Experiment is cut off, short sleep didn't work for me… :(

10 Apr

My experiment that I tried to change my sleeping hours from 7-8 to 3-4 failed unfortunately! I think I followed the guideline as much as possible, although I had a little bit more naps than I was supposed to. It was however very difficult to observe the guideline when I had to lead my social life everyday. It was hard I had to refrain from drinking at a dinner outside with friends, but I ordered iced tea instead and so I was expecting I would be able to feel myself as indicated in the book.

From day3 to day5 it looked like 6 hours sleep plus a short nap in the afternoon worked out well on me. I tried to eat less and avoid sweets and alcohol. If everything goes just as the book explains, I should be able to live with 4-hour sleep from day6. What happened to me on the day6, I could not get out of bed after 4 hours sleep, even 6 hours passing I was feeling very tired. This means I had to go back to restart from staying up all night, but I was not sure if I really wanted to continue that from the beginning. My will was not that strong after all, I gave in to my strong desire that I wanted to SLEEP anyhow.

I have to accept that results vary between individuals. As some already commented, sleeping hours that one needs should also varies. It was not as easy as written in the book. Not everyone can be a short sleeper after going through the 2 weeks of transition, exactly as indicated in the book. I stopped it for a moment and chose to sleep as I like. It’s just sleep, but what was this obsession that I had? Especially on day2, in the morning after staying up all night, I couldn’t think but to sleep. I didn’t feel like doing anything but sleeping. It was just like I wasted the day, dying for sleep, sleep, and sleep!!

I will try to live with 6 hours sleep and a short nap with less meals, which is still better than 7-8 hours sleep I used to enjoy.
I’m so disappointed and sorry for not being able to report something exciting or interesting. (T_T) It just turned out it was not my thing… My husband was surprised to know that I blogged about it before I started. He said I should do that only after the experiment worked out for me, and when it didn’t work I should keep quiet. But I like to speak out first to encourage myself.

How long do you need to sleep? Is there any good way to make it short yet that still makes you feel energized enough? I might wanna try some other methods in the future again, because I feel it exciting if I can have extra few hours a day to spend for something instead of just sleeping. :p

28 Responses to “Experiment is cut off, short sleep didn't work for me… :(”

  1. Amanda April 10, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    I need a lot of sleep. For a while I thought there was something wrong with me so I went to the doctor. I had a blood test and it came back normal. My doctor said I'm perfectly healthy and there are just some people who need more sleep than others.

    I think another factor is that I like to stay up late at night. So maybe I don't necessarily sleep more, but I prefer to sleep later and then wake up later. Unfortunately that doesn't work well with work or school schedules!

    I guess you just have to use the time you are awake the best you can. It sounds like less sleep is only going to make things harder. Maybe you could train Pi-chan to clean the house and do the washing etc to give you more work time. πŸ˜€

    • kirin April 11, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

      It's great you are perfectly healthy!
      "you just have to use the time you are awake the best you can" This is sooo true! When I cannot shorten my sleeping hours, then next thing is how I can concentrate on what I do for better performance. (@_@) Thinking like this is very stressful…I will need a break, haha! Thanks for your comment!

  2. Moxi April 10, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    Oh no! I was sure you could do this- it seemed a little extreme at first, but after I thought about it, it seemed really healthy. Maybe, after your body gets used to the six hours of sleep, you could try again? πŸ˜€

    I already run on 5 to 6 hours of sleep, from my bedtime of 11 or 12 at night to when I get up at 5. I usually have lots of energy, but I eat a lot, and I sleep at least nine hours on weekends.

    • kirin April 11, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      Oh I envy you~. I like your bedtime as it covers 11 – 2 when your skin is renewed. I want to go to bed at 11 because I hear it's better to sleep 11-5 than 12-6, although both cover 6 hours. Thanks for sharing your way! πŸ˜€

  3. Steven Stier April 10, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Thank you very much for posting blogs on this sleep experiment. Although it is way outside the general theme of this website it is a very interesting subject. We learn many bits of wisdom from our parents and peers as we are beginning life. Some of which are true and some are just plain wrong. There is no medical evidence that being cold will cause us to catch a cold. It is a virus which does that. But it is still a common belief. However, the idea that we need a certain amount of sleep seems to be true.

    Many experiments have been done on the subject. But this is the first one I have heard that includes a particular diet to offset the effects of less sleep. I am sorry that you had to suffer for two weeks to learn this, but now we are all better informed. We still don't know exactly why we need sleep but it seems to allow the brain time to perform a needed function. Perhaps like a computer sorting data for future use. The doctor you told us about seems to be able to do this in a very short time. He is unique. Some people can perform complex math problems quickly in their head. They are unique. Some people only post their success on their blogs. We cannot learn much from them. You also tell us about your failures. You are unique. Domo arigatou gozaimashta.

    • kirin April 11, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

      The book told me it has completely no foundation that we have to sleep 8 hours. What's important is not the length of sleep but the quality of sleep, according to the book.

