DECOTTI (a kit of clay sweets) tutorial

11 Dec

It’s been a long time since my first experience of making DECOTTI and I shared the video in my blogpost. I actually bought some DECOTTI kits cheaper from Rakuten, or the most famous online mall in Japan (The red banner in Japanese which you can find at the sidebar of this blog is the one.) and so I still have DECOTTI tarte even after I finished making macaroon and cupcake! ^ ^ hahaha…

Here’s the video that shows the process of my making DECOTTI cupcake and my English instructions from Japanese manual.

In my opinion, as I speak in the video, I found DECOTTI macaroon was easier, and that it was better for the following reasons.
-It had more decorations. I had enough rhinestones (swarovski -looking stones) for 2 macaroons.
-It came with entire accessory parts, meaning, we don’t have to search and buy straps or keyrings to get connected with the metal parts later.

A few days later, they are completely dry.

Decotti cupcake
I still have the whip cream left from both DECOTTI kits, and I’ll make use of them at next time for my original decoration! I know I am not vey good at crafting, but I keep challenging little by little. The experience from DECOTTI made me feel like doing more and more… 😀

BTW, it’s too obvious to tell you but, don’t eat them! They are not edible!! Keep them away from small children. Let me also share with you what I can read from Japanese instruction manual.

-DECOTTI has a qualifying age as “over 15”. Yes, this is designed for adults.
-Do it in a ventilated place, but stop it if you feel sick.
-While making DECOTTI, be careful not to let the cream into your eyes. In case that happened, wash it off by running water for over 15 minutes.
-Do not leave your skin with the cream on. If it’s on your skin, wipe it off and wash off by water.
-Do not let DECOTTI wet while you make them.
-Do not use dryer to dry DECOTTI. Dry them naturally for 2-3 days.
-Be careful not to put the cream on your clothes. Once it’s on, it’s impossible to get it off.
-The cream is exclusive to DECOTTI. If you use it for something else, it may not be adhesive enough.
-Do not leave the cream. Use it up.

Well…I already ignore the last two cautions. I have kept the cream (the filler) and I am using it for my own decorations. :p You know, you take full responsibility for your actions.

14 Responses to “DECOTTI (a kit of clay sweets) tutorial”

  1. Cherry December 12, 2009 at 3:46 am #

    Omg, great! ^^ I like it so much. =) I`m Cherry I hope You still remember me… I couldn't visit Your blog for some time coz I had a lot of problems in my life but I solved them already. =) I`m going to reply for Your e-mail soon, do You remember that we were exchanging e-mails? 🙂 I`m so sorry that I`m late… 😦 I love Decotti, I wish to try it too but unfortunately in my country it's impossible so… 😦 These cupcakes are really well-made, You have big talent! Good job! ^___^

    • kirin December 12, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

      Thank you for your comment, Cherry. I think I remember you, but there are so many comments and emails exchanged daily, my memory sometimes cannot catch up…^ ^; You can take your time, and whenever you feel like writing to me, please do that. I'll be looking forward to your email.

      Thank you also for the compliment for the cupcakes I made. I know the one drawing 8 was not very good though… :p hehehe… Anyway, I'll catch you later!!

  2. Diyana December 12, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    I always enjoy your videos!
    The small cupcakes look so adorable~
    I just got myself a flip phone and was thinking of decorating it..

  3. Sparklewolfie December 12, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

    That is so cute! I love Decotti, but I can never buy it because it is too much for me….
    Lucky my sister's boyfriend bought me one whip cream Decotti when he went to Japan :3 Watching you makes me want to go open it up and use it!

    • kirin December 14, 2009 at 12:00 am #

      I think that the most expensive parts of DECOTTI is the "cream", I mean the filler. Do use it wisely. Usually the cream is left even after your practice and decoration over the objects. So I recommend you prepare something to decorate with the cream after you are finished with making DECOTTI. Anyway, I have prepared video for this, which will be available soon, so please watch it. 😉

      • Sparklewolfie December 14, 2009 at 5:22 am #

        I will look forward to your video! 🙂 I have fimo and sculpey clay at my house, so I can make my own macaron or cupcake to decorate, but it is heavy compared to the mousse clay…

  4. diana May 8, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    Your creations are just super cute and amazingly well done. Can I just ask, where can I get decotti in tokyo?

    Thank you soo much.

    diana

  5. ellen June 4, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    they are sooooooo cute! i hope i can have it also , what a pitty that it is hard to find and sooo expensive in hong kong!

    • kirin June 6, 2010 at 4:49 am #

      So expensive there? In Japan it's also about USD30.

  6. janice June 4, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    i am trying to make the whole thing by myself using light clay , but of course , it is very hard to make and not as cute as the decotti one.oh!~whatever, what can a girl under 13 do?!~(i am also live in hk)

    • kirin June 6, 2010 at 4:50 am #

      I think there are many clay sweets books published. Do you have Kinokuniya (Japanese book store) out there?

  7. Kirsty August 30, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    can you tell me where to buy these in tokyo? And do you know where you can buy re-ment and do you know where you decorate those fake cookies?

Leave a Reply

