Private Onsen

13 May

I regret I spent winter without visiting Onsen (hot spring) at all. I know that’s because my money was spent for the trip to Malaysia and Singapore in March. It’s getting too warm for me to feel like having a hot spring now. Yet, when it rains or the temperature goes down, I cannot stop thinking of Onsen. I love Onsen and bathing just so much. I think I am happy to be born as Japanese only for that. Hence, when I travel to other countries, Japanese styled bath is what I miss most. I don’t miss Japanese foods so much, except for our steamed rice. :p

Anyhow, I’ve found some people always ask me if there is Onsen for private use in Japan. I know what you mean. When I travel with my hubby, I want to have a private bath for two of us only, rather than “Taishu yokujo (大衆浴場)” or a public bath separated by sex. Public bath sometimes have several different styles of bath, which is fun, but I also have to wonder why I have to separate myself from my partner who I want to stay with. That’s why whenever I stay at Onsen hotel with my hubby, I’ll look for a private bath (“kashikiri rotenburo (貸し切り露天風呂)” in Japanese) as much as possible.

But when the private bath is located in the room, it’s going to be a bit expensive. I’d choose the one for share with other couples on reservation basis. Japanese people do not care about sharing a bath water with others, because it’s circulating all the time (draining water away and adding water at the same time). But for foreign tourists like you may feel uncomfortable. Then you can pay more and have a really private bath in your room just like the below video, where you don’t have to worry about reservations and other people any more.

If you read Japanese, here is a private Onsen page from Jalan. The circular chart shows most of Japanese young men and women want to have private Onsen with partner. This result should be totally different between Japanese old couples. You can select the prefecture and results pop up.


Disclaimer: The photocopy of the page is from Jalan.net.

Anyhow…I think they should have English pages by now. To me it seems many Japanese companies and services are looking “inside Japan” only and they do not try to look outside nevertheless we are losing population. 😦 In case you need to hire me for translation and arrangement (to help you find out the Onsen hotel, for example) for your trip, please contact me from contact form. I’m not a travel expert or anything but I am a flexible Japanese living in Japan, open for on-demand business and easy to reach from you.

Ah~, I want to go to Onsen!

17 Responses to “Private Onsen”

  1. lore May 13, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    oooo I really envy you, I want to go to an onsen too!!!!!

    • kirin May 16, 2010 at 12:42 am #

      Have you tried Onsen before? ^__^ It's very comfortable, good for health and beauty. Especially our skin get so well after having Onsen.

      • lore May 17, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

        No never, I went to a spa few times but it's not the same thing.

      • kirin May 19, 2010 at 11:14 pm #

        Right! Spa and Onsen, these two are different. I've been to a spa in Belgium and Hungary but they were just like warm water. Onsen water usually is as hot as 40-42 degrees Celsius. We cannot stay there as long as we do in spa. Sometimes we take a cold bath (onsen) inbetween hot onsen. Bathing at home and bathing in onsen, there is a big big difference. At winter, after onsen I feel my body is warmed up for much longer hours than after bathing at home. Skin condition is also very good after onsen.

  2. Thomas Gantz May 14, 2010 at 12:46 am #

    Thanks for the post. It had a lot of good information in it, and it also makes me want to go to an onsen. 🙂

    • kirin May 16, 2010 at 12:40 am #

      My pleasure! ^ ^ These days the weather is not as warm as that of May, you know. For the past few days I was again thinking of Onsen.

  3. Cath May 16, 2010 at 2:28 am #

    Wowee…!!! I was trying to find an onsen to go to this December! Hee… email me okay? How much will you charge?

    • kirin May 16, 2010 at 2:17 am #

      I've emailed you. Please check it out and reply to me when you have time. I'm glad my post was somehow something that you were looking for!! 😄

  4. Jason July 7, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    i loved you post…thankyou – it makes me want to try onsen even more!

    ive been looking for 2 months for a private onsen hotel as my partner is not comfortable with public onsen. Ive searched through hakone and fuji lakes but cannot find anything under y30000 per person, do you know of anywhere that is at least a little less expensive?

    im travelling to Tokyo in one week and would like to stay a night in a onsen hotel.

    • kirin July 8, 2010 at 11:38 am #

      There is a way for the locals to find out private onsen hotels under your budget but I'm afraid they don't understand English. The hotels you find have exclusive onsen installed in the guest room, right? That's why it has to require 30,000yen per person. If you choose the hotels that offer private onsen to share by the hour you can even make it 30,000yen for 2, especially if you choose a small inn like ours (http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/4648).

      This is all I can help here for free. If you need my further help for a fee, please contact me to hire me for that work.

  5. Jason July 8, 2010 at 3:37 pm #

    Thanks Kirin, i appreciate your help, I will contact you for further services if needed when in Japan, thankyou again!

    One thing, do I assume all Ryokan do not have toilet unless mentioned?

    Jason

    • kirin July 9, 2010 at 11:14 am #

      Usually they should mention whether it is equipped or not. But it's possible toilets are located in the corridor to be shared with other guests. Sorry I am not quite sure for that, as I often end up with staying at western styled hotels. ^ ^;

      Have a safe trip to Japan. 🙂

  6. Serene November 7, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Thanks for the link! Was looking for private onsen.

  7. Sya February 19, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    hi,

    can i know where the place is in the video? i cannot read japanese or chinese…
    if u could help…it will be a great pleasure 🙂

    thanks.

  8. lips May 14, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    hi kirin,
    my friend and i would be travelling into tokyo on 22 june. we are looking at staying 1 night or doing a day trip to an onsen near tokyo. problem is my friend has chronic skin problem, it does not spread, but it is a little gross as the skin cracks. hence we are looking for a onsen that has private tubs or baths? also, as a female friend of mine may join us, hence i am looking at the ooedo onsen on odaiba or slightly further away. can you advice me further?

    • kirin May 15, 2011 at 11:08 am #

      Please read my comment to you in the another post where you left the same comment. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

