Konkatsu Party Hoppers and Awkward Guys

4 Feb

Japanese singles say that they want to get married but they cannot find a good partner. This is becoming a social problem today, and many of them work harder to meet someone to tie the knot. Work…what? Konkatsu! Activity for marriage!

According to the statistics, one out of 2 singles of the age between 30 and 34 is not married. In fact, many of my friends are serious about Konkatsu. Some take cooking classes, matchmaking parties every weekend, and always ask me to introduce someone to them. I have no idea why they have to struggle so much because they are all nice & kawaii girls to me.

Herbivore men may need to be more active to meet women. Some of them are too shy to talk to women. Anyhow Konkatsu-related businesses are growing in Japan thanks to those people. You know most of Japanese people are very shy and so they need someone to conduct the situation for smooth communication with strangers.

Here’s a sample video that introduces a man who takes a lesson “how to make Omiai (blind date) successful” at a Konkatsu agancy.

Konkatsu lessons

cooking lessons (@5,000yen)
styling fee (10,000yen/month)
party (5,500yen)…Usually men have to pay way more than women.

GREEN single’s bar (Konkatsu bar)

Major Konkatsu-matching agents
Onet
Bridal Net
SunMarie
Nozze
zwei

However, some women pay more attention to the requirements to her partner such as how much he earns yearly and they repeat hopping Konkatsu parties one after another to expect next one should be better. Well…it depends, but I think that marriage is give and take. A man and a woman help each other.

I have a friend about 40 years old who joins one or two of the above agencies. She dated several guys but she was so much disappointed to hear they asked her to stay at home, do things around him to support him so he can concentrate on his work. How outdated these guys are! They should stay with their mom forever~!!

Is Konkatsu sort of activity popular in your country, too?

16 Responses to “Konkatsu Party Hoppers and Awkward Guys”

  1. Patty February 4, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I think the closest that comes to what you described is speed dating. One of my friend had such business, which you date 10 people for 6 minutes each. That way, if that person is boring, it's only 6 minutes. If that person is interesting, you put his name down on the match list. If that person puts you down, then you have a match. Then, the agency will exchange your info for the two of you. I think that works for some people, but some don't. I met my husband online, that one has better success for me and my friends than the speed dating.

    • kirin February 8, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

      If you call that speed dating, ours is like 2 minutes. ^ ^;
      I have joined it a few times with my friend, but no~ it didn't work for me. I met my hubby at work. :p

  2. courtney February 4, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    We dont have Konkatsu over here… as far as i know anyway… but i know it seems to be a big thing over in Japan. I myself find the whole Marraige thing unnecessary but i can also see it from other peoples points of views 🙂

    After watching the first 2 Episodes of the JDrama Konkatsu! i do feel like Konkatsu takes all the romance out of finding that special someone… but hey what can you do… I suppose if you want to be married you wont mind that sort of stuff. (then again weather the JDrama was based to true facts or not i dunno lol)

    • kirin February 8, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

      I didn't watch that drama, (I have no chance to watch any TV dramas, so I believe you know better than I do. :p ) but I hear it was not very popular in Japan after all.

      There are people who don't care about marriage until they get pregnant. (In Japan babies between unmarried couples have disadvantages at several aspects, which is totally unlike other modern countries such as France, for example.)

  3. RMilner February 4, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    In Britain we have speed dating where you can meet 10 people in an hour for only 3 minutes each.

    People are not worried about getting married. Lots of people live together without being married.

    • kirin February 8, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

      That's the ideal way! As mentioned above, married couple and unmarried couple are treated very different under Japanese law. Maybe our government is so old fashioned that those who don't want to follow old customs do not get married, and this has made our society today, I mean, low birthrate and high longevity. 😦

  4. Steven Stier February 4, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    I believe computer dating is on the rise in America. But, finding interesting women is not a problem. Just like Japan the real problem seems to be men are too shy or busy to try to find a wife. There are dating services that will match you up to your "Perfect Mate" but they don't have a reputation for being very helpful. And there is also "speed dating". You meet a dozen or so potential dates. You talk for about 1 minute then move on the the next person.

    • kirin February 8, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

      Oh…only 1 minute ^ ^; that's too short to know the person, isn't it?

  5. matt February 4, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

    I think it is interesting that the girls care about how much a guy makes. That means they believe he should fulfill his role as providing for the family. Why do they get disappointed when he expects them to fulfill their role of cooking cleaning and taking care of the kids? This isn't just a problem in Japan. I think it happens in industrial countries where male and female roles aren't clearly defined as they were in the past. Maybe it is harder for Japanese people to tell each other what they want when they first meet ?

    • kirin February 8, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

      I think some people insist on too many for men but they offer too less. LOL
      I feel it very strange why these women always require men higher salary than theirs? If she can earn a good amount of money, her husband can do household affairs more. It's just the same thing. Husband and wife is a unit and they are team to grow together. That's how I think.

      Anyhow even if income is the first criteria to choose a partner, we would not be able to say that in his face, especially at the first date…I guess, but I think it depends. :p

  6. Dezzy February 5, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    In Germany theres nothing exactly matching it but dating websites seem to get really big here. There are so many commercials on TV -.-! I dont know how many people actually use it though. I heard its like that in Japan but its interesting to actually read about it and to get some real life examples!

    xx

    • kirin February 8, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

      I thought such service was skeptical at first, but I met a couple who got married thru one of dating websites. They look really happy and I'm happy for them! ^ ^

  7. Rune February 7, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Here in Denmark we also have rising singles rates and from the debate. I find from the debate on the issue that the problem for the genders are as follows:

    Women are reluctant to settle on mr. Good-Enough but keep searching for an ever more unrealistic mr. Right, who should have all the good sides of a fantasy prince and previous partners and none of the flaws.

    Men are reluctant to give up the individualistic lifestyle of a young adult. They are not so critical of the partner, but are not good at compromising in the relationship with regards to nights drinking with buddies, playing videogames etc.

    • kirin February 8, 2010 at 1:33 pm #

      I totally understand that. You explain things very well. Things are very similar over here. Single life is not boring or lonely, yet it's quite comfortable. I sometimes miss being a single…hahaha!

  8. n a n d a April 15, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    Is it the same thing like goukon party? =/

    • kirin April 17, 2010 at 5:24 am #

      Oh yes, you know Goukon? lol

Leave a Reply

