Cat Cafe or Rabbit Cafe?

9 Feb

Speaking of most popular pet in Japan, it’s dog or cat. But rabbit is popular next to them. I knew Neko cafe (cat cafe) but I didn’t know Usagi cafe (rabbit cafe) is available today.

Rabbits goods store
Usagi-no-shippo

The rabbit cafe in the video
Usagi to Cafe

People keep rabbits because they are cute, but they don’t make a noise and they don’t smell much.
Rabbits can run so fast that they have to be kept on leash any time when we walk them outside. Clothes for rabbits? Yes, they are very sensitive to the cold. Clothes also prevent rabbits from ticks.

As I’m a dog-oriented person, I don’t know how to communicate well with cat. One of my friends keeps a rabbit, but that seems boring to me because the rabbit barely moves, especially since it has grown up. Keeping a dog is really tiresome. I have to walk her, wash her paws, and dry them every single day to keep her inside house. Rabbit will be easier…I can understand why rabbit is popular especially in the big city area. Many apartments in Japan do not allow the renters to keep pets. But who knows when rabbits don’t make a noise?

If you like cat or rabbit but you cannot keep them at your house, why don’t you spend some time with your favorite one at a cat cafe or a rabbit cafe? Well, that’s the story in Japan. First of all, do you have any kind of animal cafe in your city?

examples of cat cafe
Neko Cafe Club
Nekono Mahou
Nekorobi

The video is from a cat cafe, “Nekorobi”.

Rabbits and cats are so cute, too~!

23 Responses to “Cat Cafe or Rabbit Cafe?”

  1. Phil February 9, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    I don't know if there are any pet cafes in the U.S. like these. There are some restaurants for dogs, however. You bring your dog there and they serve a special meal to your dog. I'm not sure the dogs appreciate it as much as their owners, though!

    There are a few small hotels where they will give you a cat to stay with you in your room. For cat lovers away from home, they can have the companionship of a cat for the night!

    • kirin February 11, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

      Hi Phil. Thanks for your comment. As for dog and cat, we have exactly the same service in Japan. It's strange but when we say dog cafe, that refers to a cafe to which we can bring our dogs, while when it comes to cat cafe, that's not where we bring our cats.

      Pet hotels and accomodations for us to stay with our pets are also very popular in Japan.
      I've been to hot spring with my dog. ^ ^; (She was too scared to enjoy her hot spring then.)
      http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/1597

  2. Gizmo February 9, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

    I would love to go to an animal cafe! We don't have any in America, that I know of at least…!
    There ought to be one for hamsters!

    • kirin February 11, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

      ^ ^ for hamsters…cuuute! I used to keep them when I was a small kid. I used to live with many pets.

  3. Sparklewolfie February 9, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    I have a rabbit!! I think the rabbit cafe is so cute!

    • kirin February 11, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

      Rabbit cafe is not very popular in Tokyo yet, but if I have a chance, I want to try! I was almost forgetting that I used to keep a rabbit when I was…around 5 years old. Its (I don't remember it was he or she) eyes were red and so it was weak and died very soon. I forgot this probably because it died so soon. 😦

  4. Yuria February 9, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    Kawaii! where in Tokyo can you find clothes for your rabbits or cats? You know any good shop?
    I'm going to Tokyo soon with my friend, and this just looked so adorable i just want to buy some ^-^ Thank you for having a great page!

  5. Jenny February 10, 2010 at 3:38 am #

    I had no idea bunny cafes existed too!! AWWWW~ I wish these things existed in the US. Most pet stores won't even let you pet the animals anymore. ;_;

    • kirin February 11, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

      I look forward to more different kind of fun cafes coming. ^ ^

  6. happyichigo February 10, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    wow..fun idea..i heard also about neko cafe, but usagi cafe, cute too!

    • kirin February 11, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

      neko = cat neko cafe is already very popular (but I've never been there yet), but usagi cafe is quite new!

  7. Diyana February 12, 2010 at 4:29 am #

    Oh! My local news channel showed the video on the usagi cafe before. I'd so love to work in such cafe!

