popular hairstyles in Japan now

17 Apr

These days hairstyles that include bangs are popular in Japan.
The most popular style of bangs is called “Yuruhime bangs” that stems from “Hime cut“. Look at the great job by the hair stylist!

What kind of hair styles do you like? I personally don’t like to follow the trends. I just like what I like. ^ ^

21 Responses to “popular hairstyles in Japan now”

  1. Lisa April 17, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    I don't follow hairstyle trends either, mainly because my hair never really wants to grow fast enough – I can't keep up! haha! Plus I think it's much more important to find a haircut that fits your facial structure. ^_^ Hmm, these days I have a short bob – very short at the back and longer at the front. But I've often had just layered for volume. My hair is so fine that not much can be done with it if I let it grow longer. :/

    • kirin April 18, 2010 at 3:00 am #

      It's good you know how your hair is. My hair was very fine and brown color until I was 16, and then gradually it changed something quite opposite. Now my hair is thick black and it even looks like a wire! (ugly!) Also it's just too much. I have to ask my hair stylist to reduce the volume everytime. 😦

  2. Amanda April 17, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    lol, I feel kinda sorry for the first girl. She got a rush job. 😛
    Hime bangs look cute. 🙂 I like the style that have curls down the bottom, maybe it's ギャル style? I'm not sure. But it's very feminine and cute. 🙂

    • kirin April 18, 2010 at 3:07 am #

      It's not always Gyaru style but as you say, curly hair is feminine and cute. I once enjoyed long curly hair but my personal character was something far from feminine. Guys told me "Just stay quiet and you look great!" "I liked you before you spoke." With this experience, I changed my hairstyle that is not very much different from inside myself. (-_-)

  3. Y___ April 17, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Ohh those haircuts are soo cute! I personally like mullets (Visual Kei style) ^ ^

    • kirin April 18, 2010 at 3:11 am #

      Wow~, I didn't get mullets but googed and found images! Are they considered visual kei? Very interesting~ XD

  4. Emily April 18, 2010 at 12:43 am #

    I'm not a trend zombie either :p Not everyone can pull off bangs. The hairstylist was doing a technique of slithering which is a way of reducing bulk and adding texture to the hair. I went to Cosmetology school 🙂

    Cheers!! I hope you're doing well 🙂

    • kirin April 18, 2010 at 3:10 am #

      Wow~, cool you know this technique! XD
      Thank you for your frequest comments, I'm doing well, just busy as always, haha! ^ ^

  5. courtney April 19, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    ive just recently cut my hair (litterally cut it myself cause im that poor atm lol) ive been trying to grow it out because i messed up on a hair cut a couple of year ago trying to get a sort of Jrockish look but it didnt really work xD… but the other day i was watching a music video by Aoyama Thelma, and she had this awesome fringe that covered her eyebrows so i decided to do a sort of copy of that on my own hair seeing as we have the same skin tone and what not i thought it would look good! and it did! :3

    so yeh i try to keep up with hairstyles in general… more Japanese hairstyles than Europiean ones though… mainly for the fact that i find Japanese hairstyles to be more appeling and much cuter ❤

    • kirin April 20, 2010 at 2:47 am #

      Wow you can cut your hair by yourself? Cool, I think you are very handy. ^ ^ Put your look on your blog~ ^ ^

      • Kai April 20, 2010 at 11:26 pm #

        😀 only started to a few years back when i found out how much the hairdressers would actually cost me if i had to pay for it myself ( my mum used to pay for it…then i had to grow up XD) and Oki dokie ive just done that! and i decided to make a full blog entry about it, so on there you have my hair styles up from when i was 11 -20 which is now hehe heres the link 🙂http://kaishead.blogspot.com/2010/04/my-hair-and-

      • kirin April 21, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

        Thanks for sharing! I left a comment to the page. It was interesting you showed how you've changed your hair styles. Thanks!

      • courtney April 21, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

        😀 no problemo! i would comment back on my page… if i figured out how to lol, but instead ill just say thank you here! 😀 hehe and its fun to change hairsstyles once in a while 🙂

  6. cin April 19, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    wow that stylist is really fast! :O

  7. Cath April 20, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    I don't have time for my long overdue visit to the hairdresser's! I need to cut, dye and do a treatment. I think I'll need about 4 hours there! =(
    Anyway,… I want a haircut that will make me look 10 years younger! Haha…

    • kirin April 21, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

      I once had my hair dyed but eventually I was tired from it that I have to keep doing that. Since then I keep my natural color but sometimes I desperately feel like changing hair colors. I think I can do that when I have more time, but not for now. ^ ^;

  8. PMB November 21, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    I found this entry while browsing around so I guess this comment is kinda late, but I wanted to say I think your hair is cute the way you have it, but you should definitely wear it however you want to and not care about what guys say. Anyone that would tell you they “liked you before you spoke” needs to get a response like, “Yeah, I feel the same way about you.” And then you should probably hit him or something. Guys can be real losers sometimes. It’s good to hit them sometimes and keep them in line. =P (I’m really just joking about the hitting. Please don’t assault anybody.)

    • kirin November 22, 2010 at 2:21 am #

      lol Thank you PMB for your comment, it was fun to read. 🙂
      Now I'm growing my hair again to make it longer. When it becomes long and several months or years pass, I miss short. I think I repeat this. hahaha ^ ^;

  9. Rona Pack October 13, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    i had no idea they used hot curlers to just create the shape! thank you for posting this! its really hard to find full videos of kawaii tv and other japanese things now T^T

  10. nypnyp October 16, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    the lady in the last isnt smiling.. or maybe doesnt know how to smile properly

Leave a Reply

