"Just-wrap-it" Diet is hot in Japan now.

19 Jan

makudake diet
*Disclaimer: The original content is quoted from MSN Japan.

Have you heard that it’s a distortion of a body that makes us fat!?
Even if you don’t care about fat or overweight, you’re not happy to live with stiff shoulders, backache, or constipation, are you?
First of all, you can learn if your body is distorted or not. If your answer is yes to any one of the followings, then your body (especially pelvic bone) is very possibly distorted.

test 1
-Somehow the skirt you are wearing turns round while you walk.
-Only one side (inside or outside) of the soles of your shoes worn out.
-You have severe menstrual pain.
-You sleep on your stomach, or on your side.
-You’ve been told that your face looks asymmetry.

If you have one or more of Yes to above, your body is distorted!
(Sadly I am!)
Now how about another test?

test 2
Stand in front of a full-length mirror, close your eyes and step there for 10 seconds.
Then open your eyes, trying to keep relaxed, but quickly check if the hight of the followings are located in good balance.

-the eyebrows
-the ears
-the shoulders
-the knees
-and the length of the arms.

So what can you do to the distortion and lose weight (fat) after all?
That’s what Makudake diet (巻くだけダイエット) is for.
Only wrap a band around your sidebone to set the pervic bone right positioned, and wait for 3 minutes! Do this everyday, and one month later you will find you have lost 2-3kg, according to them.

This is Makudake diet and is very hot now in Japan now!
But as long as I check the book review from Amazon.co.jp, it’s just OK…
But if you are interested in, the photo below is from the book.
makudake exercise

I remember long time ago, it got popular to band tape around fingers and lose weight. I tried that, but I could not keep that because at work I had to show my fingers in front of our customers. To continue that diet method, the best thing was to do that as long hours as possible. When we spend most of time at work, how could I keep that? Then I stopped it.

BTW, do you remember my post about rubbing fat to move it to the breasts? One of my friends kept doing that and she said to me, it really worked!!

Is there any diet that is very popular in your country? Anything that you recommend or share with us? What do you think of low-carbohydrate diet? I once went successful with it, but since I heard it’s not effective to stop eating enough amount of rice and instead eat meat well, I stopped my diet and got fat again…:(

25 Responses to “"Just-wrap-it" Diet is hot in Japan now.”

  1. Ilaria January 19, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Is really possible losing weight only banding tape around fingers??
    Blood type diet is popular lately here in Russia (in Italy too), and I've heard something about a DNH diet….
    I don't like diets, it's better make some sport.
    Mens sana in corpore sano!

    • kirin January 19, 2010 at 11:18 pm #

      The fingers' one was very popular then, but I don't know if it really works or not because I couldn't continue it.
      The best thing is diet and sport at the same time. In this way we don't have to lose muscles.

  2. Caitlin January 19, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    Are you supposed to just wrap your pelvis and then lay there for three minutes or are you supposed to twist around like she seems to be doing in the pictures?

    • kirin January 19, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

      It's said, just wrap the pelvis while we brush teeth or while we do anything (so no need to lie down). But if we also do the exercise as in the photo, that's more effective. Our body find it loaded when pelvis is pressured like that, and even light exercise is perceived as heavy one, according to the article.

      But I don't know the detail, because it's not that I experienced this. I'm just introducing it. But I'm sure I'll share my experience if I try it out.

  3. Sparklewolfie January 20, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    That is a strange diet! In America I think every single type of diet is popular. Weight Watcher's, low-carb, low-fat, low-cal, raw food diet, whole food diet, whatever!

    I got lazy with the rubbing fat to breasts trick, and only did it for a few weeks… now I think I will try it again! If not to make my breasts bigger, but just to get rid of the extra fat under my arms T^T Does it work for thighs too? haha my stomach and thighs are my fat problem area 😦

    In Taiwan I saw an advertisement for a type of custom corset-style clothing item that basically compresses your body very tight from underbust to mid-thigh. My aunt got one made (expensive!), and you are supposed to wear it for a few hours a day and it will make you thinner. I think that it just would make you not want to eat because it feels so tight @_@ Maybe that is how it works! haha….

