I just want a quick eyebrow threading in Tokyo!

30 Mar

One of the great experience I had in Singapore was that I tried eyebrow threading for the first time in my life. It was a present from my friend, and I am quite satisfied with the outcome! When I found this technique from my guidebook, I was very curious and I wanted to make a reservation to the salon listed on my guidebook. At the same time though I was worried that my skin might be too sensitive and my trip would be very uncomfortable if it swells up against the rubbing threads. After all I was not encouraged to make a reservation or even inquire at the salon.

It was a big surprise when my Singaporean friend had a reservation on the day we see, and she allowed me to observe her receiving the threading. The technique was something I’ve never seen. I was still skeptical if it was not painful. I never imagined having myself done until she invited me. If you are unfamiliar with threading, here’s a Youtube video about it.

I wouldn’t say it’s 100% pain free, but it’s not that painful at all, and I quite liked what I’ve got!
Back in Tokyo, I wonder where we have threading salons in Tokyo – Yokohama area. When I Googled I found only a couple of salons in Tokyo, but what’s surprising most is the cost. I just want a quick threading only 10 minutes or so, but what they offer in Toko comes with unnecessary package from face wash to face pack! There’s no menu only for eyebrow threading!! Why? Those unnecessary package costs 6800 yen taking 1 hour, for example. It’s such a disappointment! I’ve checked out 4 or 5 salons but none of them offer just a simple quick threading. OMG why Japanese salons like to make it complicated, trying to make us spend more in average? I think I should look for a salon run by the non-Japanese who totally understand that I don’t need any extra service in exchange for extra money and time!

31 Responses to “I just want a quick eyebrow threading in Tokyo!”

  1. Mary March 30, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Actually it's like an old technique for removing the facial hair. My friend knows how to do it. A little painful, but great results! πŸ™‚ I love it! I haven't done it for a long time, I should get it back like now…haahahhaha πŸ˜€

  2. Patty March 30, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    I tried threading, and truly gave it an honest try, it's just not for me. It felt long and also felt like little bug gnawing at me. I much prefer waxing, just get the pain overwith.

    • kirin April 1, 2010 at 4:52 am #

      Oh really? I think it depends on the practitioner and your health conditions. I wouldn't say it was complete pain free, but it was totally tolerable. It was about 5 minutes or so.

  3. Amanda March 30, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    I've had my brows waxed and then they pluck at the end to neaten it up. Does threading feel like plucking? Because I don't like plucking much.

    It's a cool technique though! I wonder how on earth they came up with it?!

    • kirin April 1, 2010 at 4:59 am #

      When I had this threading, I was not even sure if the practitioner was plucking or shaving by the threads. (I asked her and she said she was plucking.) After threading she then used tweezers to pluck further only to neaten them up. But this was not painful at all. It was very quick. I exactly feel the same as you, how on earth they came up with this method? It's very interesting and I hear it's skin friendly compared with waxing.

  4. kelsey March 30, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    Totally agree! Wish there was a threading place here! All we have are waxing salons which are good, but I prefer threading!

    • kirin April 1, 2010 at 5:02 am #

      So it was not my poor skills of using Google search. There's no quick cheap threading salons in Tokyo. -_- Maybe I should ask some Indian ladies (where? at an Indian restaurant?) how they do with their brows in here.

  5. Sparklewolfie March 30, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I first saw threading in Taiwan – it was just a lady sitting on the side of the road with a sign XDDD No salon! Haha but then I saw my cousin get it done and decided to learn to do it on myself. Still not so great at it so it takes me a long time, but it works!

    • kirin April 1, 2010 at 5:05 am #

      By yourself? Is this technique something you can learn and do it for yourself? @w@!!
      I should learn it and open a 1000yen threading salon in Tokyo? I wonder why there's no casual just-do-it type of salon in Tokyo…while there are QB house just-do-it type of hair cut place everywhere. 😦

      • Sparklewolfie April 1, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

        yes! You can learn to do this on yourself. You tie the thread into a loop instead of holding it in your mouth. On Youtube there are turorials πŸ˜€ Just search for "eyebrow threading"

        And if you have friends who are willing t olet you prictice, maybe you can have your own business!

