Travel with dog in Japan

8 Apr

I had a request from one of my blog readers that she wants to know pet friendly accommodations in Japan.

Pet industry is huge in Japan. It’s said the number of household dogs and cats are exceeding the population of kids under 15 years old. (Japan is going to suffer from super-aging society. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) Many Japanese people like to live with pets and some people choose dog or cat as a partner or companion or something instead of kid. (Here’s my related post “How it’s like to keep pets in Japan“.) Reflecting this trend, pet business is very popular and pet owners like to make use of the services.

-pet hotel
-pet hospital
-pet funeral service
-pet grooming service
-pet esthetic salon
dog rental service
cat cafe and rabbit cafe
-pet goods and dress
and more and more…

When pet means something more than just a pet, it’s quite natural we want to have a pet as a company to travel with.
There are accommodations that are ready to accommodate dogs, supply meals for dogs, as well as prepare all the necessary goods to keep dogs at the site. But of course, not all the hotels accept our stay with pets. Let me give you useful links that list accommodations that accept our stay with pets.

Jalan *my favorite!
Stay with Dog
Pet Yado
Rakuten Travel *I love Rakuten!
Pet Yoogle
Wan Nyan Navi
Inuyado
Pet C Net
and more and more…but unfortunately these are all in Japanese.
*In case you want me to help arrangement/search specific hotels from your requirements, please email me to discuss details so I can work for you. (This is considered as a part of translation work, so it’s just like you hire me as your secretary. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

My husband and I once traveled with our dog Pi-chan and stayed one of the small hotels that accepts dog. I remember I felt relieved to see she had no problems at an unfamiliar place.

For foreign tourists to take pets with them when they visit Japan, there should be Japanese animal quarantine they should observe. It’s still difficult to travel abroad with pets even though domestic travel is getting popular.

Some related links
international travel with your dog
pet friendly travel
pet immigration rules Japan

DOG TEN COMMANDMENTS
This makes me cry…As a dog owner, I am inclined to focus on dog. It’s so sad when I think of the fact that Pi-chan can live only 10 years or so. She is my best friend and I love her so much…too much maybe…

With English sub

21 Responses to “Travel with dog in Japan”

  1. Steven Stier April 9, 2010 at 2:23 am #

    Anyone who loves dogs is OK by me. I knew you were a good person.

    • kirin April 10, 2010 at 10:52 am #

      *~(#^ ^#)~* Arigatou…
      I never thought I would like my dog this much. It's rather pathologic, though…lol

  2. Moxi April 10, 2010 at 3:18 am #

    This was a great insight into Japanese culture- thank you! Also, I know it isn't very kawaii, but I would like to hear more about Japan's aging population. Could you possibly do a post on this?

    • kirin April 10, 2010 at 10:55 am #

      Thank you! It's a good idea, I will do so soon. Also, it's tokyo kawaii ETC. It includes many serious topics and posts that have nothing to do with kawaii, too. Actually I think this "etc" part is sometimes more than kawaii (lol)…so I'm totally happy for non-kawaii topics, too! Thank you for your great opinion, I'd appreciate your comment so much! ^ ^

  3. Lisa April 10, 2010 at 7:10 am #

    Some good recommendations there! We take our dog all over the place, but Europe, especially France in particular is quite dog friendly. In France our dog can tag along to most restaurants as long as she sits quietly under the table. In Sweden a lot of people travel with their dogs by train, so there's a special car for animals (so people who are allergic don't have to suffer!). I thought it would be difficult with so many dogs in such a small space, but they seem to instinctively know that there's nowhere else to go, so most are pretty calm. It's really quite amazing! I think smaller dogs are more practical for travelling though, you can take them almost everywhere without anyone noticing, haha! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I've read the dog rules before, but with the video and the song I started crying a little bit, haha! I think I'm just too sensitive. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I know what you mean about loving a pet too much; here, they're often considered on the same level as family members. It's like having a small child, because they can't tell you what's wrong and they're completely dependent on us. It's a lot of responsibility, but definitely worth it, don't you think? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin April 10, 2010 at 11:03 am #

      I agree with you, it's a lot of work and responsibility to keep pets, but definitely worth it!!! How much I learned the way of thinking and the feelings I have missed in my life since I started to raise my dog Pi-chan. I used to HATE small kids so badly, but now it's quite opposite and I feel so sorry I cannot have my babies.

      The song and the rules made me cry, too. I didn't watch the film but when I read the book roughly at a book store (tachiyomi) a few years ago, I had to run away from there because I was about to cry in the book store with the book I was only browsing, haha… ^ ^;

      I didn't know that it was that easy to travel with dog in Europe! Thanks for telling me that!!!
      How fantastic if I can travel and share so many things with Pi-chan…well she might prefer staying at a familiar place though… :p

  4. anita April 13, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    thank you so much for your info. hong kong is very different, very limited restuarant is allow dog, and only to sit outdoor not indoor, we have some dog cafe, but the food for people is horrible. we have few park which allow dog, but is super small. that why we are planning to bring out dog to japan for vacation, becoz is only 4 hours flight and no need to be quarantined when dog in japan and out hong kong. i will study your link and hope we can really go japan in dec 2010. many thanks again.

    • kirin April 14, 2010 at 11:41 am #

      ^ ^; oh that's hard…What about China? Isn't it easier for you to bring dogs to Shanghai or Beijing? No need to quarantine between HK and Japan? I don't think so…Anyhow please be well prepared and all the best for your trip.

