That's so cool, then how's this blog to you?

8 Nov

Thank you for answering my question in my previous post, “why do you need to study Japanese?” and it was actually a big surprise for me to find that many of those who kindly left me comments are interested in our culture! In other words, I have to admit that I envy you for having found something intriguing in a particular culture or country and that gives you strong motivation for studying. That’s so cool, and I want to find that for my own, too!

Anyhow…I hope I can keep providing you with interesting topics about this small world, “Japan” that is seen from a Japanese woman. Now let me hear your honest opinion. Which topic(s) do you want most in this blog?

1)Cute kawaii fashion trend in Japan.
2)Cute and fun products from Japan.
3)How to speak, write and read Japanese.
4)Travel and shopping info. in Japan
5)How to cook Japanese cuisine and Japanese foods.
6)Shopping opportunities.
7)Serious topics such as true story about working environment, etc.
8)Cultural events or customs, or how an average life in Japan is.
9)Others. (to be specific, maybe with suggestions)
*At a Gallery page, I am trying to select cute things from Japanese artists or by myself, but I just don’t have time to work for that. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I’ve been wondering if I should narrow down to a specific one big theme, and so I keep asking your opinions with PollDaddy poll as in the sidebar. You could kindly vote for it, if you’ve never done that, or leave me your comments below or write to me emails from contact page just as usual.

I see many comments left when I write about “learn Japanese“, but it’s also true that many of my blog readers kindly respond to me with appreciation for the kawaii TV and kawaii info. or kawaii shops.

Last time when I asked this question to my blog readers, they said they enjoy various topics on Japan in this blog, so I didn’t have to change that. How about you now? I think it’s important to keep asking your direct and honest opinions or requests from time to time in order to make this blog a better, useful, informative, and fun thing for you to read. ๐Ÿ˜‰

You know how much your messages count to me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ You and me make this blog grow! Thank you โค

BTW, I happened to see hundreds of thousands of people in "recruit suit". You see what I meant in my last post. They wear the same color and same style. (Unlike my era, almost everyone seemed to like wearing black suit only.)

new graduates
35 Responses to “That's so cool, then how's this blog to you?”

  1. Amanda! :) ๆ„›ๆบ€ๅฆฅ November 8, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

    Hi Kirin!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1)Fashion – Yes! This is my favourite! ๐Ÿ™‚ I like to keep up to date with what is popular. TokyoKawaii TV really helps with this. As well as things like photos of people on the street and cool store displays etc.

    2)Products – Hmm I'm not sure about this one. I really like technology but that doesn't really suit your blog.

    3)Japanese Language – I would be interested in Intermediate/Advanced Japanese language stuff but I would find beginner Japanese a bit boring sorry. I like to hear about useful language learning techniques though. I often use that SpaceALC dictionary that you recommended. ๐Ÿ™‚

    4)Travel and shopping – Yes, a little.

    5)Cooking – Personally yes, because I hope to do a 6-month exchange in Japan in 2011. It would be nice if I could know how to cook like Japanese people. Also, I love Japanese food so it makes me happy to be able to make it at home. ^_^
    Oh! And ็ฐกๅ˜ใงใ‹ใ‚ใ„ใ„ใŠๅผๅฝ“ใฎไฝœใ‚Šๆ–นใ€ใŠ้ก˜ใ„ใ—ใพใ™๏ผๅฝผๆฐใซไฝœใฃใฆใ‚ใ’ใŸใ„ใจๆ€ใ†โ™ก

    6)Shopping opportunities – Biiiiig yes for online shopping opportunities. You often have links in the side bar of this website to kawaii shops and I like them. ๐Ÿ™‚ I would really like to buy some Japanese magazines but I'm not sure what the best way is.
    This is my favourite nail site – http://fullmoon07xxx.ocnk.net/ It is run by a Japanese lady and she is very nice. ๐Ÿ™‚ ใŠใ™ใ™ใ‚ใงใ™

    7)Serious topics – Yes. I think your serious posts are really interesting and I think it's important to get a more rounded view of what Japan is like. Actually, I was wondering, why are there so many murders in Japan? ใกใ‚‡ใฃใจๆ€–ใ„ใงใ™ใญใ€‚ใฉใ†ๆ€ใ„ใพใ™ใ‹๏ผŸ

    8)Cultural/Daily Life – I like to see festival photos and learn about traditional things, so yes. ๐Ÿ™‚

    9)Other – I'd like to hear about popular Japanese celebrities like musicians and comedians. I think Japanese comedians are really funny. ๐Ÿ™‚

