Rich Chinese shoppers in Japan

17 Feb

It’s Chinese New Year.
We have imported various elements of Chinese culture to Japan in our long history, but as for Chinese New Year, we don’t have a custom to celebrate it.
However it’s a big chance for the businesses that attract rich Chinese people.
Many Chinese and Taiwanese travel to Japan in this holiday season.

I wonder how it’d be like to shop whatever I want! ๐Ÿ˜„
They bring enough money to shop and play around Tokyo.
They like to stay at a luxurious room @57,000 per night from which Tokyo Tower can be observed close by. They are interested in clothing, cosmetics, electric appliances, and so on.

Their main purpose of visiting Japan is shopping, shopping, and shopping!! Onsen (hot spring), Tokyo Disney Land, skiing, meals follow but shopping is by far the best of all! Especially young people in their 20’s called 80ๅพŒ๏ผˆbaling hou) , who were born after 1980, raised under one-child policy are the most active consumers in China now.

Shiseido at Ginza Mitsukoshi set up their booth and prepare translators and Chinese staff from Shanghai Shiseido. The Chinese customers buy so many that they negotiate if they can have nice freebies instead of haggling to get the price down.

A woman buys 2 x Rolex watches as souvenir! The total cost will be around 800,000 yen (USD8000) Japanese rice cookers are very popular. Unlike Chinese ones, Japanese rice cookers have various settings (eg. soft steamed rice setting for the elder to choose). Each costs over 40,000 yen (USD 400) but Chinese tourists buy 2 or 3 of it at a time including souvenirs.

18 Responses to “Rich Chinese shoppers in Japan”

  1. Patty February 17, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    I think we see the indulgence side of these people and don't realize that they saved alot and don't eat out or go shopping in their home towns, so that they can afford to play and stay at the luxury places in Japan. Trust me, having been to Japan, it's not cheap, but if you work hard to earn the money, why not play hard and treat yourself for all the hard work you've done. I'm sure it's the same when Japanese comes to US, where the US dollar is weak and you can afford to buy more. Either way, I'm sure you've worked hard for the money you earned too, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin February 18, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

      Yeah, I see what you mean…but I also hear that there are many rich Chinese people nowadays. China has a big economic disparities between city area and countryside, between the rich and the poor.

  2. megan February 17, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    Geez, that's a ton of money! My rice cooker cost something like $30USD.

    • kirin February 18, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

      I didn't even know rice cooker can be purchased with that amount of money~! Japanese people stick to the better taste of steamed rice because we LOVE rice sooo much. We don't mind spending much money for rice cooker. I was very much surprised when I bought the current one a while ago. There was the rice cooker over USD1000 and most of all the others also cost more than USD500. I think I paid USD700 or so but the rice cooked with this cooker tastes extremely gooood. I can eat great taste of steamed rice even if I down grade rice quality. I love steamed rice a lot lot more than breads or noodles.

      • Phil February 19, 2010 at 12:43 am #

        This is very interesting. I have a Japanese (Panasonic) cooker with electronic controls that cost about $80USD. I really like it – it makes great rice. I wonder what a $500 cooker does or has that makes it cost so much more than mine.

      • kirin February 23, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

        I understand you, because when I had previous one, I was satisfied with it. It worked OK, so I thought same price range and same quality was enough. But my hubby studied reviews of rice cookers seriously and so we reached the current USD700 one. I was skeptical how different it was. As it turned out, it was different. Such difference may not be realized by those who do not eat Japanese rice daily, but there was apparently a big big difference. I totally got what that much money was for. Now I think rice I eat at home tastes better than most of any kinds of restaurant. It's that good! I often make frozen rice so I can microwave it. But this also tastes as if it were just cooked! I get to like steamed rice more than before, thanks to my rice cooker. ๐Ÿ˜€

      • megan February 19, 2010 at 2:01 am #

        That makes sense–you use it a lot, so you would want something of really good quality. ๐Ÿ™‚ I actually haven't cooked rice in my rice cooker yet (I haven't had it very long), I've only steamed vegetables. I've heard it's a good one though.
        I think most people in America would only spend that much money (as far as cooking goes) for something like an oven.

      • kirin February 23, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

        Steamed vegetables must be very good for health. I think rice cooker is something very special to us, because we eat rice more than breads or noodles.

  3. Emily February 17, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    Cool info!! I miss being able to go out shopping like that :p

    Hope you're doing well ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin February 18, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

      Thanks for the comment. I like shopping too~! I thought I'd lose interests when I get aged, but that didn't matter at all…haha ^ ^;

  4. Cath February 19, 2010 at 5:55 am #

    I have a Tefal and a Toshiba rice cooker. The Toshiba one uses more energy but the rice is DELICIOUS!
    Anyway, the Chinese are coming to Singapore for shopping too. The more the merrier I say! Haha… I don't like the fact that they're often loud and quite inconsiderate (bad experience at Disneyland Tokyo) BUT I like that they're not afraid of telling the lousy sales people off! Singapore needs to improve the standard of service. Ha!

    • kirin February 23, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

      I hear that some Chinese talk very loud…^ ^; maybe they are too energized? But they should respect other people, too.

      • Cath February 24, 2010 at 3:25 am #

        No, I think it's probably the way they were brought up. At least that's what my Chinese friend (and I do adore her) shared with me. There are millions of Chinese… if you don't fight for yourself, no one will notice your 'disappearance'. So yah… each for his own. And I fear, Singaporeans are becoming more and more self-centered.

      • kirin February 25, 2010 at 12:55 am #

        Oh~I see~. Thanks! I have less chances to talk with Chinese people in Japan. There are Chinese people but when they are legal, they receive high education, they speak good Japanese, and they do not behave like speak loud. I think Chinese people who legally stay in Japan are very smart. I only find difference from their pronunciation that is slightly different from ours, and their attitude to provide service that is less considerate than ours.

  5. Syrix0 February 23, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    I stayed in a hotel with a nice view of Tokyo Tower in my room on my recent Japan trip for only 79 USD a night lol. It was the Shinbashi Atagoyama Tokyu Inn. About a 12 minute walk from Tokyo Tower so it wasn't too far away.

    China's economy has grown quite fast in the recent years and as a result there is a rise in middle class so people have more money to spend. I hear Chinese people go to Japan to shop because its more expensive to buy luxury goods in China.

    Though I don't like how much big spending there is by younger people because it is most likely they never earned that money and just taking it from their parents. It corrupts the youth and everyone that follows them.

    • kirin February 25, 2010 at 12:49 am #

      That cheap at the hotel? You mean you shared the room with someone and so the total price per room is double USD79?

      It's however possible that those young Chinese people can earn good money because of their boost economy. When Japan went through high economic growth in 1955-1973, and then booming economy after that, my parents enjoyed increasing salary every year, even every month! Those lucky people born after 80's may be able to go through this period from now on…although it's not only good things.

      • Syrix0 February 25, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

        I actually booked my hotel through hotels.com and they were able to get me a pretty good deal for the room. I was in Tokyo by myself. Pretty good considering I only booked my hotel a few weeks before I left lol.

      • kirin February 28, 2010 at 12:28 am #

        No wonder it was that cheap! ^ ^ Hotels.com does a good job!
        I've used it, too when I traveled Italy and this time for my trip to Malaysia.

Leave a Reply

