I'm back from Osaka!

24 Feb

I’ve been away to Osaka to see my grandma for a couple of days and I came back last night. My father is originally from Osaka, although no Osaka culture or Osaka dialect were shared with me who was brought up in Tokyo area. It’s always fun to hang around non-familiar places whether it’s inside or outside Japan. Again I find I like travelling!!

1st day -with local friend-

Osaka subway

Osaka subway~. If you’ve ever come to Osaka, you remember this. Compared with Tokyo subway, it’s very small and less complicated with less people. But I always felt that the ceilings, because they are not very high, somewhat gave me the feeling of pressure, nevertheless I am very short. I don’t think there should be much difference between the ones in Tokyo. I have no idea where that feeling came from.

Kani Dohraku

Kanidouraku! One of the most popular Doutonbori photo~.

Kuidaore doll

Kuidaore doll was there, even though the Kuidaore restaurant has been closed for a while.

Glico

These are all familiar symbols in Dotonbori. Especially the Kuidaore doll character with red and white bordered outfit is still popular even after Kuidaore restaurant was closed some time ago. I understand that. Osaka people would not want the restaurant go. People still love Kuidaore, and that’s why they keep the character left.

Ootako

My friend took me to the Ootako Takoyaki stand that is famous for its big lump of octopus inside Takoyaki.

Ootako 6 pcs for 300 yen

You don’t know Takoyaki? Here it is. A light snack with small pieces of octopus inside the dumplings with sauce and dried bonito flakes over them. I don’t eat Takoyaki usually because I don’t know what else I should eat it with. Only Takoyaki for meal is too little but with rice or noodle, it looks like too much carbohydrate…

Anyhow this day we had another carbohydrate after Takoyaki, that was Ramen at Kinryu. It was not too oily, not too heavy, and was good with some kimchi.

Kinryu Ramen

The atmosphere of the restaurant was…what to say? It was designed for men. What I miss in Osaka is nice cafe or restaurant with good atmosphere. The ramen is only 600 yen with a couple of Chinese-style barbecued pork, free kimchi and steamed rice as much as we want. No wonder men like it!

Interior was a bit odd but fun to explore. 🙂

Kinryu Ramen inside store

…to be continued to the next post. Stay tuned!

26 Responses to “I'm back from Osaka!”

  1. Troo February 24, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Fantastic! I hope you had a great time 🙂

    I'll be spending a week in Osaka next time I'm in Japan, so I eagerly await your next post!

    • kirin February 25, 2010 at 12:05 am #

      Compared with Tokyo, there are not many to look around in Osaka. The main area is only concentrated on a couple of train stations between Umeda and Nanba. But I found there were more Japanese restaurants than foreign ones.

      • Troo February 25, 2010 at 9:59 am #

        I'm looking to use Osaka as a base from which to head to places like Nara, Iga-Ueno, Hiroshima and such. Mind you, with the price of a JR Pass now those plans might have to be put on hold 😦

      • kirin February 28, 2010 at 12:26 am #

        I've never been to Hiroshima. I've been to Nara, Kyoto, and Kobe but only a few places of each. I really don't have enough experiences of travelling inside Japan.

  2. Patty February 24, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    It's so neat to see a Japanese local like yourself explore other parts of Japan, and show us some of the local favors. Thanks for sharing!

    • kirin February 25, 2010 at 12:11 am #

      Thank you! Actually I feel exactly the same as you just pointed out. I think I should add more posts on "Travel & Eat-out in Japan" (http://tokyokawaiietc.com/travel-in-japan) so you can see how a Japanese local like me explore Japan. 🙂

  3. Mia February 24, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    Oh, I hope you had a great trip! :3
    It's very fascinating to see the differences there is per region
    I enjoyed reading this post and I hope I can read more, I'm a fan of travel blogs you see 🙂
    The pictures are very neat too, Thanks for sharing! ^__^

    • kirin February 25, 2010 at 12:17 am #

      Thank you for your comment. As I LOVE travelling more than anything, one of my dreams in the near future is to start a travel blog. But that's when my major dream comes true that I keep travelling and make a living from online activities such as translation, writing, blogging or online investing from any cities in the world! I am now striving for the dream! 😄

      As for the photos, I realized my photos have been too small so far. I changed my style so I can show you large pics. 😉

      • Mia February 25, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

        That is a very wonderful dream. =)
        I wish you all the best in achieving it and will be very happy to see it come true! 😉
        I too am trying to achieve a somewhat similar dream! I wish to be a night photographer and take pictures of different cities at night. but as a college student, traveling is still a bit expensive so I am taking several part time work after school. I hope to see and take night photographs of tokyo someday ^_^

      • kirin February 28, 2010 at 12:22 am #

        Your dream sounds so cool! You explore many different cities, different views and different people with your camera. The more you travel, the more your career achievements gains. And you'll have all these great photos (works) of yours left after all. Ah~fantasctic!!!! Please never give up and someday if you ever have a chance to come to Tokyo, contact me! 🙂 All the best!