    ใใ‚Šใ‚“ใ•ใ‚“ใฎใƒ–ใƒญใ‚ฐใŒๅคงๅฅฝใใงใ™ใ€‚ใ„ใคใ‚‚ๆœ‰ใ‚Š้›ฃใ†ใ”ใ–ใ„ใพใ™ใ€‚โ™ก If you ever need help with anything, just ask! ^_^

    • kirin November 9, 2009 at 11:55 am #

      ใŠๅผๅฝ“ใ‹ใ๏ฝž^ ^; ใใฎๅ ดๅˆใฏ่ชฐใ‹ใจใ‚ณใƒฉใƒœใ™ใ‚‹ใ‹ใชใƒผใ€‚I like kawaii things, but cute bento is not my kind, hahaha! (I'm not a lovely girl like you who wants to make cute bento for my hubby. It'll take me long hours to complete nice charaben like this: http://tokyokawaiietc.com/japanese-foods/charaben… Even when it's not that cute, if you try to make Japanese styled bento, you'll have to make many different things with small portion of each. I'll post on this in the near future. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Anyway I want to collaborate with some people depending on the subjects. I know someone professional at sweets deco but she is too busy to work with me. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • kirin November 9, 2009 at 11:56 am #

        ๆ„›ๆบ€ๅฆฅใ€ใ„ใคใ‚‚ใ‚ใ‚ŠใŒใจใ†ใ€‚ Thank you, I'll count on you when I need help! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sara Mari November 8, 2009 at 3:25 pm #

    I am personally interested in #1 and #4, I love seeing all photos you have of cute items or interesting places. I am a very visual person haha. I think it's very nice when you post about those topics because its straight from Japan and I can learn something new while the trend is happening. I think there are a lot of bloggers now who write about #8, so I like to read about the other topics on your blog~ It's unique^^

    • kirin November 9, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

      Thank you for your opinion! I know there are many foreigners living in Japan who blog about Japan in English. It's good to hear from you that I could focus on "unique" topics which are not dealt by other people as above. I think I can differentiate my blog in a way that the writer (me) is a pure native Japanese. :p

  3. Galenor November 8, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    "I have to admit that I envy you for having found something intriguing in a particular culture or country and that gives you strong motivation for studying. That’s so cool, and I want to find that for my own, too!"

    I have friends that say this! They say "Oh wow, you're so into studying Japanese and Japan, and you know so much Kanji! I am so envious!". What I always say to them, is that only you can get yourself interested in a culture!

    Do you have any specific countries that you love? When there's a documentary on a specific country on the television, do you drop everything and watch it? Out of all the people in the world, which nationality would you feel the most humble to meet, face-to-face? Maybe through these questions, you can get an idea of which countries you like. Then, when you get a glint of inspiration, lose yourself in Wikipedia! I learnt about Tsukumogami from Wikipedia, and it's very interesting! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyway, to answer your question. I am most interested in these topics:

    3)How to speak, write and read Japanese.
    8)Cultural events or customs, or how an average life in Japan is.
    9)Others. (to be specific, maybe with suggestions)

    The Suggestion is maybe a section which is made to inform foreigners of key points when travelling to, and in, Japan. What do they need to know before visiting? What about politeness and ettiquette? When do we use specific levels of speech (้ฃŸในใ‚‹ vsใ€€้ฃŸในใพใ™) and where? Also, how about letting the readers know all about annual tourist attractions, such as Hanami? Given how a lot of your readership is interested in the culture, they may want to travel to Japan one day, and these little bits of advice can help and inspire them to plan their inevitable trip. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • kirin November 9, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

      ใชใ‚‹ใปใฉ๏ฝžโ™ช Thank you for your suggestions.

      Tsukumogami? I didn't even know that. ^ ^;

  4. sparklewolfie November 8, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    I like to see the things you post like Kawaii TV, also fashion trends or cute little things ๐Ÿ™‚ The blog is already interesting right now, so I think it is nice to just keep it this way!

    • kirin November 9, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

      Thank you very much for your encouragement! ^_^

  5. megan November 8, 2009 at 9:41 pm #

    All of those like good topics I'd be interested in, but number 7. "Serious topics such as true story about working environment, etc." sticks out to me the most because in general I don't think that sort of thing gets talked about as often as the other subjects.

    • kirin November 9, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

      OK, then I'll talk more about those occasionally. Thank you so much for pointing that out for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Cath November 8, 2009 at 11:58 pm #

    I was in a train carriage about 10 years ago, and saw many salary men on their way home. It was about 10pm I think. They were all wearing different shades of grey. All of them had the same look on their faces. Blood shot eyes and tiredness. That really broke my heart… and so it sealed my love for Japanese.

