Sample cafe and student nail salon

2 Mar

Unique Sample Cafe

LCAFE reopened December 2009 at Shibuya PARCO part1 B1 floor. If you ever have a chance to visit the cafe, never fail to register for the membership from your moble phone in advance. According to what you order to eat or drink at the cafe space, you can get tokens(Lcoins) to be echanged for novelties or small sample products.

For example, 1 Lcoin can be exchanged for either of the Bihada Ichizoku‘s foot mask or the hand mask. Even a cat food can be exchanged for 1 Lcoin.
You can get 3 Lcoins per lunch. If you take lunch 10 times at this cafe, you can get 30 Lcoins and that can be exchanged for a watch that is originally priced 15800yen. (USD158)

Unique Student Nail Salon

Students from a nail school need practice, while there are people who are happy with nail decorations at discounted price. That’s what this new type of nail salon is for. That’s where students from the nail school do nails for discounted prices and the customers receive not-bad level of finish or decoration (although not perfect) by paying less.

Having said that, the student nailists at the salon are all those who have passed the exams of the nail school. When a professional nail salon requires 8925yen for the course introduced on TV for example, this student nail salon does 4700yen only. When finished, the student nailist gets advice from the professional. It’s good they can still get compensation from such experimental salon.

***Please ignore the last part of the video that has nothing to do with the salon.

Kirin’s opinion:
I’m quite interested in such new type of stores of new concepts! There are variety of ways of thinking and value that we have, and so the businesses should not stick to the ordinal ways. Collaborations made by more than 2 different industries or services sometimes can result in win-win outcome. XD

10 Responses to “Sample cafe and student nail salon”

  1. Emily March 2, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    lol The first thing I thought when I saw those coins: mmm, they look like chocolate lol It's kind of like redeeming your token coins at Chuck E. Cheese for prizes 😀 Cool idea 😀

    • kirin March 3, 2010 at 9:14 am #

      Actually same here, I thought they were chocolate first! XD

  2. cin March 3, 2010 at 9:06 am #

    wooow!! i'm going there if it's still open when i go to japan next!!!!

    • kirin March 3, 2010 at 9:16 am #

      Hope it's still there. I hear that their original Sample Labo Store disappeared and instead they approached in this way.

  3. Cath March 4, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    How much is a typical manicure session in Japan?

    • kirin March 5, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

      If it's just manicure, I think it's under 2000yen, but people who go to nail salons will ask more decorations by paying more. So they'll spend 5000yen or more each time, I guess. I actually don't know the pricing because I cannot afford as much as 5000-10000yen for nails. If it's cheaper, I may want to try, but I'd save the money for travel, you know. Travel is what I love most in my life. 🙂

  4. Yuthika October 8, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I love to make a appiontment, Im over to Tokio dec and Jan, Tokio kawaii can you tell me how to? I went to the website but I coudent find an mail adres, I can call them but would the speak english Im over to Tokio for 3 years but speaking english is always a big problem. Im from te Netherlands, I hope you can help me? Arigato!!

    • kirin October 9, 2011 at 1:07 am #

      Ohh…unfortunately this cafe is closed down. If there's a new cafe at the same place, it should be a complete different cafe opened in the same location. Sorry, I have not checked out the cafe since last time. http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/tag/lcafe

      I say it's closed because I received an email from them that they are closing down, only a short time after my first visit.

      • Yuthika October 12, 2011 at 9:26 am #

        Kirin, Thankyou for telling me. I was about to call them to make a apointment. I have to look for an other one. If you know one I would be happy the know.
        And Ps I realy love your blog spend last weekend reading al of your blogs:-)

      • kirin October 12, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

        Unfortunately I have not heard of sample cafe other than Lcafe. 😦
        But there are so many fan places to visit in Tokyo.

        Thank you for spending your weekend reading TKE blog. I feel very happy it entertained someone like you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

