How is Zogan face massage?

20 May

I had a request from one of my blog readers that she wants me to write about Zogan massage that was invented by Yukuko Tanaka.

First off, Zogan is from 造顔 (making face) and I think it’s only the word she made. I think this massage is very comfortable especially when I’m tired from work.
Sometimes when my work is hard and stressful, I feel my face is so solid that I even find it hard to smile! Then I usually find myself massaging my face before I know, unconsciously.

Anyhow watch this video.

note
* She recommends massage cream that contains less oil.
* Use 3 fingers (forefinger, mid finger, and annular finger) of each hand to massage the face with enough pressure.
* Use not only fingertips but also entire fingers.
* Each step needs 3 strokes.
* Do not massage so hard as to leave pains.
* When you find your fingers go into the skin, that means your face is swollen.
* Use only 1 finger around the eyes.
* “Do not touch the eyeballs, the skin around eyes is very sensitive.” She warns. I think this means “eyelids” instead of “eyeballs”. (Who wants to touch the eyeballs of her own?)
* 5 strokes around nostril to get rid of dirt.

So how is it, honestly? According to the opinions left at “@cosme“, my favorite cosmetics SNS, there are certain number of people who complain that the laugh line around mouth went deeper after continuous Zogan massage. That’s because this massage reduces extra swelling or fat from face. As a result, the face becomes skinny (which is good) and wrinkles look deeper (unfortunately), and the total image of the face looks even old. How ironic is that?! But I personally like to massage my face when I’m tired from work. Zogan massage is one of the ways I can do to myself then. What do you think? Do you know any useful ways to keep you look good?

20 Responses to “How is Zogan face massage?”

  1. Steven Stier May 20, 2010 at 12:49 pm #

    I tried this while watching the video. However, I did not have any cream. I think this would have felt better if a beautiful woman was massaging my face for me. Of course the same can be said about any massage. I don't know about the wrinkles. I am too old to care about that. But it was fun to watch the faces of the people on the video while they did this.

    • kirin May 21, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

      Does beauty count when she gives you massage? ^__^ I wonder how I'd think if I were a man. I'd close my eyes when I receive massage, so…I don't mind whether she is beautiful or not. Isn't it not as simple as that? haha… (^w^)

  2. Amanda May 20, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    I followed along with the video, it was good. 🙂 I think I might keep doing this and see if my face gets slimmer!! 😀

    • kirin May 21, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

      Let me know if it works out for you. 😀

  3. exotic_japan May 20, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Looks like it would feel very nice, but I admit that I'd prefer it if someone did for me than do by myself 🙂

    • kirin May 21, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

      Me too~. Massage costs too expensive. (X_X)

      • exotic_japan May 21, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

        Yes, that is true. ^^

  4. kirin May 21, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    O.o the link goes error. You can embed Youtube video by clicking "Embed video" Youtube icon that is visible at the right corner of the comment box when you write a comment. To me, it's not easy to keep doing all these things everyday. I think I will do Zogan face massage especially I feel tired.

  5. cinnamon girl May 21, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Oh!!! When I saw this video on youtube around that time when you posted Majotachi tv show (I think it was at the sidebar) I was shocked to see the result of the massage on that comedian guy's face. His face is a bit chubby but after the massage his cheekbones appeared! O_O
    So from that time I sarted to use this massage. Before, I used to have a bad habit: I was pinching my chin when I was reading something, so my skin expanded and I had a small dewlap when I was laughing. I hated that. So I hoped, that this massage will help and it did!!!!! It disappeared, plus my face looks "smaller" as my Japanese frieds say who saw me long time ago.
    I didn't experience any wrinkle problems. I do it twice a day (morning and evening) when I apply moisturizer on my face.
    Thank you for writing about it in English!!!!!! Now I know the name of that massage therapist.

    • kirin May 23, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

      I'm glad you liked it. ^ ^
      What's so good about you is that you actually keep doing these methods and you achieve good results. I am not. Even though such good methods are introduced here and there in Japan, I am not keen enough to continue them. ^ ^;

  6. nao May 22, 2010 at 5:32 am #

    Thank you for the Youtube tip. )))

  7. Yuri A. May 22, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Kirin! 😀

    LOL Yea.. who wants to touch their eyeballs? 😛
    Thank you for posting this.. it's very useful and i hav tried it, it workss!!! Yay!! 😀

    • kirin May 23, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

      Good it worked on you! 😀

  8. Hellolynn June 14, 2010 at 4:05 am #

    Hi Kirin…tis article is so interesting! i had seen similar massage techniques being taught over a Taiwan beauty program. the part about massaging from forehead right to the collar bones, according to the therapist, its a way to discharge our toxic. so the step to massage right to the collar bone is an important step. hmmm….for me, probably I would selectively pick a few steps from the video for my facial massage….not sure if tis going to be effective ;p But i juz feel dat some steps seem too vigorous on face … i dun want to end up creating lines on my face ..hee hee. Keep up the good work, Kirin! I like such beauty tips =)

    • kirin June 14, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

      Yeah I think it's just the same as diet method; you can take the one you like and the one you can keep doing. There are many beauty tips like this in Japan, so I decided to have a health and beauty page for my blog reader. 😉

  9. Maria July 21, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    Ah, I just noticed that one of the moves, the one where you slide your hands to your collarbones, is one that my aikido teachers often told us to do as it makes mind refreshed and more reseptive for learning. Like after a stressful day one should massage one's head to get ridd of stress and to be able to concentrate on aikido.

    • kirin July 22, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

      That's very interesting. She may have taken aikido movement into the massage?! ^ ^

  10. Tati March 20, 2012 at 12:07 am #

    After zogan, as it was noticed here, my face has become slimmer and I got deep wrinkles round my mouth which makes my face look really sad! I want my face to be round and …I want my face to come back!!! Who knows any type of massage for that??? Help, please!

    • kirin March 20, 2012 at 11:54 am #

      Oh then you had also that bad luck as mentioned in the post…
      Hmmm…there are some people complaining the same problem but I don't know how they cope with that. What about putting some extra moisture or serum on the wrinkles?

  11. sauc April 30, 2013 at 6:34 am #

    Nowadays many massage services are available in our hand but every services are not comfortable to me. Your face massage information gives me a vital knowledge about your service which makes me imprss to enjoy your service.

Leave a Reply

