April makes me feel like starting something new!

4 Apr

With cherry blossoms’ blooming, it’s time to start a new life in Japan. New school semester, new fiscal year, new classmates and colleagues, personnel relocation, new classes and schools…everything looks like refreshed for something new. This is similar to the feeling of new year on 1st January. It’s the best timing to start something new. School enrollment ceremony or company orientation is held in this season in Japan. It’s also a good timing for the exsisting services to modify the contents of service or the pricing. Even self-study radio programs refresh from April with a new content and a new teacher.

Back from Malaysia and Singapore, I realized how much I have enjoyed 4 seasons in Japan. Starting something new, meeting with new people, and the season is spring. I like this. I’d feel differently if this season were winter or summer. I like this fresh feeling that comes with spring and cherry blossoms every year.

It might have been related with this feeling that I decided to try out short sleep all of a sudden. I wanted to try something new, new way of thinking, and a new life. Japanese young women like to learn something such as English, cooking, flower arrangement, yoga, and etc. “Keiko to Manabu” is the most well-known resources for hobby lessons and practical lessons for acquisition of qualification on business.

Well, actually U-CAN is more stressed on job qualifications.

It is regarded very important in Japan that we have passed a qualifying test to prove our ability and high skills at work. That’s why we have to brush up to improve job skills all the time by updating scores of tests or acquiring new certifications year after year. But I think this goes too extreme, because there are so many unnecessary certifications or qualifications that I strongly doubt if they deserve any time, effort, and money for study.

For example…
(*I don’t know official English names for these, I just described in English only for your better understandings.)

certificate of dog owner…I’m sorry I have Pi-chan already with no certificate~. :p
certificate of parenting for dads…Do we need it? Many dads raise kids without it.
certificate of horse racing knowledge…Why don’t we let each study as one likes?
certificate of fulfilling second life…Who in the hell will study this and pay for the test? Enjoy your second life on your own!
-anime certificate a.k.a “aniken”…it’s even discontinued.

There are more and more strange certificates which I’d feel embarrassed after all to write down on my resume even if I had them. (lol)
Do you have any funny certificate or ever tried to? I have a driver’s license but I have never had a car and I am too scared to drive it, but I am regarded as an “excellent driver” only on the license card because I have never had any car accidents! (nearly means because I’ve never driven a car. lol)

8 Responses to “April makes me feel like starting something new!”

  1. Lisa April 4, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Haha, yes! We used to joke that you can get a certification in virtually everything in Japan! But you mentioned a couple that even I didn't know about… It's hard to believe they're for real sometimes!
    Although I agree that there can be too much focus on certifications, I think it would be quite good if there's a national standard for them. I'm thinking mainly in relation to the work-related ones, for job hunting for example.
    A friend of mine has both a 'how to wear kimono' certification, as well as one for teaching how to wear them as well. Now that's definitely a useful one I think! I would love to get one like that myself eventually. ^_^

    • kirin April 6, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

      How to wear kimono! Cool~! ^ ^ I'd like to learn that, too.

  2. megan April 5, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    I have a boating license, though I didn't have to drive a boat at all to get it; I just had to take a safety test. I don't ever drive a boat though, it was part of a class! XD

    • kirin April 6, 2010 at 1:11 pm #

      I remember I had a padi open water license, too! I took it in Australia but I've never had a chance to dive since the one in Okinawa…I almost forgot that I had a license! 0_0

  3. n a n d a April 15, 2010 at 7:20 pm #

    Funny categories! lol but i guess its fun to learn new things *even thought it may not applicable for work*
    I'd love to have Decoden or Nail Art certificates! Aaahh.. Cake frosting/deco would be nice too..

    • kirin April 17, 2010 at 4:40 am #

      Decoden or nail art or cray sweets…these are already considered as a job that brings us money in Japan!

  4. Ambar March 29, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    Ur a life saver!!! Been searching where to learn Design graph, illustrator etc besides thru college in Japan. Found it in Keiko to Manabu. Thanks!

    • kirin March 29, 2011 at 6:01 am #

      I'm happy for you! Glad this post was helpful to you!!

Leave a Reply

