Yummy! Japanese hot pot!!

25 Jan

I’ve posted about hot pot cuisine (nabe ryori) sometimes before, but this TV show is introducing variety of hot pot cuisine, especially supported by the locals in Japan.

As you see, there are many reasons that we like to eat hot pot in this (autumn – winter) season.
-It’s tasty.
-It’s good for health. We can have many kind of vegetables.
-We get all warmed up when we eat it.
-We feel close to each other by sharing a hot pot.
-We can choose from variety of soup, ingredients, and “Shime” (whether rice or noodle or what?)
and so on…
Ah, now you see how I ate the collagen hotpot with a lump of collagen. The collagen lump will be totally melt in a soup, and you will eat it up when you eat rice or noodle afterwards because it absorbs the soup.

Some examples of “Shime” (=to finish) from the TV.
Eating Udon for “Shime” is very common, and we do this often when we eat it at home, too.
udon'

Eating spaghetti for “Shime” is not an authentic Japanese way, but this looks good as long as the noodle is kept “al dente” and not too soft.
pasta
Eating Ojiya (steamed rice and raw egg to make something like congee) is very orthodox and common. We do this quite often at home, too.
ojiya
This must be yummy! Regardless of curry taste, cheese and Ojiya is a good combination.
risotto
I want to try this restaurant or this one in this season and if I do, I’ll share my experience in this blog. πŸ™‚

Which hot pot looks good to you? Do you have a nice hot pot cuisine in your country that you may want to share with us? I have no idea how common hotpot is in other countries. If it’s as common as in Japan, I’d like to try some foreign hotpot too, if I have a chance! :p

20 Responses to “Yummy! Japanese hot pot!!”

  1. Ilaria January 25, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Is Oyakodon considered hot pot too? ("don" means pot, isn't it?)
    I cook it sometimes, it really like it!
    I like Udon too, but I usually eat it out.
    Maybe I should try to cook spaghetti in this way!!!
    Ojiya seems to be easy and fast to cook! Must try this too!!!
    Thanks for sharing!!

    • kirin January 26, 2010 at 12:14 am #

      No, Oyakodon is not hot pot. "Don" is not soaked in a soup. It's a rice and something over it, right? We have Oyakodon (chicken and egg), Tendon (Tempura), Unadon (Unagi), Katsudon (deep fried pork), Kaisendon (seafood) and many kind of "don"s, you know. They are considered just "don" and is quite different from hot pot. Don is from "Donburi", or the bowl that has enough depth to have rice in. πŸ˜‰

      I love Donburi cuisine, too!

      • Ilaria January 26, 2010 at 7:11 am #

        Thanks Kirin!
        I'm always learning something new!
        πŸ˜€

  2. sparklewolfie January 25, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    hot pot is the best! my mom and I had hot pot yesterday :3 it makes you so warm which is great in winter!

    • kirin January 26, 2010 at 12:15 am #

      What kind of hot pot was it? Do you have the similar kind of hot pot? I'm curious. :p

  3. sparklewolfie January 26, 2010 at 12:51 am #

    it was little personal hot pots we had at home πŸ™‚ Mommy brought it back from Taiwan!

    We just had seafood and noodles – very yummy!

    • kirin January 27, 2010 at 12:54 am #

      Seafood and noodles, sounds good! Thanks! πŸ™‚

  4. Riko January 26, 2010 at 3:58 am #

    HiKirin! Thanks for sharing!
    I have tried Udon before…but Ojiya, nope but it looks tasty. haha..
    I like japanese food like okonomiyaki and teriyaki donburi. πŸ˜€ love it a lot.
    Well, i think a common hot pot in my country (malaysia) is probably the "steambot". It's pretty much the same as the concept of hot pot, cause we threw in all the veggies, meats in a bowl of hot soup. You can have the soup in spicy flavour aka tom yam (that's what they called it, he he) or the original flavour meaning "not spicy". and some can grill the meat, but some restaurants don't have this.

    • kirin January 27, 2010 at 12:59 am #

      AH that maybe close to "Tom yum goong" in Thailand? It sounds like you have spicy foods in Malaysia. Hope I can survive there… :p (I cannot eat spicy foods very much.)

      • Riko January 29, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

        haha..yes, malaysia is full of spicy food too, but there are varieties of food here. just watch out for nasi lemak..nasi lemak is spicy, but some are not that spicy. i love nasi lemak. hehe…consists of rice, chicken, some anchovies, egg, and 'sambal'.

        πŸ™‚

      • kirin January 31, 2010 at 2:13 am #

        Thanks for telling me that, Riko. OK, I'll watch out for nasi lemak. XD

  5. If it comes in pink January 26, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    mm…yummy, I like the first two ones!

    • kirin January 27, 2010 at 1:09 am #

      Actually the video shows ranking from 10 to 1 (No.10 and 1 are missing) but I don't think no.9 is inferior to no.2, for example. They all look yummy and it really depends which one he or she likes, I think. :p

  6. Jeremy Fox May 5, 2011 at 4:16 am #

    Ive never had the pleasure of having a ho pot. It looks really yummy though and Im going to find a place that has them or going to try it at home. I think number 4 looked the best yum.

    • kirin May 6, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      Hot pot is so good. You should definitely try it! ^_^

  7. Jude Walter July 18, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    They look very delicious! I want to try Japanese food one of these days! Is there a Japanese restaurant that you would like to recommend?

    • kirin July 22, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

      If you are looking for an authentic, very expensive Japanese kappou or ryotei, I have no experience, sorry. But if casual one is OK, have you tried Izakaya? There are many Izakaya in Japan. Some have really cool interior and food. It's a place you can drink and eat and totally relax!

  8. Nicole July 26, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    It all looks good and yummy to me! I would like to try cooking this healthy and delicious hot pot food with a mixture of sea foods, vegetables and tofu in it. Looking forward to an enjoyable meal with my family!

    • kirin July 27, 2011 at 7:21 am #

      Right! Hot pot is quite healthy and we can take a lot of vegetables at a time. It sometimes happen that I cannot stop farting (excuse me!) after I eat it with a lot of veggies. (#^_^#) Of course, when one suffers from constipation, hot pot is a good remedy!

  9. Kathy August 25, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    One of my favorite things to eat is so simple that it will make you smile. I love to eat big salads, and add things like steak and salmon so my family will get enough protein in their diets.

    One simple trick I use to "spice up" our salads is to crush up a packet of Ramen Noodles over the salad. It is so yummy, and my husband literally went to the store to get Ramen the other day when we were about to eat. You definitely need to try it, I think if more people knew about it, it would catch on in restaurants and salad bars.

    Have a blessed day, Kathy

Leave a Reply

