Fashion Changes Life

25 Mar

Fashion Changes Life
24/OCT/2009 on air

Have you ever changed fashion before you actually changed your image or way of living?

Changing fashion can be changing his life. Kaneko-kun is a typical “lady’s man“, meaning a man who likes to wear lady’s clothing. He reads lady’s fashion magazines because he is too thin to wear men’s clothes. He even wears a wig to hide his curly hair by nature. But he wants to quit “lady’s man” for a girl he likes.

Haruka-chan is a Gyaru type of girl because her boyfriend likes it. But it’s impossible to keep Gyaru style and “Syuukatsu” (for the new graduates to apply for job openings) at the same time. To do job hunting, many of Japanese new graduates will dress like all the same. She is trying to graduate from Gyaru fashion, at the same time she is afraid if her boyfriend still likes her without Gyaru.

Oraora-kei men help Kaneko-kun change. Oraora-kei is quite opposite to herbivore men or lady’s men. Oraora circle with 16-18-year-old men are so popular among young girls. Oraora-kei fashion brands are sometimes similar to Huryo-kei (hoody) images as represented by the word “夜露死苦”(“Yoroshiku”…we usually do not use Kanji for Yoroshiku, but it’s only used among bad guys.) and modified school uniforms.

Tsuchiya-san helps Haruka-chan change. Tsuchiya-san is called “prince of the curly hair” He is so famous as a proposer of “Nagoya maki” curly hair style 10 years ago. Customers from around Japan visit his salon in Tokyo.

At a hime-kei fashion store near Nagoya station, shop assistants are teaching the customers how to make the latest Nagoya maki curly hair. While Nagoya is into curly hair, Osaka is into bling bling decorations. People from Osaka like glittering fashion and blinging items to wear. In fact 90% of people from Osaka have some kind of deco items. In the city of Osaka, we can find “as-many-as-you-like” sort of decoration stores that cannot be found in Tokyo. If we want to have this service to decorate a mobile phone, for example, we pay 10,000yen for the decoration parts of over 3000 kinds from which we can choose whatever we like as many as we want. There’s a luxurious deco car with as many as 300,000 pieces of Swarowsky that was made by 30 people working for 30 days. Deco artist is considered a proper job today. There are professional schools for them. Once a deco artist can receive orders constantly, she can earn 1,000,000 yen per month, according to the teacher of the school.

Kobe is a birthplace of “Dokumo“. Ogawa-san is not just a Dokumo but she has her own fashion brand and she also works as a fashion designer today. A student in Kobe who wants to be a Dokumo spares over 1 hour to choose the outfits to wear at school. She is trying to take next season into her fashion coordinate so her style can be eye-catching and appealing to the scounts anytime. Every night she works on making good smile by training muscles of the face. She joins Dokumo circle to collect information and advice from Dokumo friends, while she also checks out fashion magazines every month to see if any of them are looking for a new Dokumo.

Haruka-chan changed from Gyaru to Ojou-kei (princess-kei) fashion. Her boyfriend is a typical Gyaruo type of guy, but he said he didn’t dislike her just because she stopped Gyaru.
Kaneko-kun stopped lady’s man and he spoke to the girl he likes that he wants to go out with her, but she’s got someone she likes already. It was good however that he confessed his feelings to her.

Kirin’s opinion:
It’s easy to make use of fashion at the time when we want to change our images or thoughts. I think lady’s men are only for friends, not for boyfriends, though. How is it like that he wears smaller size than me? :p

***There are archives of episodes listed under the page titled “Tokyo Kawaii TV” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.

12 Responses to “Fashion Changes Life”

  1. Emily March 25, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Thanks for posting another wonderful episode of Tokyo Kawaii TV 😀

    I hope you're doing well 🙂

    • kirin March 26, 2010 at 12:00 pm #

      Thank you. I'm doing fine. 🙂

  2. Chris March 26, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    Kirin I am a big fan of yours! I love your blog and interesting posts on Japan. You are a big inspiration to me. I never heard of lady's men before. It was very interesting!

    • kirin March 26, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

      Thank you! I'm glad you found my blog interesting. 🙂

  3. Amanda March 27, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Oh I felt soo bad for that guy!! It was very brave of him to tell her how he felt. I hope he can find a nice girlfriend. ^^

    I'm surprised at how much a deco-artist can earn! I love deco, I'd like to have a really pretty スイーツデコ電 one day. :3

    • kirin March 29, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

      I think that amount of compensation is the maximum. She wants more students, you know… :p

  4. Lisa March 28, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Wow, a very interesting episode! I'm so happy everything worked well with the gyaru girl and her boyfriend. Likewise, I feel bad about the guy who didn't get the girl despite changing his image. I think you're right though, the lady-style men are probably very easily put into the 'just friends' category. But it's inspiring that he really tried; it was quite brave!

    I change my fashion very much according to mood – it's a luxury I can afford while studying, but soon I'll be working again so I'll be like that first girl and I'll have to start shopping for 'office' clothes. I like that kind of clothing too, but.. I also like the freedom to where what I like whenever I want. 🙂 For example last week I wore a very punkrock outfit and the following day a more 'mori girl' style dress and the day after that just a tshirt and jeans. (Sometimes I think my friends and family wonder if I have multiple personalities – all these styles represent a part of me!)

    • kirin March 29, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

      Wow, your style is something ideal. If only I can afford more different kinds of outfits and accessories and bags and shoes…and time for the first place, I'd do the same as you! It must be so fun to enjoy different style of yourself. ^__^

  5. Sarah March 29, 2010 at 2:48 am #

    Hey Kirin :)! Thanks for the post.
    I was wondering, what exactly is gyaru fashion? Everything I've found on the internet about it is confusing 😛
    Thanks so much<3
    -Sarah

    • kirin March 29, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

      I am far from Gyaru type of girl and so I maybe wrong, but I think the followings are the must items for Gyaru fashion.
      -sexy kawaii outfits
      -color contact lenses (for Japanese Gyaru) to create a western girl look
      -dyed hair (for Japanese Gyaru) to create a western girl look
      -tanned skin
      -big eyes created by eyelashes and "dekame" makeup (for Japanese Gyaru) to create a western girl look

      Some do not like to get their skin tanned. Some like to wear hair extensions. Egg or Popteen or Ranzuki are the major Gyaru fashion magazines in Japan that Gyaru girls like to read.

      ^ ^; This is all I can tell you. Sorry I am not very familiar with it, but I hope this helps.

  6. Apple March 30, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    whoa..it's a little sad that Kaneko's confession of love failed!

    as for Haruka, although her boyfriend said, "Daijoubu", but from his body language, i feel that he isn't very happy. am i wrong about this? what do you think??? 😀

    anyway, my life changed when i changed my fashion. i used to be very very ugly and overweight and i had low self-esteem and was really shy. for years, i couldn't look myself in the mirror, and i would always shun taking pictures.

    after i lost weight and changed fashion, people started to say that i am cute, and it helped me a lot in my self-confidence. i could become the person i wanted to become. :D:D:D

    • kirin April 1, 2010 at 5:43 am #

      I thought he meant it, because he was a bit angry to her telling like "Do you really think I am such a guy who don't like you any more only because you changed your style? Isn't that strange?" in Japanese. So he was OK. 🙂

      Oh I can't even believe you were overweight or ugly as far as I see your blog. How did you succeed in losing weight? Any tips for me? You definitely look cute and it's great that you have become the person you wanted to be! *applause*

Leave a Reply