    • kirin November 9, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

      What you can see in Tokyo today is nothing much different from what you saw 10 years ago. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It's not rare to work until 9 pm and arrive at home around 10 pm or even later on week days after work. Everyone is just too tired, and resting himself or herself is the upmost thing to do within the rest of the day.

  7. jessy November 9, 2009 at 12:39 am #

    wow! i am surprised by the photo. i know you said people like to wear the same thing, but i did not think it was literaly! i figured maybe some people here or there, would have a different neck line or style of skirt or tie…..

    i also agree. the Kawaii TV is very much appreciated . ^^v especially with description at bottom, so to know what is going on. xD

    suggestions 1,2,3,5,7, and 8 are good.
    i would like to see a little more of customs. for example: i read in another blog, that multisex onsen, the 'unwritten' rule is women still keep a towel on.<—i didn't know that. O.o
    having food recipes would be awesome, and interesting from someone that lives there. because as reader, you get more details that are not in books. like…..a more hands-on experience? i hope that makes sense. ><
    but your blog is already good with multiple topics. it keeps the blog interesting.
    things are organized too, so it is easy to find.
    please do not stop writting. ^^

    • kirin November 9, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

      It's good to know that you and many of my blog readers still enjoy multiple topics and diversity of this blog.
      Thank you for saying this to me, "Please do not stop writing." How much I am saved by your warm comment. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. I like the questions! Yes i’ve seen them other places but it’s cool you gathered them all up. Ooh and I don’t think I will slit my throat thanks for the suggestion though. NOT

  9. Cath November 9, 2009 at 2:27 am #

    #5, #7, #8 will be great. ^_^

    • kirin November 9, 2009 at 1:46 pm #

      Hi Cath, thank you for your opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you come up with any suggestion, please feel free to contact me for that any time.

  10. Walter November 9, 2009 at 10:43 pm #

    Hello Kirin-san. Frankly I'll be happy to read about all of the subjects in your list. This is your blog , write about whatever you feel like at the moment. B)
    That way, whatever you write about will be written with a lot of enthusiasm and we'll get a good post. I like what you write so far.
    You have a dog that you walk every day, why don't you put in an article about that from time to time ? It would be interesting to know a bit more about everyday life in Japan.
    Your video blogs are nice too. One day I'll understand them.

    As for the picture, was that taken in front of a bank ( same clothes everywhere ) ?
    At first I thought, hundreds of thousands is totally exaggerated, but I think you might be right.
    I see about 60 people in the picture. Looking more closely, I see that there are 4 rows. The closest row has people moving from left to right, the next right to left and so on ( the furthest row moves to the left again. Judging from the back foot of the man in the front middle , the tiles are about 15 cm which means that the space from 4 darker tiles to the next is 10 tiles x 15 = 1.5 meters. In the first row you see about 16 people in a length of row about 6 meters long (40 tiles).
    The other rows have about the same amount of people.
    Say they move at a firm pace :p about 1 meter per second , you'll see another 16 every 6 seconds or 9600 per hour (3600 seconds) in 1 row.
    There are 4 rows, which would mean almost 40.000 people per hour. Per 8 hours you could see 320.000 people passing here .

    Of course , that's assuming this keeps up for 8 hours at the same rate o.0. And just because I see about 60 of them in the same costume does not mean everybody else passing here has the same suit.

    So it's possible, Kirin-san, for so many people to walk past this spot, so you could have seen hundreds of thousands , but only if you spent several hours watching them ^-^ . That they all have this recruiting suit on remains unproven.
    I'm guessing , this was in front of a metro station ? Tokyo metro stations handled about 180.000 to 490.000 passengers per day in 2007. That's amazing, considering it must be 2 large peaks at the start and the end of a day.
    Still, it's strange I don't see a single non business suit there ( people shopping or visiting or tourists or students) and why is the row in front of the first one completely empty ?

  11. Caitlin November 10, 2009 at 4:44 am #

    I would like to see more posts about traditional culture and how it is now like taking baths and stuff, how do Japanese people like western things like starbucks or mcdonalds?

    • kirin November 12, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

      Thank you Caitlin, I think I can handle those topics. ๐Ÿ˜€ Stay tuned, it won't be long.

