I'm planning to go to Malaysia!

23 Jan

At a moment, I’m planning to go to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia somewhere in March. I’ve noticed that many of my blog readers are from Malaysia, and I’ve been interested in the country. But I never thought the chance would come so soon.

This time, my purpose is half for business and another half for fun. I will stay there a week or so…if possible. If any of you have been a reader of this blog and are interested in seeing me in person in Kuala Lumpur, this is a good chance!

I have to arrange my trip, read a guidebook, prepare for what I should see and study there, and so many things to make my short stay useful. Please advise me or give me tips about Kuala Lumpur if you are familiar with the city, or if you have travelled there. Your comments or emails are very much appreciated!

Thanks! ^ ^

44 Responses to “I'm planning to go to Malaysia!”

  1. I Love Snackfood January 23, 2010 at 2:21 pm #

    hey there! I'm a Malaysian who started following your blog to prep for my tokyo trip. i just got back from tokyo and it's super cold!
    you can ask me anything, if i can be of any help!

    • kirin January 24, 2010 at 11:55 am #

      Hahaha…was it super cold over here? This year it snows more than usual, but not yet in Tokyo. Winter is supposed to be this cold in Japan. Of course if you go up to north, you'll find it's freezing, and if you go down to Okinawa, it's warm.

      Thank you for offering me your help. 🙂 I will have to read my guidebook to study…^ ^;

  2. Sara Mari January 23, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    Oh I've never been to Malaysia so I can't offer any tips, but that is so exciting! I hope you will have a lot of fun there and write about it on your blog ^^

    • kirin January 24, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

      This will be the very first trip to Malaysia, and I really have no idea what the place is like… :p But yeah, I hope I can make it something goood to remember. I hope I wouldn't be too busy to take photos…^ ^;

  3. CLF January 23, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    welcome to Malaysia!!
    well you can check out the Petronas Twin Towers (known as KLCC by the locals), and then the Golden Triangle at “Bukit Bintang” (star hill) district. else, there’s the China Town at Petaling Street.
    asking for directions can be easy as most can speak English.

    • kirin January 24, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

      Thank you so much for the details. I can only recognize KLCC now, but I'll study my guidebook to understand what you mean here…hahaha! It's good that I can communicate the local people in English.

  4. andi deris January 23, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    hi kirin,
    you should visit klcc,kl tower and putrajaya

    • kirin January 24, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

      Putrajaya? Oh…another new one I should check out! ^ ^ Thank you for your advice!

  5. walter January 23, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Oooh! Can I carry your suitcase and shopping bags ? If I start driving now, I should get there by March , I think.
    Be careful and have fun 😉
    :@ I'm so jealous.

    • kirin January 24, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

      Ahahaha! You make me laugh! But thank you for your comment. I never thought I would go to Malaysia this year, but it turned out to be so. Don't be jealous. I know when you travel Japan, that'll be an awesome trip. 😉

  6. Cath January 24, 2010 at 12:30 am #

    Oh!!! That's so near to Singapore! Let me know when exactly. Maybe I can try to drive up to meet you! And on the other hand, I'll probably visit Tokyo again at the end of the year. n_n

    • kirin January 24, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

      You tell me something very interesting~! Malaysia and Singapore are so close? Would it be a long distance bus or train between these countries? If it's not a big deal for me to go out of Malaysia to enter Singapore, why not? I have someone I want to see in Singapore if I had a chance. If I visit Singapore too, I could see you, too, Cath.

      I didn't think anything like this without your comment! Please tell me how easy it is to travel between Malaysia and Singapore? I really have no idea about these countries. ^ ^;

      • Riko January 24, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

        Hi Kirin. Yes Kirin, Singapore and Malaysia are close to each other. You can travel by flight from KL to Singapore, or if you go down south more further to Johore..:) cause Johore and Singapore are very very close. You can travel by bus from Johor to Singapore too :), if you want more adventure. hehe! I've nvr been to Singapore nor Johore, but man I wish I can visit Singapore one day! Malaysia is close to Thailand too. 🙂

      • Cath January 25, 2010 at 4:07 am #

        Thanks Riko.
        You can fly over in an hour, or take the train, or a coach. I think it can be easily arranged at your hotel. I'll try to check for the details if you're really interested. If you have time, you can also fly over to Thailand! n_n

      • kirin January 25, 2010 at 11:40 pm #

        Thank you, Cath. I will ask at a travel agancy, too. It'll be faster and safer if I take a flight, but it'll be fun if I can watch people and towns from windows in a bus. Thank you also for your link at the shoutbox. 🙂

      • kirin January 25, 2010 at 11:37 pm #

        Thank you, Riko. Now I understand why some people try to have a round trip in south east asia. Maybe if I have a chance to come over to Malaysia again, I'll combine a trip to Thailand then as I've never been there, either.