    • kirin January 22, 2010 at 12:27 am #

      This diet is based on chiropractic.
      As for the rubbing fat thing, she writes a book, which I read, and says she rubs thighs to move the fat into the hips speaking to the fat "you belong to here!" (you don't have to speak out, but in your mind…you know.)

      Controlling undergarment is available in Japan, too. But I think it's too tight to be put on everyday. I wonder if people can keep wearing it years to come.

      • Sparklewolfie January 22, 2010 at 12:32 am #

        I already have a big butt T^T Haha but that is interesting!

        I have the controlling undergarment that is meant to just help you look thinner under your clothes, but I don't wear it a lot either… ^^; But the kind my aunt got is supposed to be a "diet" type that makes you lose weight… People will try anything to be beautiful!

      • kirin January 22, 2010 at 1:14 am #

        I want to lose fat from the butt and thighs so much! Japanese girls are becoming skinnier and skinnier today, which gives me less range of selection from kawaii pants. T^T

        BTW…while I was writing this article I didn't have any intention to do this diet, but I finally bought this book (that comes with the band) when I was browsing a book store the other day. There was a pile of this diet book, and I couldn't resist it. There was actually a lot more shared in the book! 😀

      • Sparklewolfie January 22, 2010 at 1:21 am #

        I cannot fit the clothes in Taiwan mostly… I am considered a big size there!! So sad 😦 I need to lose fat from thighs too!!

        Hope you can have success with this diet! Let us know how it works for you :3

  4. Cath January 21, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    If I have enough time, I'll pick up a sport. Right now, I'm using the meal replacement drink. It really works and I actually feel more energetic!

    • kirin January 21, 2010 at 2:45 am #

      Really? I've never tried such sort, except for a sample. In Japan MicroDiet has been so popular, and I hear that many people succeed in losing weight or getting fit with this diet. But I wonder if my stomach can ever filled with a drink like this. After all I would feel like eating something between meals and so…that's the reason I cannot go for it. But if this really works and I don't suffer from hunger all day long between drinks, I'd love to try it. I can also save time for cooking, shopping at supermarkets, washing dishes, etc. :p

      • Cath January 21, 2010 at 7:11 pm #

        You must be prepared for the big change! I went back to my high-school weight. I'm fine with that but many commented that I've lost weight. Anyway, your body will get used to not having a full stomach. Takes about 3 days to get use to the new routine. I take the drink in the morning to replace my breakfast (I add high calcium low fat milk powder and macha powder to my protein shake). My lunch will be about 4 hours later. The one I'm using is Herbal Life's Formula 1. Next week, I'll add Meiji's Collagen powder to the shake! n_n

      • kirin January 22, 2010 at 12:31 am #

        OMG!!! That's amazing, Cath! It needs only 3 days to get used to "not having a full stomach"? Only 3 days, and how come I cannot put up with that…Wow, that's something I didn't know. Thank you for sharing your experience and knowledge!

      • Cath January 22, 2010 at 7:30 am #

        Give yourself some time. My colleague tried this protein shake and lost a kg in 3 days! But at the end of the day, health is most important. I continued because I actually felt more energised. I was eating 4 slices of bread but felt hungry in 2 hours' time and didn't have much energy. Moreover, the protein shake takes only 5 minutes to prepare, drink, wash up (I use a hand held blender). I've to bottle feed my little boy in the morning, so this is a real time saver!
        All the best to you! Maybe you can consider cycling? Put Pi-chan in the basket and go for a ride? n_n
        Oh yes… my skirt does turn round when I walk! -__-!!