  6. Miki March 30, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Wow, I've never heard of this technique! It looks so simple..and it takes just about 3 minuetes!? Thats just great!!! It also dosen't grow thick again…Wow, I definetly will try this! Thanks for posting something so helpful!!!

    • kirin April 1, 2010 at 5:07 am #

      I never knew this before I visited Singapore! It was so quick and very nice~!
      I envy you have a salon in your area~.

  7. Tata March 31, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    What's the name of this pratice in japanese???? I want found a salons for looking sites here in Japan. Thanks

    • kirin April 1, 2010 at 5:08 am #

      I first Googled with "ηœ‰ζ―›γ€€η³Έ" and then I found the right keywords from the search results as "η³Έθ„±ζ―›" but it seems there are more salons in Osaka or Kansai region than Tokyo. 😦

  8. Apple April 1, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    may i ask where did you do it in Singapore? maybe i should try it too!

  9. Tata April 4, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    Thanks… I live near Tokyo… I'll try…^_^

  10. n a n d a April 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    You may want to check this out. I once watched a tv show covering this issue. Very interesting. Besides eyesbrows, the service also available for lips! http://www.vivawoman.net/2007/06/29/eyebrow-embro

    • kirin April 17, 2010 at 4:49 am #

      Thank you for sharing the info. One of my Japanese friends get her eyebrows embroidered because her mom and grandma also do that. Hmm…I forgot about this until I read the link you gave me.

  11. Courtney May 30, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    http://sites.google.com/site/beautyatflorals/thre
    she's at Nishi-Kasai in Tokyo and only charges 500 yen! I had her do my eyebrows the other week and they turned out lovely. πŸ™‚

    • kirin June 1, 2010 at 6:08 am #

      OMG! Thank you so much for the link!!
      I didn't know we can get the service at such a budget price in Tokyo!!
      I'll definitely go check it out. Millions of thanks!!! xoxoxo

  12. Salma January 22, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    By the way, threading is very famous in the Egyptian salons. It's considered as the fastest way to draw eyebrows, and also, it saves time πŸ™‚

    • kirin January 23, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

      Oh, then I wish I could try it again in Egypt when I visit there. ^ ^;

  13. Rose April 10, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    The malls that i go to in the US have them. But it looks like it hurts >.>

    • kirin April 11, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      Yes, it looks like it hurts. But it doesn't. I wouldn't say I felt nothing, but the hurt is far from suffering.

  14. yorokobi October 16, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    Hello
    Any luck spotting Eyebrows threading parlour around tokyo and yokohama area?
    If so please can some one let me know here.
    I am seriously looking for a place recently

    Thanks

    • Tokyo Eyebrows March 13, 2012 at 2:30 am #

      Hi Yorokobi, email tokyoeyebrows@gmail.com to arrange for inexpensive threading for your eyebrows or face.

  15. Sagun October 19, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    Lol honestly, threading doesn’t really hurt at all. I’ve been doing threading ever since i was 15 (i’m 20 now), although i want my eyebrows the traditional Japanese style, which threading can’t give. I’m living in Nepal at the moment, and threading only cost a mere Rs 20 here. Back in Singapore, i used to do it for $1 only (which is equal to around Nepal Rs 59.) Hehe it’s suh a bargain living here. my friends and i do upper lip threading too. Let’s face it. Every women in this world has upper lip hair.

  16. Marshy January 22, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    eyebrow threading is really a great idea..it is safe and last longer than shaving…it looks really clean…a lady in Okazaki City Aichiken Japan is doing it for only 2000 yen…really cheap…

    • suzanne January 2, 2013 at 5:42 am #

      where in okazaki?

  17. jeyabharathy April 12, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    hello guys ….Hope all fine with threading…iam an indian beautician….i do threading for 500yen only(shown in the video),and i do Gold cream facial,whitening facial,friut facial,fruit cream facial,fresh fruit facial,,,waxing,head oil masaage with the resanable rates etc.iam staying in nishikasai,tokyo…plz visit my website
    jasbeauty.weebly.com

    contact me through email id : bjeyabharathy@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