      I cut it off at the day6, so I also stopped suffering. (lol) However I rememberd I once read another book that told me 8 hours sleeping is a must for mitochondrial DNA to be fixed or made up or renewed…I don't remember exact word…The book said if we lack of 8 hours at least, mitochondria may stay mutated or damaged, which eventually could cause us cancer. Hmmm which is true? Saving time with having cancer? No way, then I want no cancer with less time awake. haha!

      Ahaha~! I am unique!! Many people say that. πŸ˜€ I'm quite disappointed at my result, but I'm happy I can share my experience with my blog readers! Douitashimashite! πŸ˜€

  4. Lina April 10, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    I don't understand you. 😦 Why do you want to sleep short and less, if your body and brain need that? Just for more time a day?? For children, the best time is 10 hours, and if you get older the time wil be 8 hours a day. I agree with this period. I recon, this is healthy, and sleeping + eating less is dangeorus. 😦 I know, that the doctor is someone special, and there are people who can sleep short times, but they are… well I don't know, they're not normall. πŸ˜€ I hope, you realised, that you nedd minimum 6 hours slepping and to not experiment this more.

    • kirin April 11, 2010 at 2:51 pm #

      Yes, children are growing very rapidly that's why they need to sleep and eat well. But for me over 30, especially eating more results in more negative outcomes than positive ones. But of course if I don't have to do so many things and stay laid back, I want to sleep as much as I want. I want to do many things while I am awake, but this time is not enough. That's why. To be honest, I like sleeping and eating so much, actually. If I spoil myself, I could even sleep 9-10 hours plus nap!

  5. Phil April 10, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Kirin – you're great! I think I would have done what your husband said, but I'm glad you shared it all with your readers.
    Sorry you didn't reach your goal, but I don't think most humans can live with so little sleep. Anyway, it was an interesting experiment to follow. Most nights I sleep between 6 and 8 hours, but I would like to be able to sleep 8 hours every night.

    • kirin April 11, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

      Phil, thank you for your heartwarming comment. ^ ^
      I just honestly believed what the book said as "it's nothing special, you can do it right away!" (lol)
      When I searched what people said about the book, I found many people were criticizing the author without even giving it a try. So I thought I should try before I criticize or evaluate what the author said. I'm not angry at him or sad or anything. I just accept it as it is. I was only unhappy I couldn't write an exciting post that my blog readers would enjoy. hehehe… :p

  6. aichaku April 11, 2010 at 2:35 am #

    I'm sorry you did not get what you hoped to achieve. Still, this is a very interesting topic. Our ex-prime minister, (now snr minister with a special title), Mr Lee Kuan Yew is famous for sleeping only a few hours each night, I think maybe only 2-3 or 4 hours only. I read a short sci-fi story about how people genetically modify their children so they don't need sleep. Apparently, sleeping is a weakness, when you don't need sleep, your body is enhanced and you can do more special things!! LOL!! Maybe that's why only special people can stand only a few hours of sleep a day. I read that if you don't sleep enough, your body requires some extra things and you'll start getting fat. My goodness, I don't know what to think. πŸ˜€

    I have problem falling asleep, but I still need sleep. I can't stand it if I don't get enough. I tend to eat more. πŸ˜€

    • kirin April 11, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

      Oh really? That's interesting because when I shorten sleeping hours, I didn't feel like eating much somehow. In that way it was not hard for me to hold appetite while I slept less. (At a moment I went back to 8 hours only to look back the difference and I find myself needing more foods! I'll see how it changes when I return to 6 hours sleep again.)

      • ju. November 20, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

        Hello Kirin,
        I just read your two blogposts on sleep and I want to try to sleep less, too.
        At the moment I am already eating less (and very healthy) and I notice an incredible difference in energy-level! I only eat when I am hungry, not when I want to eat because it is tasty, and I do control portions a bit – I try not to overeat. Sometimes I wake up after 6 hours of sleep and feel fit, but normally I force myself to continue sleeping because I always thought that it is bad for the body and beauty to sleep only 6 hours. When I ate more and less healthy, I had more weight and 8 hours often was not enough sleep for me and during the day I still felt tired…
        From now on I will trust my body and try to find out how much my body needs. People say I am so slim when I am talking to them about this, but I feel so much better when I am slim – so it's perfect πŸ™‚
        I guess it should be the most effective and easiest way if one tries to eat less and do sports at the first step. Only after getting used to this, one tries to observe his or her body and if possible sleeps less. I will try this out without stressing myself too much (unlike not sleeping for an entire day) and I am sure it can work if I don't force myself to hard. If it works for me the same way it worked for you, I should be more relaxed with eating little when sleeping less, this sounds great, because at the moment I still want to eat even though I am full! 😦
        I am sooooo happy and thankful that you posted it before you started the experiment, you gave us very valuable information! Finally everything is pure logic but sometimes you still need someone else to say it before you can really believe it πŸ™‚
        A big, big thank you from Germany!!!
        Keep on rocking!

