Chubby Kawaii

28 Feb

Chubby Kawaii
7/NOV/2009 on air

Plump women should enjoy fashion more!!

Anna Umemiya’s semi nude was shocking because she’s got the flab on her belly, neverthelss she’s been a well-known model. Whitney Thompson and Beth Ditto are also well-known as a chubby cute model/singer.

Chubby cuteness is becoming popular these days in Japan, too. Especially middle aged men are likely to find chubby women beautiful. Yamamoto-san, the chief editor to STORY magazine created the word “Motepuyo” 3 years ago, meaning moteru(=popular among men) puyopuyo(=chubby). “Plump women look beautiful!” That’s why Hiraguri-san, a dokumo to the STORY magazine is not as skinny as normal fashion models.

What was so fascinating about Hiraguri-san as to be chosen as a STORY model?
Q.1-What part of her body did Yamamoto-san, the chief editor like most?
A.1-It was the waist without curve. Believe it or not, there are men who like it.

Q.2-What are the 3 major points that men think beautiful for plump women to have?
A.2-butt, upper arm and decollete
But there is a big difference between “puyo” (plump but cute) and “buyo”(fat and ugly). If one tries to keep cuteness or beauty in some ways, it’s a Motepuyo woman. She may have complex and embarrassment against certain part of her body, but when she tries to make it look better, that’s the kind of woman men like. Collarbone under decollete can be observed whether she is fat or not. So it’s good to open this part if she wants to be looked slimmer than she actually is.

Morisanchu (森三中) is a Japanese comedian group from 3 plump girls. They are very cute and popular. Everytime they are on TV, they get a flood of inquiries from the audience about their chubby cute fashion. Tanaka-san is a stylist who supports them. She broke 4 basic fashion rules for the chubby girls intentionally.

4 basic rules for the chubby girls to follow so they look better. (in general)
1) The chubby should not wear pastel and primary colors, because that make them look swollen.
2) The chubby should not wear striped or polka-dot pattern, because that make them look wide.
3) The chubby should not wear mini length.
4) The chubby should not wear fluffy garments.

Tanaka-san broke all these basic rules, and that’s what Morisanchu are dressed. She even launched her original brand that is especially designed for the chubby girls who want to enjoy fashion proactively. Kasumi-chan is a sales assistant to the shop. She studies what kind of coordination can make the chubby girls look cuter everyday.

2 chubby girls get advice and they are made over with Forever 21 clothing. We tend to hide ugly parts of our body more and more, but the point is to notice the good parts of our body and emphasize that part.

Japanese market have not paid attention to the chubby customers so far. This results there are no kawaii designed items for them. Now many Japanese companies such as this lingerie brand started to target these people, asking what they want to buy at a development meeting. The chubby users know what they want more than anyone!

Kirin’s opinion:
Compared with the U.S for example, Japanese stores have very limited size ranges. S(36), M(38), and L(40) only at most of the places. I’ve been wondering how the outsized people cope with this. These days there are more size ranges but they are more small sizes, such as XS, XXS or too skinny jeans which I will never even put a leg in!! 😄
In Japan I always have to consider myself fat because of too many skinny girls around. I also feel tired of the notion that skinny is the best always. I expect our society to have more values that do not stick to a single absolute way, idea, thought, goal, and etc.
What do you think?

***There are archives of episodes listed under the page titled “Tokyo Kawaii TV” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.

14 Responses to “Chubby Kawaii”

  1. Cath February 28, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    OMG… of course I would like my decollete to be plump! Haha… Motherhood did really weird things to me. =( I lost most of the fats except this really HORRIBLE belly. Well… nothing good underwear cannot solve. Harhar…
    Heard about the tsunami… Thank God you guys are fine.

    • kirin March 1, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

      I see how motherhood is hard. I hear that breast-feeding makes moms really tired and sleepy. They can consume extra calories, I guess. :p

      Tsunami…? I was too busy to watch the news…(>_<;)

  2. Sparklewolfie February 28, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

    I am totally chubby size in Asia too T^T I wish there was more sizes!!

    • kirin March 1, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

      It was not like this10 years ago but I see young girls today are really very very skinny. The jeans they are wearing look like the ones for kids! I wonder how I can ever be skinny like that…(0_0)?

  3. Emily February 28, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    It's interesting to see what your guys over there consider to be "chubby" where it's average here in the States. The average American woman is a size 14 and wears a size 9 shoe. It's great to see that they've been making boots for women with larger legs. I hear a lot of complaint from the gals over here that they don't make boot calves large enough!

    I do think that mainstream fashion needs to lean more toward the more curvy women-the real woman, rather than the stick thin anorexic doll. Clothes look so much better on girls that fill them out!

    Kudos for the curvy girls!!

    • kirin March 1, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

      Nice comment. I totally agree with you. I had again a big question to see the "chubby girls" or "chubby models" in the episode because I don't think they are that chubby at all!

  4. Steven Stier February 28, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    Yes, skinny is the normal look in Japan. When I returned to the United States the first thing I noticed was how fat we Americans are. And to be honest I think that a little extra weight looks good on women. But, not too much. I think Japanese women stay so thin so they can look younger. And there is a social pressure to maintain a healthy body. I understand that some employers will even send overweight employees to a health club to loose weight. Which is good for their health. But very bad for self image. So there are arguments each way.

    I like the idea of being able to dress in a way that makes you comfortable with the body that you have. And if the clothes make you look younger and cuter than that is also great.

    Because of higher health risks. It would be a shame if Japanese people began to get fat like Americans. But , as a society they are so stressed, it seems a little relaxation in these areas would be a good thing. BTW You are absolutely not fat!

    • kirin March 1, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

      Oh…^ ^; thank you for telling me that I am not fat. But I always feel depressed among so many skinny jeans which I cannot even put my leg inside (it's stuck!). I don't want Japanese people to be very very fat. Health consciousness is a good thing for anyone to have. But I feel a bit tired of too skinny standard. Actually I am always tired of too well-regulated society with too much pressure and stress that this country has. I like more laid-back way…:p

  5. Gizmo March 1, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    It is good that the standard is changing, however… obesity should not be embraced, but a little flab in some places adds something! 🙂
    Yay for accepting people the way they are. 🙂

    • kirin March 1, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

      Of course, we should not embrace obesity, but accepting diversities and several values is a good thing. Yay~ b(^ ^)d

  6. Mink March 2, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    The "chubby" girls they made over would be considered skinny in the US. I'm average size for an American girl, but I'm afraid of going to Japan and being called "pocchari" or "debu" 😦 I'd probabaly just be called "dekai" because I'm 5'6" (168 cm), which I hear is the average hight for Japanese boys my age…

    • kirin March 3, 2010 at 9:41 am #

      I don't think these "chubby" girls are so chubby, either. I really feel tired of this strict standard. 😦
      I think Japanese men's average height is 170-175cm. I wish I were a bit taller…I have only 155cm. :p

  7. Mimi September 29, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    So the girls considered chubby were the ones in the black?

    • kirin September 29, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      I think Japanese girls think even a little bit fat is already chubby. I guess I'm considered chubby as well, because girls over here are so thin. >_<

Leave a Reply

