chan (Usagi=rabbit) nails are the most popular. Who made these? The creator of the nail chips is resided in Wakkanai, Hokkaido. She makes over 100 nail chips per day. Her sweets nails became popular in Harajuku, but local people are not very fond of them. They cannot imagine women preparing meals with these chips on.

Ikegai-san is studying very hard right now to become a professional nail artist. She practices her skills on nails of her friends’.

3 women with no nail art experience get their nails done by the proffessionals.
Kanemitsu-san is the guru of Japanese nail artists. She’s been awarded so many times in her 25 years of carrier as a nail artist. She is now an owner of her nail salons in Hiroo and Daikanyama. 10000 customers, including celebs, visit her salons yearly. When she started studying nail art, she was not sure if she can make a living with it. She could hardly find any nail salons in Japan at that time. But she didn’t care about the way someone made for the followers. She became the one to make it. She is a pioneer of nail art in Japan. Her works are on nail magazines almost every month.

Harada-san is a professional 3D nail artist who made Becky a queen of nail for the 3rd year in a row.

A PE teacher wants nails she can wear only during weekends. Nail seal (=sticker) is good for that.

The inventor of “nail seal” is this man, Arisawa-san. His company has 20 employees and sales records 200 million yen per year. His business is so successful now, but it was not like this when he started. He failed so many times that he decided to quit it. At the last moment he’s got a great idea in his dream while he was sleeping. This finally worked out! In 2005 he succeeded in acquisition of patent. Now his “nail seal” is one of the best selling items at famous department stores and variety goods stores throughout Japan. This attracted women in their 30s who have never had nail art before. It’s so easy and simple they don’t have to go to nail solon any more. Arisawa-san’s next invention is cool scarf and nonflammable thread.

=====
Kirin’s opinion
I personally don’t like to have nails done this much. I need to lead my busy life as smooth as possible. But I liked the items invented for the long nails. For example, I use shampoo brush and I quite like it. Its fine brush is so good to wash off sebum from the scalp. I use my fingertips first and then use this brush to wash my scalp fully each night. This is so comfortable. I totally recommend it whether you have long nails or not.
Nail seal, the sticker might be enough to me. What kind of nail art did you like or dislike? Is nail deco as popular as this in your city? Feel free to comment! πŸ˜€
=====
Disclaimer: Tokyo Kawaii TV is a TV program owned and broadcasted by NHK Japan, and has nothing to do with this blog.

***There are archives of episodes listed under the page titled “Tokyo Kawaii TV” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.
***If you want to know the music that was used in the episode, please refer to this page and help yourself to find it by selecting the date when the episode was on air in Japan.

37 Responses to “Kawaii deco nail”

  1. Troo May 22, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

    Hi Kirin-san,

    It's a bit random, but I'm interested in this shampoo brush you mention? I've never heard of such a thing, and having pretty long hair it sounds like it'd be really useful!

    Do you have a link or a picture of one so that I can look out for it?

    Cheers! πŸ™‚

    • kirin May 23, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      This is the link. When you press PLAY, it has a sound. http://protec.lion.co.jp/product/p0.htm

      I didn't know it was designed for men in their 30s. (lol) I found it in Shibuya LOFT but I don't think it said it was especially for men. There's no problem if women use it. In fact, it's so comfortable and I really like it a lot!! ^ ^

  2. Thomas Gantz May 22, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Interesting article. I had never though about all the things the girls cannot do while wearing those nails until your article above

    • kirin May 23, 2010 at 11:44 am #

      It was more than I thought. I cannot wear such long nails to lead my life properly. ^ ^;

    • kirin May 23, 2010 at 11:48 am #

      BTW, I sometimes leave my comments to your blog, but they seem to be deleted. Anything was wrong? (?_?)

  3. Cath May 22, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    Definitely not my lifestyle! Haha… I'm amazed by those girls who can live with so much deco on their nails. How do they remove them anyway? I suppose they'll have to go back to the nail salon?

