Don Quijote

15 Mar

★Discount Store★ (It’s not a sort of kawaii store, but they sell kawaii goods, too.)
Don Quijote (known as “Donki” with abbreviations)

If one of your purposes of coming to Japan is shopping, never fail to check out Donki!
They have every interesting and useful item at discounted prices. Following photos are only part of them.

Cosplay costume

Nail decoration goods

Hello Kitty sandals

Fake eyelashes

Even Kitson’s bags

They have electrical appliances, perfume, snack, sanitary goods, interior goods, small furniture, color contact lenses, and many many kinds of interesting goods and things for daily use. Gyaru and high school girls like to shop at Donki because there are many Tsubasa Masuwaka‘s producing items that are often introduced in popteen magazine for example. There are also Momoeri‘s producing goods such as a cute neglige.

I’m sure you can enjoy shopping, or even just browsing, too. Donki is definitely one of the ideal places for you to pick up souvenirs to go back home and share with your friends or family. Don’t miss it! It’s located at various places, regardless of the scale of city. BTW, speaking of discount store, Takeya is also very popular among the locals.

23 Responses to “Don Quijote”

  1. Gizmo March 15, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    cool!
    this is one store I keep hearing about… I want to go! 😀

    • kirin March 22, 2010 at 5:49 am #

      Count this store as a must-go place in Japan! Even if you don't buy anything from there, it's fun!

  2. Amanda March 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    I love Don Quijote! There's just so much stuff! 🙂 I don't think I could ever work in a place like that, but it is definitely worth experiencing one. 🙂

    • kirin March 22, 2010 at 5:48 am #

      There was a fire at one of Donki stores several years ago. (Someone set fire to a towel or something inside the store. You can easily imagine this if you know how much the store inside is stuffed with sales products.) Since this incident I don't feel like spending a long time in the store because most of Donki stores have no windows and just so many stuff are on the shelves that even makes it easy for me to get lost inside the building. (@_@)

  3. cinnamon_girl March 20, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Donki is one of my favourite shopping spots in Japan! I love, that it's loaded with various stuff. 😀
    Last time when my luggage was lost, I got some clothes from there. Just basic things for a good price.
    But are all things discounted? My hubby told me, that snacks and other food which are sold there are not discounted and you can even get them cheaper in the supermarket. Is that true? I was confused when I heard that, because I had an imagination about Donki, that everything is cheaper there so I used to buy snacks all the time there.

    • kirin March 22, 2010 at 5:42 am #

      Your husband is right! Especially when it comes to foods section, it's not always cheap. :p

  4. n a n d a April 15, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    So its not like 100 yen stores???
    Nevertheless, Japanese girls are very lucky to have this kind of stores in the neighborhood!

    • kirin April 17, 2010 at 5:19 am #

      Oh DONKI is not 100 yen store, but it's a discount store. ^ ^

  5. Snow April 18, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    it's me again =] ur AWSOME I don't think i can ever thank u enough 😛 n i'm definately gonna go 2 conomi.n this shop's sooo kawaii 😀 but how do i get there? cuz when i want to shibuya last time…i was completely lOst n there were shops everywhere n i was really confused xD n do they sell anime characters cosplay too? or only uniform types? and I already told my anime obsessed friends about ur blog ^^ thanks again!

    • kirin April 18, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

      For anime cosplay, I think you are in the wrong place. You'd better go to Akihabara instead of Harajuku or Shibuya.
      Sorry my blog is not actually anime obsessed kind. ^ ^; BTW I thought I explained how to get to conomi Harajuku, I also gave you a link to the map, if I was not wrong…. You can actually ask at JR Harajuku station, the crew I mean.

      • Snow April 18, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

        ooh sry…..i should have made it clearer , hehe xD i was askin how to get there to Donki (i no u already said there's many but i was kind of hoping to find one in hirajuku or shibuya) ^_^ , even though ur blog's not anime obsessed, it's super AwsOme~! those friendsr anime obsessed n kawaii+japanese stuff obsessed too 😀
        by the way, would it be awkward for me to go to conomi and by a japanese school uniform when i can't even speak japanese?…….and sooooooooo sorry i keep asking all these questions . It's just that I don't know anyone i can ask. ur a life saver =] I swear I'm not always this obsessive or talkative 😛

      • kirin April 20, 2010 at 3:58 am #

        Ah, you mean the way to Donki, ^ ^; sorry…
        It's complicated. Get out of JR Shibuya station Hachiko exit, cross the Shibuya crossing to go to left, not to go to 109-2 or Starbucks, but go to the way 109 (there are 2 109 buildings, 109 and 109-2) but don't go up to the slope (Dogenzaka). You'll walk along Bunkamura street and you can find it to the left. just along the street. Ask people just "Sumimasen Donki doko?" They will understand what you mean. ^ ^;

      • Snow April 18, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

        okay….soo sorry to keep bugging you >.< but i just ran across this page 'http://news.3yen.com/2009-03-13/tokyo-shojo/ ' while tryin 2 find out what the fake uniform thing really is (not much luck with it either T.T) It says on that page that she got her uniform from a secondhand joint at harajuku n costs only about 8000yen? …..I can't really spend more than about 20000yen in a store -_- . n ur just so nice n answers my questions soo patiently (luv u n ur blog for it!)ur the best everrrr xD and I'll show u a pic of me in the uniform after if u want to see 😛 (u probably dun wanna see but you can just look and laugh :P) sorry i talk so much….. I'll be waiting n constantly checking your blog every 5 seconds xP

      • kirin April 20, 2010 at 3:58 am #

        OK, you can send me the pic when you are back~. ^ ^

      • Snow April 18, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

        just had another sudden urge to ask another thing! promise this is the last xD My country's temperature is hot (varies 20°C – 30°C…..[rarely about 16°C]) so any suggestions? can't b wearing really warm clothes there…..and i don't really need expensive brands so any stores that will cost about 10000yen for everything? It's perfectly fine if the other stores aren't good….I 'll just go to conomi n buy the super kawaii outfitsss ^_____^ can't wait to lay my hand on them. yes ,i'm know I'm being overboard n acting obsessive 😀 can't wait to lay my hands on them

      • kirin April 20, 2010 at 3:45 am #

        Check temperature and weather from here. http://www.jma.go.jp/en/week/319.html
        This year it's very unstable. It's winter -like cold one day, but next day it's very warm like an early summer.
        Be well prepared.

        Have you checked out Shimamura? (JR Takadanobaba station on Yamanote line) http://www.shimamura.gr.jp/shop/map_detail_k.php?…

      • kirin April 20, 2010 at 3:45 am #

        Check temperature and weather from here. http://www.jma.go.jp/en/week/319.html
        This year it's very unstable. It's winter -like cold one day, but next day it's very warm like an early summer.
        Be well prepared.

        Have you checked out Shimamura? (JR Takadanobaba station on Yamanote line) http://www.shimamura.gr.jp/shop/map_detail_k.php?…

  6. Snow April 23, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    there's another conomi shop behind pink latte??!

    • kirin April 24, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

      Really?? I didn't know that! XD Hope you got what you wanted.

  7. Kelly April 27, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    just curious, what exactly are those uniforms from conomi used for? Doesn’t schools have their own uniforms? They actually wear uniforms for fun in the streets??

  8. MARIO B. June 22, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    hi everyone, can somebody tell me, about his kind of stores, do they sale expensives decorative stuffs?like bronze sculptures, or art.

    • kirin June 23, 2011 at 5:37 am #

      No, I don't think so.

Leave a Reply

