Men's Beauty

6 Dec

Men’s Beauty
11/JUL/2009 on air

Japanese men have become beautiful? V-hos-kei is a new men’s fashion genre created by hosts. It’s possible to find Japanese men wearing lady’s clothing in Harajuku, Tokyo. These men however are just those who prefer putting lady’s clothes on because they definitely look good in shape. There are Japanese men who even enjoy wearing some make-up. To be successful in business, it’s inevitable even for men to be good-looking. It can be said that girly men are getting popular in Japan!

There are 3 men who want to be good-looking. Ayukawa-san, a trend setter of latest men’s fashion called “V-hos-kei”, used to be working at a bar. He was one of the most popular hosts (here, “host” in Japanese is different from “host” in English. For your better understandings, please listen to Nandeyanenyo for detailed explanations) in Shinjuku, Tokyo. Ayukawa-san produced a men’s fashion magazine titled “Men’s Spider” with a new concept of “V-hos-kei”. Followings are the characteristics of V-hos-kei fashion.
-“Suji Mori”…is a sort of overloaded hair style for men.
-bling-bling accessories
-natural make-up
“It was masculine type of guys that was popular as a real man, but as herbivore men are getting popular today, it’s required for men to look neat,” according to Ayukawa-san.

Just like many Japanese young girls do, there are some men who use the little tool to make their single eyelid to double. Gorgeously overloaded hairstyle is actually effective to make the face look smaller. And of course, the bling-bling belt is a must item for V-hos-kei appearances.

It looks like some American girls come over to Japan to watch V-hos-kei fashion show. Many young Japanese guys, even an international student from Russia, who want to be a V-hos-kei model visit Ayukawa-san. An university student was selected as a V-hos-kei model among 80 candidates.
V-hos-kei fashion used to be for only hosts and Visual-kei people. But it’s getting popular among students and young Japanese people today.

Since Marc Jacobs appeared with skirt on at Paris Collection, high fashion brands such as John Galliano or Comme Des Garcons Homme Plus released men’s skirts. This movement has spread in Harajuku, Tokyo in no time. But Japanese men like to wear not only skirt but also any lady’s garments. “That’s because lady’s clothing has a beautiful line, and when it’s on, it makes me look very good.” That’s what Takashi-kun says. He’s been a user of lady’s clothing for over 13 years, since he was a middle schooler. His wardrobe is made from 90% of lady’s clothing with 20 pieces of headwear and 30 pieces of belt included. He has come to choose lady’s clothing in order to make his lean body look better. He has purchased another room in the same apartment where he keeps off-season clothing. “Lady’s clothing is more beautiful than ours. It truly expresses the line of our body.” He used to work as a manager of an apparel shop, but he quit it to become a full-time student to a fashion school. His dream is to create clothes for men and women, regardless of difference of gender. He is so thin as to wear 24 inches of jeans!

Nagatani-kun has never tried to get dressed with lady’s clothes, but he says he wants to do that to please his girlfriend. He is also so skinny and so can wear lady’s garments, and even high heels!

Men’s department of Isetan Shinjuku opened a cafe lounge over a weekend, and as many as 120 businessmen of their ages between 20s and 50s gathered there. What was that for? They learned how to take care of their skins, using luxurious men’s cosmetics and electronics for beauty.

“It makes me feel that I can enhance myself when I look neat.”
“There are many women at my office, which makes me feel that I have to do something to myself, too!” These are part of opinions from the participants.

33-year-old corporate worker says he wants his wife to pay more attention to him. Hata-san, a professional men’s make-up who learned it in the U.S arranges it into Japanese way. She gives him a make-up, advising, “Don’t make yourself look like wearing make-up. The foundation should be a little bit tanned color, and less amount of concealer is enough. Cut your eyebrows, draw them nicely and make them look smoky with a brush.” Does this look strange? Japanese men’s cosmetics market is 116.4 billion yen. It’s no wonder there is a company seriously repeating trial and error to create the best foundation for men to use.

Kirin’s opinion:
How did you like these metrosexual guys? As for me, I still like masculine type of men, as a boyfriend. But just as friends, it maybe fun to shop around with this sort of guy. They are not gay, but I’m sure they have understandings and good opinions at shopping. As for make-up things… is it necessary for men to wear foundation? In my opinion, just making the face clean with treatment for pimples or clogged pores and maybe fixing eyebrows a little bit is good enough for men. Face is well tanned with such colored foundation while hands are white? That’s unnatural! What did you think?

19 Responses to “Men's Beauty”

  1. Sparklewolfie December 6, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    I VERY dislike it when the skin is not the same color on face and hands >.< It looks so fake! I like natural look on everybody, boy or girl

    Skin care is the most important, so I think makeup is really not that big of a deal if your natural skin is healthy and glowing

    For metrosexual men, to me I think it is more fun to hang out with guys who care about their appearance. Being dirty does not make them more "manly" or "rugged", it just makes them look so sloppy! My biggest care is nails and eyebrows O.o Which sounds strange, but usually those are places people forget to take care of. I look on other people to see if they take care of their hands (cuticles, moisturize hands, file nails, etc.) and keep their eyebrows at least neat!

