Japan Hobby Show 2010

8 May

Tokyo Big Site was a place to look for new brands or materials when was working as a house renovation planner several years ago. I used to make a speech to the public who came to listen to our seminar. It has been a place that makes me a bit nervous. Thus it had never been such a fun place to me before until I went to Japan Hobby Show for the first time the other day as I happened to find it reported on TV. It was a big point that the TV reporter stressed this hobby show put an emphasis on deco and they have workshops so the visitors can join on site. I was not into deco before but I started to like it through my casual Decotti experiences.

There’d be more people if it were interior material or furniture show.

Bunch of deco goods and workshops under “Decor Wonderland“. Actually deco seems to be a main theme of the show this year.


Many many workshops and anything looked interesting enough. Yet, I cannot join every workshop I want to try. I cannot wait for another 1 hour to get listed. I just joined one of them, waiting for 20 minutes or so.

I’ve been planning to make something just like this card stand for months but I didn’t have a chance to get all things needed. What a good timing! 500 yen is quite fine, not too cheap, not too expensive. I think it’s a good price that makes visitors feel like giving it a try.

Same as Decotti, I have to wait until the whip cream dries. They put mine into a small box, which is also cute!

It looks like I enjoy putting too many stuff. ^ ^; I have to know that sometimes less is more, but I cannot help once I started. (lol)

Another interesting booth to me was deco-clo. (deco clothing) They modify cheap Uniqlo clothing. I think they were also on Tokyo Kawaii TV before as Uni-kakushi, right?

This time they were introducing easy iron-on patch on Uniqlo outfits. I am very much interested in re-make fashion. But my problem is that I cannot use sewing machine properly and I don’t have enough time to make something from modifying clothes. But iron-on patch, if they have many kinds, it looks to work out for me. 🙂

I wanted to have my nails done to see how I can do this by myself. Well, after all I don’t think I will do my nails because I have to put my fingers into Pi-chan’s mouth to brush her teeth frequently. ^ ^;

It looks I covered only less than half of the show. My admission is valid throughout the show is held, but I won’t have time and effort to come back next day again. I also tried the latest sewing machine at one of the sewing machine booths but I got tired only within 5 minutes of sewing. Do I have bad chemistry with sewing machine? Anyhow I’ll definitely come back to the show next year again. It was fun enough to me. 🙂

8 Responses to “Japan Hobby Show 2010”

  1. vaneea May 8, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Wow… Deco-gasm.. When’s the next one gonna be?

    • kirin May 10, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

      I'll see what comes next at this show next year. 🙂

  2. Patty May 8, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    Man, I would have so much fun at this place. They have something similar in the States, it's call CHA. It stands for Crafts & Hobby Association, and they are a trade group and their show is the most watched by women because that is when stamp companies, paper companies, yarn companies, jewelry companies debut their newest products. Unfortunately, it's only open to wholesalers and you can't buy things as individuals. Until last year they finally opened one of their 2 shows to public. It's neat.

    • kirin May 10, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

      I believe this kind of show in the USA is much large scale. What good about ours (this show) was that we could purchase the stuff on site as well as join the workshops. Perhaps I should check out what kind of shows they hold throughout the year. There might be something fun to join. 🙂

  3. Winnie May 8, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    This looks really fun! I love the card stand and I watched that episode of Kawaii tv too, I want to make more 're-make' fashion!

    • kirin May 10, 2010 at 11:58 pm #

      You seem to like fashion from what I see your blog. 🙂

  4. Emily May 8, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Cool! I have a blog post about modifying Tshirts:http://emslibertarianthoughts.blogspot.com/2010/0… I like to make something new of my clothes as well 🙂

    Hope you're doing well 😀 Cheers!

    • kirin May 11, 2010 at 12:14 am #

      Hi Emily, I didn't know your blog. Thank you for sharing your posts. 😀
      I'll start from this.

Leave a Reply

