Baby words in Japanese

14 May

hand = te (手)=>otete (おてて)
leg/foot =ashi (足、脚)=> anyo (あんよ)
tummy = onaka (おなか)=> ponpon (ぽんぽん)
dog = inu (犬) => wanwan (ワンワン)
sleep = neru・nemuru (寝る・眠る) => nenne (ねんね)

There are many kind of baby words, but my talking to Pi-chan is very limited because she’s only a dog.
If you are interested in more baby words in Japanese, there is a website like this (in Japanese).
They sound cute! 😀

15 Responses to “Baby words in Japanese”

  1. lore May 14, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    hahaah Pi-chan is shy XD

    • kirin May 16, 2010 at 12:20 am #

      Yes, that's why I can hardly take cute pics of hers. 😦

  2. Steven Stier May 14, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    Pi-chan wa shitsu desu ne. Totemo kawaii desu. You can say anything to a dog and they will stare at you. But certain words will trigger a reaction. In America TREAT, or WALK, or CAR RIDE will get most dogs very excited. Of course, if you talk in a high squeaky voice the reaction will always be better. Thanks for the discussion about ashi. I have always assumed that the Japanese simply do not differentiate between the leg and foot. As if they were all one part of the body. Now I know better.

    • kirin May 16, 2010 at 12:25 am #

      Hai, soudesu! Pi-chan wa Shih-tzu desuyo. ^ ^ Arigatou. treat = gohoubi walk = (o)sanpo car ride = could be "odekake" in Japanese. I don't know why my voice turns high pitch when I talk to her. It's something natural.
      Steven, do you live in Japan and you speak some Japanese? Just curious… :p

      • Steven Stier May 23, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

        I live in Georgia, in America. Watashi no Nihongo wa amari josu ja arimasen. Demo benkyo sh'te imasu. Dogs ears are more attuned to high pitch sounds. When we speak in a high voice the dogs tend to tilt their head and perk their ears. We like that so we continue to speak that way. Dogs have their "masters" well trained. If you think we are the masters just ask yourself this. Who is picking up who's poop?

      • kirin May 25, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

        Thank you for replying to my question that was out of curiosity. ^ ^;
        失礼しました~^^Who's picking up Pi-chan's poop? That's me. 99% me, 1 % my hubby. lol You know much about dog. I'm learning from you. Thanks.

  3. Sarah May 14, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    That is so cool! I Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Phil May 15, 2010 at 1:38 am #

    I'm enjoying the videos you make yourself – I hope you'll be doing these often.

    Here's a baby word that we had in my family – I don't know where it came from – "tump". It refers to the baby's backside, her butt. My mother would say to my baby sister, for example, "Be careful or you'll fall on your tump!" It's a funny sounding word; I always smile when I remember it. Definitely kawaii!

    • kirin May 16, 2010 at 12:33 am #

      Oh that's kawaii. ^ ^ It's nice to have some special words among family members.

      Last year I made some videos but I found my digital camera (with video mode function) was too old to take them OK quality. So I was kinda waiting for buying a new one lately. I cannot afford video camera, and so this time it's digital camera with short video function again but it's much better in quality I guess. Hence I'll continue making more videos from now on. If only I had more time, I could learn how to edit my videos well including subs and music with them. But I cannot wait to be perfect. haha…^ ^;

  5. Nelson May 15, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    So how about telling us about those “stupid songs” you sing to Pi-chan 🙂 You said “forget about them”, but that just makes me more curious.

    • kirin May 16, 2010 at 12:34 am #

      Oh~no~ it'll make me feel embarrassed if I should share these songs to you. (# ^ ^ #) *blush*

  6. Thomas Gantz May 16, 2010 at 3:25 am #

    I love those baby words. Thanks for the post. sakie and I don’t have kids, but enjoy playing with her younger sister’s kids who talk like that

    Tom

    • kirin May 16, 2010 at 11:09 am #

      My husband and I don't have kids, either. Pi-chan can be sort of our kid. ^_^

  7. Amanda May 16, 2010 at 4:36 am #

    Your voice was so cute when you were talking to Pi-chan! 😀
    If you say さんぽ to her does she get all excited?
    ぽんぽん is such a cute word, I'll try and remember it. ^_^ ありがとう〜♡

    • kirin May 16, 2010 at 11:13 am #

      For さんぽ、I say おしゃ~んぽっ!(♪)She somehow runs away when I say this to her. (lol) She likes walking outside, but somehow she enjoys a chasing game with me. When I chase her to take her to walk, she runs away from me. When I go away, she chases me. (lol) Hope your dog is doing fine. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