      • kirin November 21, 2011 at 11:45 am #

        Hi ju.,
        Thank you for your comment. I enjoyed reading it. πŸ™‚
        I'm glad to know that there is someone who still enjoys what I wrote long time ago. Time has passed and I totally forgot about this article. But reading your comment and thought it's cool you actually felt fit with less sleep and less food. That's great! πŸ™‚

        If you do sports besides that, that would be ideal! It's not easy to change the way of living, but you are doing a good job!

        All the best!
        Kirin

  7. Cath April 11, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    Heh… It's good that you told us. Authentic blogging! n_n
    Anyway, work was like hell last couple of weeks. So I had very little sleep. Like only 4 hours for a few days. Miserable. My speech was affected.
    Anyway, when I wake up naturally, I realise I've slept about 6 hours. So maybe 6 hours are enough for me.

    • kirin April 11, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

      It's good you know best sleeping hours for yourself. πŸ™‚ 6 hours is reasonable. 90 minutes cycle x 4.

  8. dwayne2d3d April 11, 2010 at 10:16 am #

    it is true that the less sleep you get the more energized you are.
    eg. do you every notice the more you sleep you get the more tired you actually are.
    The only bad thing about this experiment is that you were too hard on yourself….
    Kirin!! instead of using 2 weeks to adjust give yourself like 6 months.
    I bet you would master it better then.
    As you said people's pattern do vary but i think only when it comes to being accustomed to something..
    Remember the easier you adopt to something "fad, trend, ect…", the easier it is to drop it…
    So give you self alot more time and i bet you would adopt!!!!!

    • kirin April 11, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

      Thank you so much for your advice, it sounds so reasonable!
      Wow, 6 months…that looks possible.
      Yes, I thought the schedule advised by the book was too hard. But if I take 6 months and I get used to it, it can be possible… πŸ˜€ I liked your idea! I'll try it again spending 6 months, and I will blog about that in October 2010. (0w0) How interesting~! Thank you so much for your encouragement. πŸ˜€

  9. Maria April 12, 2010 at 5:12 am #

    I used to sleep between 4 and 6 hours and it did not make me anymore productive. It made me eccentric, bad tempered and grumpy πŸ˜€ Sleeping very little does increase my artistic needs, e.g. need to draw stuff, but it's very bad if I need to learn new things. Sleeping less reduces my linguistic abilities too. When I'm tired I eat more, I'm constantly nibbling something and feeling cold.
    I don't think I could live without my daily 8 hours of sleep and I know I'm not a pleasant person to be around when I'm tired.

    • kirin April 12, 2010 at 8:34 am #

      The book I read was saying we can live with 3-4 hours of sleep and stay even more productive, because of high quality of sleep, compared with low quality of 8 hours. But if we cannot have concentrated sleep during the 3-4 hours, that's dangerous just as what you've experienced. If I don't feel as much as or even more energized and productive from short sleep, I wouldn't feel like trying it. Then I'd prefer enough sleep and a lot of energy instead. So…let's see how things can change in 6 months…

  10. dwayne2d3d April 12, 2010 at 7:31 am #

    yep!!
    start really, really, really, really, really slow…
    10 minutes less sleep per day for 2 weeks..
    Then adjust as "YOU" fell necessary after the 2 week mark….

    as the old saying goes "slow and steady wins the race"
    頑弡ってKirin

    • kirin April 12, 2010 at 8:39 am #

      Ah~, "Slow and steady wins the race" sounds like the fable of the race between the rabbit and the tortoise. I like your advice, γ‚γ‚ŠγŒγ¨γ†γ­οΌ Also I hope this blog can be slow and steady…that eventually makes a success! ^ ^; hehe…

  11. mina April 13, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    Kirin: I totally understand your fasination with less sleep! It was exciting to see that you have tried this, as I have been interested in it lately as well! Although, I think that Dr. Hinohara's methods are a bit extreme. I'm not sure if that kind of lifestyle can work for everyone…But I have recently begun sleeping less (about 6 hours) and just eating when I am hungry. I still feel pretty tired at times, but energized at the same time…I think it takes some getting used to!

    I wish you good luck with this! Don't push yourself too hard! ^__^

    • kirin April 14, 2010 at 11:49 am #

      Mina, thank you for sharing your experience. πŸ™‚
      At a moment I'm trying with 6 hours + eat less and as I get used to it, I will slowly shorten sleeping hours and slowly reduce what I am eating. Hope this works out in 6 months… :p

  12. n a n d a April 15, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    I heard eating less carb will make you less sleepy during the day.. =/

    • kirin April 17, 2010 at 4:36 am #

      Really? Thanks for sharing. I used to succeed in losing weight by eating less rice. Less carb = less sleep and less weight? How good!

  13. nana April 6, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    thank you for sharing your experience. I think it is really difficult thing to do. I like to sleep. but I tried to change littly by little. every day I sleep 30 minutes less than day before. now I sleep 6hours. I hope (T^T) that it will continue this way.

Leave a Reply