    • kirin December 8, 2009 at 12:51 am #

      I have hard time finding enough time to take care of various things for beauty, but…I do nothing for my nails. :p Sometimes I keep thinking that I have to cut them for a several days until finally I find some time.

  2. Patrick December 6, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    Oh my, can't imagine myself doing that.. haha..

    • kirin December 8, 2009 at 12:52 am #

      I think most of men are not interested in things like this, but there are this kind of men appearing little by little. ^ ^;

  3. shayna December 7, 2009 at 2:57 am #

    Hi Kirin, ur posts are sure very interesting!
    hahhaha… but I have to share with u that this is not only happening in Japan, it's happening in my country (Malaysia) too… maybe we are too influenced by the Japanese or Taiwanese trends nowadays….
    Just recently, I've found out that a close guy friend of mine, actually wears Foundation, Make up base, loose powder and even sunblock and BB cream.
    My first impression was like "HUH?? I can't believe u!"
    and after that, I started to accept it and yeah… he's a metrosexual and he really loves to look good and neat. Well, he's a great friend to exchange info about skincare and cosmetics and a shopping parthner… but as a bf.. no.. i dont' think so… I still like more masculine guys… hahhahha

    • kirin December 8, 2009 at 1:19 am #

      Very interesting! This trend is in Malaysia too!? I exactly feel the same way as you. It'd be fun to hang out with such guy friends, but not as boyfriends. Thank you for sharing the "live" experience of yours. XD

  4. Kai December 7, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    Hmmmm… for me i like that type of Androgynous Guy… But then again, im very into the Visual-Kei scene over in Japan so my Oppinion might be biased… then again ive never really liked 'burly, Masculine' men anyhu . the Tanned face while the hands are white thing bothers me though… it tends to remind me of the Ganguro Girl scene which to this day… still creeps me out… it just seems like theyve been tangoed… (lol)

    • kirin December 8, 2009 at 1:32 am #

      Ahaha, Ganguro! There was such a trend among high scholl girls and Gyaru some time ago…^ ^; At that time tanning salons were here and there. I wonder where they are now.

  5. Lisa December 7, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    I like the metrosexual guys – as in the ones that care about their appearance: hair, clothes, fixing eyebrows etc. But I think the make up is too much. There's usually no need, like you said – a clean face and fixing the eyebrows a bit is enough. Like I mentioned in another post, its fine if they still act 'masculine' and are proactive, not passive. 🙂
    I have to admit I did hang around Dotombori in Osaka quite a lot because I really liked a lot of the gyaruo and host styles – hair, clothing… It's my one weakness! ;P

    • kirin December 8, 2009 at 1:39 am #

      Aha! Your comment answered my "?" when I listened to Nandeyanenyo some time ago. You like Gyaruo! That's interesting~! I don't have any connections with them. I'm a bit too old for that kind of guys. ^ ^;

      • Lisa December 8, 2009 at 4:17 pm #

        ha, well I guess I don]t really have any connections either…But I do like to look at them! ;)

  6. Mink December 8, 2009 at 7:21 am #

    There was a metrosexual boom in the US around 2003-2004. Some guys were into it, but a lot more mocked the trend and soon died out. In the US, men who take care of their looks and fashion are often seen as gay, which is sad. I actually really like it when men primp themselves a little. Men around here are so comfortable with looking sloppy all the time, but girls are pressured into looking perfect. –; It's a double standard. I'd like to see more men into fashion and looking good. When they look sloppy it seems like they just don't care.

    • kirin December 10, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

      The trend was from the U.S back in 2003? But it didn't last long? Then I'll watch how the trend goes in Japan, whether the it's long life or not…

  7. Cath December 9, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    -____-!!!
    Men are ‘beautiful’ as they come! Just be sure to keep clean and smell decent. And trim those nose hair.
    Sigh… I dunno… Androgynous Guy looks evil to me. I hate it.
    Hahaha… I just want to tell men… be MAN! Celebrate that!

    • kirin December 10, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

      Ahahaha! "smell decent" and "trim nose hair" ! XD

  8. Formal Kids and Bridal December 20, 2009 at 7:28 am #

    Been following this blog for a while, keep it going

  9. sedonia2 April 6, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    I'm a latecomer to this entry but I liked it. I admit I like those hairstyles – is there a name for that style? It's like Kimu Taku's hairstyle – makes every guy look like a rock star. lol. I don't agree with makeup for men or women's clothes but the hair looks beautiful that way.

    • kirin April 6, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      I see you like the hair style. It's a little bit of visual-kei with "mori" style. Maybe "host style" or "gyaruo style" or something? I'm not so sure…
      I don't like men's wearing makeup or men that look like women, either haha!

  10. androgynbeauty October 4, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    It's a false problem this made by a false social statement that put women in skirts (now in pants too) and men only in pants. Men and women are born naked, all the clothes are artificial stuff. So, why a man cannot wear female clothes ? Because closed mind ppl think it's 'inappropriate'. It's just a social fencing, nothing else. I wear all the time what I want, not what 'they' want me to wear and I'm happy to live in a free country.

Leave a Reply