    • kirin May 23, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      I suppose so, too.
      As a housewife, I have to cook almost every meal. Today I fixed chicken seasoned with curry powder, grated garlic, yogurt, and etc. and I can still smell like curry from my short nails. It's definitely not my lifestyle, either. 😦 I cannot wear plastic gloves everytime I do laundry, cleaning, cooking, washing dishes, and etc.

  4. Lisa May 22, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    It was interesting to see the tools girls use when they have such extreme nails like that – I've always wondered but was too embarrassed to ask, hehe. πŸ˜‰ That shampoo brush sounds really good, kind of like a massage for the scalp. Thanks again for posting a great episode with a thoughtful commentary. πŸ™‚

    • kirin May 23, 2010 at 11:57 am #

      The shampoo brush I got from LOFT was I guess around 800 yen or so and it does a great job. I never thought I'd like it this much. I just bought it because I wanted to go to scalp massage but I didn't have enough money…:p

  5. nao May 22, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    Thank you . Those nails = Art! Though for myself I personally like neat nails with no any nail polish. )))

    • kirin May 23, 2010 at 11:59 am #

      Yea, these are art! Nail art has become so popular in Japan.

  6. Sara Mari May 23, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    I personally like to wear the nail chips, because I can remove them easily and match them to my outfits. And I can choose to wear them on only certain days/take them off when I use the computer etc. I really love the big cute nails though^^

    • kirin May 23, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      I think you love them. ^ ^ Maybe I should give it a try to see how often and long I can keep wearing them. It's tiresome if I have to put on and off all the time, you know.

    • kitty June 1, 2010 at 10:26 am #

      Hi, there are many beautiful nail chips with Japanese nail art on this website: http://www.tananail.com
      I think you will love it.

  7. Sparklewolfie May 23, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

    I love nail art! I never have done false nail or any of these fancy things here (I only do it myself) but when I glue rhinestones on my nail, it becomes difficult to do some things! I also have the problem with getting cream under my long nails ^^; so I have ot use my knuckle!

    The shower hair brush is awesome :3 We had one when we were little, but I think it is lost now =__= I need to buy a new one!! Hair rips the jewels and stickers off of my nail and makes my manicure ugly 😦

    • kirin May 25, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

      Oh~ you put rhinestones on your nails? That's nice! ^ ^ I wonder when I have a chance to do that…I don't like it that I have to wash off after 2 hours or so. Once I wear them, I want to keep them as long as possible, but I wonder if my life style can make that possible…

  8. mikidii May 24, 2010 at 11:55 pm #

    This sounds so interesting! I myself would LOVE to have these! Since Im an artist, Im very intriguied and encaptured by the nail art in Japan these days. I had happen to be watching the video and my mom walked in with a surprised face. She said she would love to have a buisness like that. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing, Kirin-san!

    • kirin May 25, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

      Nail art is a proper business in Japan. There are nails schools that teach you how to become professional nail artist and practice your salon in the future. It was not as popular as this 10 years ago, I guess. Glad your mom also enjoyed the video. πŸ™‚

  9. Susy May 25, 2010 at 11:51 pm #

    Hi Kirin!
    Do you happen to know the song which starts at 11:53? If so, could you please write me the title and the singer's name?
    I'm really happy that you keep posting these Kawaii TV videos!
    Susy

    • kirin May 26, 2010 at 1:20 am #

      All I can tell you is that this link shows all the music used for this episode. http://www.nhk.or.jp/kawaii/music/081022.html
      You can copy and paste the title of each song on Youtube to find the song you are looking for.