      • Mia February 28, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

        Thank you ^^ That would be lovely!!
        When I save enough for a trip to tokyo you'll be the first I'll contact!
        Hope that will be in the near future 🙂
        Oh! and that will be the same for you! if ever you plan to go to Canada just tell me! I'll be going there in 8 months to continue my studies in toronto since my mom lives there! (my mom is Canadian)
        I'd be glad to show you around, though I currently only know a few places since I've been going there during vacation atleast once every three years XP
        My current residence is with my dad here in the philippines (ehehe I'm a halfie) it's terribly hot so I don't know if you'd want to come here 😄

      • kirin March 1, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

        Oh~ you're such an international person. Thank you for telling me all these. Good luck for your study in Toronto. I've never been to either of the places yet. :p

      • Mia March 1, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

        Oh no, just those two places :$
        I wish you luck on your dreams as well kirin-san! 🙂
        Contact me if ever you plan to go to either one ^^

  4. will February 24, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    I never have been to Osaka before. I would love to go there some day. I heard that Osaka is a very nice place to visit.

    • kirin February 25, 2010 at 12:23 am #

      Yes, it's nice especially for eating, as people in Osaka are particular in their tastes.

  5. megan February 24, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    I missed seeing the Kuidaore doll when I was in Osaka, and I didn't get to eat takoyaki or okonomiyaki either…I will have to next time!

    • kirin February 25, 2010 at 12:25 am #

      Oh you should try Takoyaki or Okonomiyaki if you go to Osaka~! Please don't miss that next time. 😉

  6. Magdalena February 24, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    This company has great restaurants in Osaka!!
    http://www.ug-gu.co.jp/information/information.html
    Especially Christon Cafe is loooove and I also liked 12,6, next time I`m in Osaka I`m visiting the washoku ones too!! ❤ Try them, me and my girl friends loved them 🙂

    And takoyaki is yummmm
    I loved takoyaki in amemura sankakukouen 😀

    • kirin February 25, 2010 at 12:30 am #

      Thanks for sharing a link to nice restaurants!! I love interiors!
      We have Christon cafe in Shinjuku and Shibuya, too.

      I didn't go to Amemura this time. I will check that out next time if I have a chance to try it. 😉

  7. Syrix0 February 25, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Good to know that the Kuidaore doll is still there. I still need a photo with him lol. I like going to Tokyo but I wouldn't mind going back to Osaka again. Osaka gave me more of a "nature/spiritual" time along with Kyoto compared to Tokyo. In Tokyo I just walked everywhere to get everything in lol. I need to try that takoyaki place the next time I go :9.

    • kirin February 28, 2010 at 12:16 am #

      The Takoyaki place "Ootako" was located at Dotonbori, the main street where Kani Doraku, Kuidaore, and Kinryu Ramen were. I heard there'd be always a long line of people from the stand, so you won't miss it. 😉

  8. cin February 28, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    i'd love to go to osaka next! i have a friend that lives in kyoto and he's been bugging me to come hang out with him in osaka 😄

    • kirin March 1, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

      Sounds fun! It's the best thing to hang out with the locals! 🙂

  9. Shayna March 1, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    nice trip there! it’s nice to visit our grandparents every now and then. It’s a great way to get away from the city for a few days too. More of like taking a break or as what some Chinese would say, “take a fresh breathe”. Haha.

    Anyway, I always thought that Osaka is just a small village! Sorry for my ignorance.. 😛 didn’t know it’s quite a happening city after all..
    and oh ya, I love Takoyaki with real Tako. Nowadays they subsitute that with some local squid instead in my country.. 😦

    • kirin March 1, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

      Takoyaki without Tako(octopus) and replaced by Ika(squid)? o_0 That's weird…but you have Takoyaki in Malaysia…that's funny. You guys have many Japanese things out there!

      It was such a refreshing experience to me. I was free from work, housework, taking care of my dog, my husband, and all daily things I cannot ignore in my life in Tokyo. I wish I could get out of my daily life once in a while, more frequently~!!!

  10. nao June 7, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    I liked tables on the last photo. )))

Leave a Reply