  12. Patrick Lim November 10, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    Hmmm.. All the topics sound good. But I'll be more interested in #3, #4 and #7. But I wouldn't mind reading any of it if you post it up. =D

    • kirin November 12, 2009 at 2:24 pm #

      Thank you, Patrick. If you have any requests in the future, please feel free to let me know! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Lisa November 10, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    I think everything in your list is great. I actually enjoy the fact that your blog is quite varied, with different, but still related topics. So please don't change too much!
    If I have to choose from the ones that I probably appreciate the most when I read, then 1, 5, 6, 7 and the Tokyo Kawaii TV summaries. (Cooking is a bonus with regular homecooked food recipes – they're surprisingly hard to get a hold of in English otherwise!) But honestly, I do like the fact that you touch on alllll items from 1-9. Also, I think you already do a good job by for example taking a question someone has asked ina comment and then answering it as a blog post. That in itself already caters to what someone may be interested in knowing, so you're doing it right I think!! ^^ So please keep up the good work! ^^
    Other than that I don't have any suggestions, but will get back to you if I think of anything. ^^

    • kirin November 12, 2009 at 2:34 pm #

      Lisa, will you tell me more about what you meant about cooking? Sorry, my English is not good enough to comprehend it. Do you think it's difficult for the audience to catch the image of cooking Japanese cuisine in English? (I do have difficulties in expressing procedures in English, too but…) ^ ^; Your opinion is very important, as I know that you are one of my blog readers for a long time. Thank you for your opinion.

      • Troo November 13, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

        I think Lisa means that it's difficult to find recipes for traditional Japanese home cooking which are written in English. Books on preparing Sushi are plentiful, but more regional and less touristy recipes are harder to find.

    • Troo November 13, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

      I agree with Lisa's post! I really enjoy the variety and simply the nice, welcoming tone of your posts, Kirin-san.

      • kirin November 14, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

        Thank you Troo! ^__^ It's kind of you to explain what Lisa would have meant to me. That's very helpful, thank you!

  14. Karolina November 10, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

    Hi again! ^__^

    I like that you have many different things on tyour blog and think it would be a little bit sad if you just concentrate on one thing. offcourse I would like to learn japanese and learn it from a japanese person is always to prefer ^^ I also love that you put up Kawaii TV episodes! Thank you soooo much ~ ! ๐Ÿ˜€ please continue with that! It would make ma very happy!

    actually when I read the list I can't decide what I would like you to writ about most. since it's all things that I would want to know more about (:
    the only thing that's a little bit less interesting to me are the more serious topics, but I think that is because I'm so young so I might not understand everything completely, but offcourse serious topics are good to know about too ^^

    I hope you'll find some of it useful, if you want I can write much more, but this is a summary of what I think!

    • kirin November 12, 2009 at 2:44 pm #

      Hi Karolina,
      I wouldn't concentrate on one big topic, thanks to you and all the other people who kindly left comments here for me! I first thought it was important to narrow down to one big theme and that's why I keep asking this question to my blog readers from time to time. But thank you, I will continue this style. ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. mei November 11, 2009 at 7:14 am #

    I prefer number 7. I like to know more about various topic which happen in Japan currently.
    By the way, what were they hire for??? job or what ?? the picture look awesome, because they wearing the same outfit ")

    • kirin November 12, 2009 at 2:48 pm #

      OK, mei. Thank you for your opinion. As for the picture, they seem to have had an event of meeting people from Japanese major companies at the place. They may join seminars of each company to see if the companies are attractive enough or not. This is why I said "sick" of being totally the same with everyone else in my previous post. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  16. kirin November 12, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

    Thanks for the opinion, and yes, that's a good idea to share my daily life with my dog, Pi-chan. ๐Ÿ˜€

    As for the photo, this is only one part and people in recruit suit were not only this! I saw lines of how many kilo meters…at least 5 minutes of walking. I don't know but it was from the exit of train station to the Tokyo Big Site, or the site for international trade fair (http://www.bigsight.jp/english/index.html). I was there to join seminar of other subject, but there must be an event for new graduate on the same day. (To be exact, those who are graduating next spring or next after next spring. Due to bad economy they have to start looking for a job from junior.)

  17. shayna November 19, 2009 at 9:34 am #

    hi hi ^^
    i'm a chinese malaysian here and would really love to learn more about Japanese culture coz i find Japanese people are so friendly and nice =) This is also because I've made some good Japanese friends when they were here for training.
    Anyway, I love ur site alot… It really enlightened me alot and very very helpful indeed.

    Btw, thanks for posting the picture. This is something which I am really really curious about since a long time ago. hahaha..
    Hope u wont mind me asking, why do Japanese people tend to dress up almost the same as everyone else (etc. wearing same color workshirt – which is White most of the time, carrying the same design of work bags and also shoes, belts, etc?)
    I really want to know what is the reason behind this…. Hope you could share with me…

    thanks! =)

    • kirin November 19, 2009 at 10:45 am #

      Hi shayna, thanks for your comment here! ^ ^
      I won't mind your question at all! Let me answer it in my next post because that should be something interesting for anyone who is interested in our culture. Thank you for asking that to me.

Leave a Reply

