Kakizome experience in the new year!

14 Jan

The other day, I joined Kakizome, or the first calligraphy writing at the beginning of new year, run by a sister of my friend’s who is a professional calligrapher (copyist). In Japan, whether you like it or not, everyone learns it at elementary school and jr. high school as compulsory subject. I remember it was part of the assignments we had to finish during winter vacation. Of course, Kakizome originally is done on the 2nd of January.

Calligraphy, piano, and abacus were 3 major culture lessons that most of kids wanted to have when I was a child. However I was busy learning Koto and I had no chance to learn them at all. 😦

Now I think how wonderful it is to be able to write beautiful calligraphy while most of letters nowadays are written by computer.

This day, we were told to choose whatever words that we want to write.
Some people like to write resolutions or maybe their favorite words that fit into the small calligraphy paper. I didn’t come up with any good words then and so I decided to write the title of my blog wishing that it gets better and better. πŸ™‚

I took a video how she wrote it as an example for me to follow.

I struggled from copying the example. It’s not easy as it looks! I was almost forgetting how difficult it was. ^ ^; Some letters look OK but some look…ugly?

calligraphy2
calligraphy3

I didn’t have time to try another one (3rd paper), but I had such a nice experience for the first time since jr. high school, I guess. I had Koto and calligraphy in the new year this year, which is pretty much “Japanese”.
calligraphy1

12 Responses to “Kakizome experience in the new year!”

  1. Patty January 14, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    What does it say? Something about Tokyo???

    • kirin January 15, 2010 at 12:25 am #

      It's Tokyo Kawaii, etc. in Japanese: Kanji for Tokyo, Katakana for kawaii, and Hiragana for etc. You'll see it's the same as the giraffe in the title banner of this blog that has a flag in which something is written. :p

  2. kelsey January 14, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    I looooooove calligraphy! There's a class every week at my job. I try to take it, but sometimes I'm too busy. Koto is also very nice. I wish there were more classes in my area for traditional Japanese arts.

    Btw the way do you know ι•·ζΈ• 剛? I love when he does shodo to his music. Although it's not traditional but still entertaining!

    • kirin January 15, 2010 at 12:27 am #

      Of course I know him, but I have rarely watched TV for the past several years and now (except weather and news) so I didn't know he did that. :p

  3. walter January 14, 2010 at 8:01 pm #

    Very nice, Kirin-san ! Ok, so the hiragana for "te" looks a bit off, but the calligrapher has had years of practice ! You can be proud.;)
    So what does it mean, actually ?

    • kirin January 15, 2010 at 12:31 am #

      You mean "to" (と)? There's no "te" in my writing… "to" is a bit off…hahaha!
      It means Tokyo Kawaii, etc. (Please refer to my comment to Patty) πŸ˜‰

      • walter January 17, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

        Ah yes of course, I meant "to" . And I should have noticed it's the same text as in the banner on top left of your blog ,haha !
        Still, for someone like me , who speaks fluent French , e-to-se-to-ra for etcetera ( the french word for " and so on " seems a bit off.
        e-te-se-te-ra seems closer to the original word. But if that's the Japanese word for it, then that's the Japanese word for it.

        Wow, playing koto AND calligraphy during New Year . My god, you're turning into a regular Japanese !

      • kirin January 18, 2010 at 6:39 am #

        Ahaha…never mind foreign words in Japanese, they are always confusing because of different way of pronunciations. ^ ^; I think I should write "etcetera" in Katakana if I turly follow Japanese language rules, as it's a foreign word, but I want to make it look cuter…that's why I write as γˆγ¨γ›γ¨γ‚‰.
        Foreign words in Japanese are very confusing for different pronunciations as following samples. **Accent at capital letters.
        chocolate = choco-lEi-to
        strawberry = su-to-ro-be-rii (no accent)
        vanilla = bA-ni-la
        Mc Donald's = ma-ku-do-na-ru-do (no accent) in Tokyo, ma-kU-do in Osaka.

        Oh, this is interesting…we have many foreign words with different accent, too. This is so confusing…

  4. sparklewolfie January 15, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    OMG calligraphy is so hard!!! I learned it for a while to T^T Chinese characters have SO MANY STROKES and if they don't fit together right, the whole word looks funny @_@ I think that you did pretty good :3

    • kirin January 17, 2010 at 9:18 am #

      Thank you. I think I chose easy one by chance. hahaha~ πŸ™‚

  5. Lisa January 15, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    Ooh, that looks like fun! And calligraphy classes are really so useful for those of us studying, helps to remember them better! I haven't had a chance to take a proper class like that yet, but perhaps this is the year for it! πŸ˜‰
    Thank you for sharing – I didn't know about kakizome at all before now.

    • kirin January 17, 2010 at 9:20 am #

      Kakizome=ζ›Έγεˆγ‚, first writing in calligraphy. I think calligraphy is good to concentration of mind. Such thing is meaningful in our busy life, I guess…

Leave a Reply

