Japanese interior magazines

16 May

As per a request from Cath, one of my blog readers, followings are collection of Japanese interior magazines. I may have missed some but I tried to list as many interior magazines as possible. You may find them familiar when you go to Kinokuniya, a Japanese book store also available abroad. Most of them are for non-professional people so they can read for fun. But some of them are for the professionals to learn details of their work such as how to install something, where to contact for the new product information, showroom information and etc.

Also some of them are magazines that do not always focus on interior. As you can see, interior samples from European houses are pretty much adored by the Japanese. We are trying to learn modern interior from Europe, because in Japan housing (interior and exterior) is way behind when compared with foods and clothes. We have developed our foods, apparel, and house to be mixed with western style but also to be compatible with Japanese culture. That’s why we eat western cuisine with steamed rice as known as “Youshoku (洋食)”. That’s why we wear western clothes usually but we do not forget to wear Kimono at a special occasion. It’s just the same, we don’t give up taking off shoes at the entrance of house even if all the other parts of our houses are western alike. We also do have tatami rooms.

As spoken at this old post, we have to live in a very small house in Japan especially when we are located at the city area. For example, my husband, Pi-chan (our dog) and I live in an apartment house of the area about 75 square meters. But this area is usually for a family with 1 or 2 kids in the city area of Japan. (Many other families with 1 or 2 kids live in the same apartment.) We happened to have no kids after all, and I now wonder how we could’ve shared such a limited space for 1 or 2 more people. Getting back to the subject, I wanted to say that how to make use of storage space is the No.1 concern for the most of Japanese people. Thus, when it comes to interior book or magazine, storage planning will become the hottest issue to be concerned to us. Noriko Kondo is the professional storage planner in Japan. She’s so famous she writes many books and she appears on TV several times. In other words, we may have no room to think of nice, relaxing interior as long as our space for living is very limited as “rabbit hutch”.

Im home lives
elledeco confort
shinkenchiku shouten kenchiku
modern living LEE
casa brutus brutus
chiruchinbito modern interior
plus one living pen
noriko kondo real design
Tokyo Interior Shop Tokyo Interior Showroom Guide
London kids room interior Paris interior
Scandinavian interior idea book1

I personally like to browse Shoutenkenchiku to see nice interior design works at commercial facilities such as stores, restaurants, or izakaya, bar, beauty salon, and etc. But I like to see house interior, too. I liked to read I’m home and LIVES well. I think I’ll enjoy browsing foreign interior styles regardless of Europe or Asia or anywhere whenever I have a chance to visit local’s house overseas. Tokyo Interior Shops and Tokyo Interior Showroom Guide are sort of a yellow page to interior shops and showrooms sorted by category.

If you find something interesting, remember you can also shop from Amazon.co.jp, as they ship worldwide. Or you can shop anything from Japan and get them delivered to your home as I’ve already introduced in this post.

12 Responses to “Japanese interior magazines”

  1. Thomas Gantz May 16, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Thanks for the list. I agree that living space in Japanis very small compared to the U.S. Our neighbors have three generations living in the same space my wife and I have and we always wonder how they do that

    • kirin May 17, 2010 at 11:37 am #

      Japanese people used to live with 2 or 3 generations all together just like Sazae-san family, but that's not popular any more. It should be stressful that one has to live with the generation that has different way of thinking. Especially when it was a mother-in-low, no, no way~! (@_@;)

  2. jennyteo May 17, 2010 at 11:06 am #

    I think this Hong Kong dweller has a brilliant idea that can be implemented in Japan too =)

    • kirin May 17, 2010 at 11:35 am #

      Thank you for sharing the video. This is amazingly cool. I suppose people from Hong Kong and Singapore are having more difficulties in coping with their small space than us from Tokyo.

    • amandajparks May 17, 2010 at 11:53 am #

      Wow, that's really clever!

  3. Bodil Johansson November 14, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Hi, What a fantastic website you´ve got here! I wonder about the names of the 4 magazines in the end of your examples, "London kids room interior", "Paris interior", "Scandinavian interior" and "idea book 1"? I also wonder how I find email-adresses when I want to email their editors? I know absolutely no japanese at all and don´t find anything when I try to find japanese interior design magazines and how to contact them. Thanks a lot and have a nice day! Greetings from Bodil in Sweden

    • kirin November 14, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

      I found out this for you.
      The publisher of the 4 books you mentioned above is this one. http://www.paumes.com/
      But their contact form doesn't work, so just place your cursor over "contact" and find the email address that appears somewhere the bottom of your screen.

      • Bodil Johansson November 14, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

        Thank you very much! Ah, they are books, I thought they were magazines. Very nice, I will try to get them! I also wonder if you can inform me about some interior design magazines that reminds about the 4 books and how to get in contact with them? Thanks again!

  4. melanieannemarie December 14, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Kirin, can you recommend any good Japanese interior design blogs or websites?

    • kirin December 16, 2011 at 12:36 am #

      Here you can find a collection of interior blogs in Japan.
      But I'm afraid you'll notice Japanese blogs are full of ads and small pictures and letters, though. http://interior.blogmura.com/

      • melanieannemarie December 16, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

        O, that's too bad. 😦
        Thanks though!

  5. diablo3 guide July 20, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Hi, I do think this is a great website. I stumbledupon it ;
    ) I will return yet again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom
    is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

Leave a Reply