  5. n a n d a April 15, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Surprisedhttp://www.jalan.net/pet/ is in Japanese. I thought it'd be in English or Bahasa Indonesia because jalan means walk in Bahasa Indonesia ^ ^
    Pet hotel & services is not that popular here ๐Ÿ˜ฆ and in my city i only find 1 mall which allows pets ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • kirin April 17, 2010 at 4:38 am #

      I think pet boom will come gradually. It was not this hot in Japan compared with 20 years ago. It should not be popular at all 30 years ago. Things will change. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Haha! Jalan, I think they took the word from Indonesian. XD

  6. Taicho July 4, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    So they have pet funeral service too in Japan? Wow im amazed. Is that a common thing there?

    • kirin July 5, 2010 at 9:30 am #

      Yes it's common to have a funeral for pet over here. Of course not everyone does it, but many people take pet as a family member so it's natural to have a funeral for them, and even a grave too.

  7. Jana December 21, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    I am Australian European living in Mexico with residency in Japan. Yes, very international, bit confusing but let's say that it doesn't matter, we are all the same no matter where we are from. I am planning to return to Japan with my beagle dog Chester whom I adopted in Mexico. I had to wait ONE YEAR !!!! here in Mexico to comply with Japanese quarantine as Chester had to have two blood tests from USA (each test had to wait 180 days after the results). Finally, Chester is free to travel. Now, another hurdle is – accommodation in Japan. I had no idea it is now so difficult to find a pet friendly apartment for medium size dogs. They require all sorts of paperwork about my income, tax return, blah blah…just a nightmare. Anybody can suggest where I can find a nice place to live peacefully and Chester having great walks too? Thank you!

    • kirin December 22, 2010 at 3:07 am #

      I also found your message by email. I will reply by email, shortly. Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. KylerGu January 24, 2011 at 3:27 am #

    This made me cry. Dogs are so loving, probably much more so than cats.

    • kirin January 24, 2011 at 5:00 am #

      Thank you for your comment.
      Dogs are wonderful. I never thought my life will become so much of fun with my dog. She is just like my baby girl. ^ ^;

  9. Anzu April 20, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    ๆถ™ใŒๅ‡บใฆใ—ใพใ„ใพใ—ใŸใ€‚
    ๅฝผใ‚‰ใฎไบบ็”ŸใŒ็Ÿญใ„ไบ‹ใฏ่งฃใฃใฆใ„ใพใ™ใŒใ€ใใฎๆ™‚ใ€€็ง้”ใŒใฉใ‚Œใปใฉ่พ›ใ„ใ‹ใ‚’่€ƒใˆใ‚‹ใจๆ€–ใ„ใงใ™ใ€‚

    • kirin April 20, 2011 at 8:59 am #

      ็งใ‚‚ๅˆใ‚ใฆ่ฆ‹ใŸๆ™‚ใฏๆณฃใใพใ—ใŸใ€‚
      Anzuใ•ใ‚“ใฎใŠใฃใ—ใ‚ƒใ‚‹้€šใ‚Šใ€ใพใฃใŸใๅŒๆ„Ÿใงใ™ใ€‚ใใฎใ“ใจใ‚’ใตใจ่€ƒใˆใŸใ ใ‘ใงใ‚‚ใ†ใ‚‹ใ†ใ‚‹ใ—ใฆใ—ใพใ„ใพใ™ใ€‚ใ„ใ–ใใฎๆ—ฅใŒๆฅใŸใ‚‰็งใฏ้‡ๅบฆใฎใ†ใค็—…ใซใชใ‚‹ใ‚“ใ˜ใ‚ƒใชใ„ใ‹ใจใ€ๅฟƒๅบ•ใ€ๆ‡ธๅฟตใ—ใฆใ„ใพใ™ใ€‚

    • kirin April 20, 2011 at 8:59 am #

      ๏ผˆใคใฅใ๏ผ‰
      ๏ผ“ๆญณใซใชใ‚‹ใดใƒผใกใ‚ƒใ‚“็›ธๆ‰‹ใซไปŠใ‹ใ‚‰่ฆšๆ‚Ÿใ‚’ๆฑบใ‚ใ‚ˆใ†ใจใ€่‡ชๅˆ†ใซใ„ใ„่žใ‹ใ›ใฆใ„ใ‚‹ๆฌก็ฌฌใงใ‚ใ‚Šใพใ™ใ€‚็Šฌใ‚’้ฃผใฃใฆใ„ใŸไบบใŒใ€Œใ‚‚ใ†็Šฌใฏใ„ใ„ใ‚„ใ€ๆญปใ‚“ใ ๅพŒใŒ่พ›ใ„ใ‚“ใ ใ‚‚ใฎใ€ใจไฝ•ไบบใ‚‚่จ€ใ†ใฎใ‚’่žใใŸใณใซใฉใ‚Œใปใฉใฎ่พ›ใ•ใซใชใ‚‹ใ‹ใจๆ€–ใใชใ‚Šใพใ™ใ€‚

  10. Andrea August 22, 2012 at 2:36 am #

    Hi! I was reading your post. I am traveling to Tokyo next month with my dog Zarina. I already went through all the immigration process (pre-trip) and I already have my ticket and hers. I'm going to be staying for more than a year but I need accomodations for the first week or so while I look for an apartment. I've been looking for many hotels but they all say they are not pet friendly. I don't mind what hotel but I'd preffer if it wasn't over the top expensive (think four seasons) but reasonable for someone traveling with her dog. It's just me and my dog so I would like it to be in the tokyo area and pet friendly. Could you help me?

    • kirin August 22, 2012 at 10:55 am #

      Hi Andrea,
      So far, I had to say there are not any reasonable hotels that accept dogs with their owners in Tokyo. But I after I found your comment, I googled again in Japanese and found this hotel.

      the b akasaka (pet stay package) https://advance.reservation.jp/ishinhotelsgroup/s

      There are some other hotels too but they don't seem to have information in English, so I hope this helps.
      Kirin

Leave a Reply