      • kirin January 24, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

        Thank you, Cath. 🙂 I know I can just put Pi-chan into her house. hahaha…She is walking along with me all the time. ^ ^;

  5. jessy January 21, 2010 at 3:46 am #

    i never knew you can to this to hips. maybe i will try it.
    the breast thing really does work! i have seen difference too.

    many women notice that arm fat.
    just work out the tricep muscle.
    usually, picking up a gallon of milk with the back on 90 degree angle, is helpful.
    it really does help. after a while you feel stronger ^^v and pick up more milk. xD

    i think is best to do a small work-out before going to sleep.
    i always do stretches, and and something with tricep muscle.
    it helps your body so you are a little more active/flexible,
    and more reason to go sleep. 😀

    • kirin January 22, 2010 at 12:36 am #

      You have done the breast thing, too? Good for you! 😀
      That's a very good practice before going to bed. Since I keep my dog Pi-chan, every time I lie down on the floor to do some exercise, she comes to me to lick my ears, and I cannot keep doing anything. (^_^;)

  6. hellolynn January 24, 2010 at 6:29 am #

    Ha ha…. tis article answers my doubt. I was at Kinokuniya bookshop last wkend and came across tis book in japanese which comes with a band. as it was all in japanese, i was just browsing through the book to figure out something from the pictures inside. initially…i tot it was a form of resistance band exercise…..but as i was trying to read in between some of the chinese characters in the book… i kinda got the meaning that it is something to do with shifting the position of pelvic bone. tis is really something new and not common in my country ^_^

    i m not so sure about the type of lose fat diet over here…but i got to know from Taiwan news dat last there was a craze over eating bananas to lose weight. Tis craze was brought into taiwan fr japan!!! and the interesting part is that cost of bananas went up due to tis craze =d

    • kirin January 24, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      Right, banana diet was hot sometime ago in Japan. New diet method appears and goes off so frequently and we have to find the good one for each, not just follow the trends, I think. I liked this wrapping one because I can do it while I do something else, such as brushing teeth, cleaning a room, and etc. 😉

  7. Maria January 27, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Has any of you heard of Extravaganza? I think it's the newest craze in Finland. They eat only meal replacement soups and shakes and excersise a lot. At first I was considering of trying it but decided not to. It's because they eat too little so many women begin to lose their hair (I like my long hair). And I've heard that after you begin eating normal food you will get the weight back. And also that meal replacement method shouldn't be used if you are less than 10kg overweight.

    For me the best way to lose weight has been Weight Watcher's and the best way to tone my body has been manual labor 😀 I used to work in a stable and ride horses, I had a firm and toned body..Now I need to go to gym and sweat there.

    • kirin January 28, 2010 at 11:21 am #

      Thanks Maria for sharing something interesting. I've never heard of Extravaganza. In Japan diet drink(shake) is very popular and it's not dangerous because doctors also recommend it in terms of nutrition. But yes, I hear that we can get the weight rebounded once we stop it. So…when we do that, we should keep doing for a long time, I think.

      Ride horses and get fit, that's cool!

  8. Kettu January 27, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    hey ~!! first of all thanks for your lovely tips ;D and introductions

    I am at the moment about to buy a diet book from japan and when I was down there I heard about these two Makudake diet (巻くだけダイエット) and Kokansetsu 1minute diet 股関節1分ダイエット I am tempted to try one of them out but I can't find enough feedback on the books as in witch to choose? ~~~ maybe you can give me some inside thoughts?

    I think I heard about them both in telly and saw them also for a sec at the bookstore so I think they're both pretty popular?

    well thank you for your time ;D and lovely blogging

    • kirin January 28, 2010 at 11:28 am #

      I didn't know 1 minute diet (股関節1分) but I can find many people appreciate it when I check Amazon.co.jp.
      The book is cheaper than Makudake diet. 😉

  9. Hanie February 12, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    Hmm…what type of band is the band that comes with the book?

    • kirin February 13, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

      It's a thin rubber band.

Leave a Reply