    • kirin February 13, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

      Oh really? ^ ^; You knew that already! Wow!!

  8. Megan February 12, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    Actually rabbits are very energetic, they like to play and are so curious but of course you have to have a big cage. And you need to let them out in your appartment everyday at least two hourse . Mine will sometimes run, sometimes jumps, she fell behind furnitures after climbing on them (I am not strict ^^) She likes blankets materials, so she has a lot of them , but never sleeps under like other rabbits I saw on internet. i like watching a show with her she will take a nap next to me. Rabbits are very cute and very fun. When it is hot she goes on the terrace but sometimes ends up on the neighbourg terrace so I have to call and she comes back. Rabbits needs exercise , they are very clean animals, and very sweets. I would not go in an usagi cafe cause I went to a cat cafe and they were like on drugs and no more nails did not like it at all.

    • kirin February 13, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      Thank you for sharing your story with your rabbit! I now understand why the one I saw at my friend's house didn't even move. I never heard that my friend takes her rabbit out of the cage to do exercises. That's why the rabbit got so fat and looked heavy. It stayed still in the cage just like a figure or something every time I visited her house.

      That's why I thought it was boring to keep a rabbit. I wonder how it'd be like to have a dog (Pi-chan) and a rabbit together? Do they get along? It'll be so much fun if I can keep several different kinds of animal at once and we all get along each other just like a big family. ^ ^ It's just my fantasy~!

  9. Megan February 14, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    I know in my country people have both and it goes alright but I would be too scary that my dog hurts my rabbit trying to play with it ^^" And some animals do not get along because they get jealous. My friend had a rabbit a dog and hamsters and they dog was always following her barking when she was taking care of the other animals XD

    A good friend for a rabbit is a guinea pig they can stay in the same cage. But usually they recommend two females or one male one female. Two males cannot stand each other. But I like to have only one now. I can spoil my pet hehe ^^

    • kirin February 15, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      Oh I see, that's possible. Pi-chan gets jealous… ^ ^;
      I hear that 2 male dogs do not get along either.

      I am quite interested in animal communication. I want to have an animal communicator between Pi-chan and me and have her translate what Pi-chan wants to say to me. ^ ^

  10. kat June 22, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    everyone go there! this is my cousin's close friend opening the cafe. please go there if you can!

  11. Sam October 17, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Im hoping that it isnt only kittens that they have. What do they do with them when they grow up? Wouldnt be good if they only have kittens and then they get rid of them would it.
    Im not to sure about that….I hope they vet people very carefully if they are having cats stay in rooms with strangers…..not so good.

  12. Samantha October 17, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    Okay. Nice thought but I am concerned about two things. Do they only have kittens and young animals and what happens to them when they grow up are they just got rid of?
    Also I dont think it a good idea if people that are total strangers are hiring a cat for a night….they need to be vetted to see if they are responsible and nice.
    Just a thought

    • kirin October 18, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

      Hi Sam,

      Good point you just mentioned. I've never thought of the day when they grow up old…I wish the owner start the cat cafe business considering that case. BTW, it should be stressful for the cats to be touched by so many strangers all the time. I once saw animals open for playing with kids at a zoo, and it was shocking many of those animals were loosing fur/hair at a part of their body, which I assumed from stress…:(

      Thank you for sharing your thought.
      Kirin

  13. Liyu April 16, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

    Rabbits aren't VERY sensitive to cold. More worried should you be with a rabbit in the heat. They can grow thicker and denser fur for the winter to keep warm, but they can't shed all their fur in the summer when they're hot.

    Rabbits are very nervous animals, putting them in clothes can panic them to the point where they can have a heart attack.

    Picking up rabbits is also a nono. Most rabbits hate being picked up. (Although, yes, there are a few exceptions.)

    Also, don't say they're boring, you've obviously never owned a rabbit before. (I'm a rabbit lover and owner.) They are just like cats and dogs. They have their own personality and can be extremely entertaining, and that has nothing to do with them being an adult or not.

    This is not to be offensive or anything, but please do your research before you post false information.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