  7. Patrick January 24, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    It'll be nice to see you in Malaysia, though I won't be the best guy to bring you around, but maybe we can meet up! =)

    • kirin January 24, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

      Patrick, are you also from Malaysia? My memory is confused and I cannot remember who was from where…:p Thank you for your comment, and yes, if the schedule allows us, we can meet up! Thank you. ^ ^

      Oh~ I'm so excited, I have so many things to do there…

      • Patrick January 24, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

        Yea, but I'm not really good with giving advice about interesting places though. But I might chance a meeting with you if I'm free.. =)

  8. I Love Snackfood January 24, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Check out Jalan Alor for the yummy street food! You won't miss that because it's a street behind Jalan Bukit Bintang, near the shopping district. And if you have time to spare, take a bus to Malacca. It's rich with Portuguese heritage. A very quaint city,

    • kirin January 25, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

      Jalan Alor? OK, I'll take a note. Thank you for telling me that. I'll try it. It's so nice if I could also have a bus tour to Malacca… it looks like I need more money and time than I thought at the beginning… ^ ^;

      • shayna January 26, 2010 at 10:32 am #

        yeah… if u're adventurous.. you could try the famous "frog meat" porridge! hahah
        it's very yummy and most of my japanese friends loved it.

      • kirin January 27, 2010 at 1:20 am #

        OMG! Frog~? That's very exotic!! But I've heard of it that it tastes like chicken. ^ ^;

  9. I Love Snackfood January 24, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    And check out this link. KLue is our local town lifestyle magazine and it's probably the best source of where and what is happening in town for that month. From arts to flea market to the night scene around the city. http://www.klue.com.my

    • kirin January 25, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

      OH—, thank you so much for the link. I am pretty much interested in the local thing! Flea market…sounds good~!

  10. Riko January 24, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    oh, kirin did you get my previous comment?

  11. Lily January 25, 2010 at 1:26 am #

    You're going to enjoy the hot weather for sure!

    • kirin January 25, 2010 at 11:42 pm #

      Hot weather! From Japan where it's in the middle of winter season… haha…I hope my body would not be surprised too much at the big difference. XD

  12. Robert-Gilles January 25, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Have a nice trip!
    I noticed a few friends there!
    Cheers,
    Robert-Gilles (ロベル)

    • kirin January 26, 2010 at 12:02 am #

      Thank you~! I'm glad that many of my blog readers are so kind as to give me advice and tips on my trip to Malaysia!

  13. Nana January 25, 2010 at 11:46 am #

    Hi! welcome to malaysia. Since you like DIY, you should take this chance to try making "Batik". Batik is malaysia's traditional fabric.

    • kirin January 26, 2010 at 12:08 am #

      Aha! Actually I took a glance at a Batik art on my guidebook and I have been curious. I wish I could stay there like a month or so…XD
      I found the dog hotel for my Pi-chan to stay while I travel costs the same amount of money per night as the money I will pay for the hotel per night in Malaysia. XD I could have travelled longer if I didn't have Pi-chan. But with her, I have to consider 3000 yen per night for dog hotel in Japan in addition to my staying cost in Malaysia! (@_@;)

      • Nana January 30, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

        A simple Batik making will only takes 2-3 hours to be done. I always bring my japanese friends to make it and all of them love it very much. If you would like to try too, I can bring you there! =)

      • kirin January 31, 2010 at 2:34 am #

        Thank you Nana. But I'm afraid if I can have time for that, especially now I'm considering to travel to Singapore too. :p

  14. shayna January 26, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    hi kirin! i got a shock when I saw ur post title! hahahhah
    I'm so happy if you're really coming to KL!!
    Can we meet up? =)

    as other readers mentioned above, those are the famous places to visit to and of course, you can't miss out our varieties of food! hahaha..

    • kirin January 27, 2010 at 1:18 am #

      Hi shayna! Are you located somewhere close to KL? If you are available then, let's meet up! I will plan my schedule from now on. Please feel free to email me personally so we can discuss more, if you are pleased.

  15. Tanya January 28, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    Hi Kirin, hajimemashite.
    My name is Tanya, and your blog is awesome! 🙂 Cho kawaii!

    I'm in Indonesian living in Jakarta. My husband and I lived in Tokyo n Chiba from 2003 – 2008. if there's any chance for you to visit Jakarta as well, please contact me.. I'll be very happy to see you !
    Have a nice trip 🙂

    • kirin January 28, 2010 at 11:42 am #

      Hi Tanya, hajimemashite and thank you for your comment!
      You've lived in Chiba for 5 years? Wow…that's interesting. I've never been to Jakarta. I've only been to Bali in Indonesia. Thank you for your offer. Please feel free to contact me or leave me a comment! (^ ^)/~~

  16. Yin February 2, 2010 at 4:07 am #

    Ah! too bad I'm currently in the states studying because I'm a malaysian and I could have bring u around. 😦

    • kirin February 2, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

      Oh, it's nice of you to say that to me, which already is enough to me. Thank you. 😀
      I understand you must be busy studying. It's OK.

  17. charlene February 22, 2010 at 1:11 am #

    you might want to come down to singapore too! its nearby, you can take a bus down as well
    while in malaysia, kl, do visit the twin towers, do a little shopping at KLCC and have some malay local fare!
    if you do come down to singapore, let me know!

    • kirin February 23, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

      I'm planning to come down to Singapore. Please contact me thru contact form (contact page of this blog) if you want to discuss further with me on this. 😉

  18. Tawwei February 27, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    I love that there're foreigners who are interested in visiting my home country – Malaysia. Because it's simply an awesome place with lots of beautiful natural sceneries.

    Other than Kuala Lumpur, I recommend Georgetown and Malacca!

    Anyway I'm currently studying in Hong Kong.

    • kirin February 28, 2010 at 12:30 am #

      This time I only can go to Kuala Lumpur, but if I have another chance, I'll try other cities, too! Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