      • Susy May 27, 2010 at 11:54 pm #

        Following the link, I could finally find the song I was looking for. It was Ettou Tsubame from Masako Mori.
        This page is very useful for other songs from the show as well. Thank you for sharing πŸ™‚
        Susy

      • kirin May 30, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

        It's my pleasure! I'll add the note about the music from next time so that other readers know there is a way to search the music from the list. Your question was very meaningful to make this site better. πŸ™‚

  10. KEI May 26, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    I love nail Deco~! but its really inconvenient for my lifestyle. =(
    its hard for me to hold on to the wacom pen while i do my work, thus i oni DIY those decorations that are suitable for short finger nails and are flat on e nails and not pops out. to have those pop up 3D stuff on my nails, i think i need to have a maid to help me do my stuffs for me.. haha. but i would like to try fake nails one day =3 (i doubt the nails will last long on me)

    • kirin May 27, 2010 at 9:36 am #

      Do you use wacom? I have Bamboo art too! I wanted to draw more online and so as my character at this site, so I bought it. But…geee I have no time to learn it. I drew my Tokyo Kawaii, etc. character with a black pen, copic markers, and some colored pencils to scan the paper. Then outline my drawings on photoshop… I think I can do it easier if I use wacom pen but I'm too lazy to learn how to use this new device. =_=

  11. Amanda May 26, 2010 at 3:14 pm #

    ^_^ I'm so glad I finally had time to watch this video! I love デコネむル but there aren't any good places where I live. 😦
    I think I might get french tips after my exams and next time I'm in Japan I'm totally getting my nails done!

    That can opener is clever. I just make my bf open things for me when I've had my nails done haha. :3

    Thanks for uploading another episode Kirinけゃん ^_^

    • kirin May 27, 2010 at 9:29 am #

      You can buy these goods and cute nail goods when you come to Japan next time. I totally skipped this episode. As you can see it's even from 2008! But I found it worth sharing. πŸ™‚

  12. Blythekoko May 27, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    Hello Kirin! I'm from Hong Kong and I really enjoy reading your blog!! I love Japanese fashion and stuffs but I don't understand Japanese at all (and too lazy to learn Japanese!). Thanks for posting interesting videos andother updates and translating them into English!!!!!

    • kirin May 30, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

      I have noticed many foreigners are interested in Japanese kawaii goods and fashion but not many Japanese people are blogging them in English. That's why I am doing this for you. πŸ™‚

  13. tiya September 18, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    hey guyz can someone tell me where can i find nail stamps in tokyo as i em' new in tokyo i dont know about such stuffs please someone help me out i need it a lot :]]

    • kirin September 19, 2010 at 2:37 am #

      I only know we can get it at Rakuten online shopping. http://item.rakuten.co.jp/otora/10000287/

      • tiya September 21, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

        Awww cho cweet of yew thanx a lot fo helpin meh out i will check out da link thanx again πŸ˜€

  14. Akane1313 January 4, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    I absolutely love nail art. I really got into it last year around September after watching some nail art videos and seeing some girls' adorable sweets nails in a livejournal lolita forum. A few days ago, I painted my nails light pink and added silver glitter and purple rhinestones on the tips. ^_^ It's my favorite and since my nails are pretty short, I haven't had any trouble doing things (except picking up coins).

    I've wanted to try those over the top nails with lots of decorations, but I'm afraid of what happens when you need to use the toilet. =( I didn't see any special tools for that mentioned.

    • kirin January 5, 2011 at 6:30 am #

      It must be so fun if you can create beautiful nails by yourself! πŸ˜€

  15. Akane1313 January 17, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    It is. ^_^ I’m scared to try anything with acrylics though. It looks difficult.

  16. Mina December 1, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    I tend to bite my nails (SUCH A NASTY HABIT I KNOW ;A;) but in the last few months I've started experimenting with the temporary stick on nails (they usually last me about 2 weeks) and trying some deco on them. I LOVE my nails! Mine are also a natural length (past the tip of the nail just a little) and don't really hinder my activities besides opening a soda, or putting my lashes on~

    • kirin December 3, 2011 at 1:56 am #

      You can use some tools to open up a soda can or a pair of tweezers to apply lashes. πŸ˜‰
      You will enjoy your lovely nails and before you know, you will stop that habit. πŸ˜‰

  17. Anon June 3, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    this may sound stupid but…… where can I find the video?

Leave a Reply

