It's time to look for a new journal for 2010.

29 Oct
Fueki HandCream Browsing around LOFT once in a while is so much fun to me. If you have been to Japan, you may know what it is. It’s a department building of kawaii stationery, cosmetics, general goods, tools for kitchen or anything, nice interior items or small furniture, especially targeted for young single or DINKS, and so many more. I cannot explain it well, and I’d strongly recommend you should go see it by yourself when you are in Japan. It’s not only in Tokyo, it’s available at many major cities! I’m sure you enjoy it, as much as Tokyu Hands! I’d go to Shibuya LOFT because of its scale and convenience.(Shibuya is easy access from my house.)

The other day I went to Shibuya LOFT to look for a new diary for 2010. I know what I exactly want, because I keep using the same one for the past few years and I still like using it, but it’s just fun to look around other things, too. πŸ˜€ I bought some cute cards and cheap cosmetics, as well as a cute calendar, but my diary was not ready then. I have to come back mid November.

Who was it that I exchanged messages on the shoutmix some time ago? I found Fueki glue that was so familiar at kindergarten…No, this time it’s revived as a hand cream! Fueki-kun (It was he! which I learned from the Fueki Blog. As it says “boku”=僕, it means male.) I think I’ve seen Fueki hand cream somewhere last winter, but I didn’t know that he has become such a famous character! (Japanese people LOVE characters, you know that!) It was in Shibuya LOFT the other day, and there were many more interesting goods and cosmetics that kept me stay there for a long time.

I dropped at Shibuya HMV that is just across the street from Shibuya LOFT, and I happened to find a Cher diary for 1200 yen! (Cher is an apparel brand but it’s more famous for its eco-bag as in this episode.) This was cute, but the style was not my taste. I’ll go for the same one as this year or the last year.

There was a Hello Kitty Fan book and this looked cute with full of introduction of rare Hello Kitty goods inside. As is always these days, freebie for this magazine is a small reversible original Kitty-chan bag. πŸ™‚

Cherjournal
HelloKittyFan

Oops, sorry for such a rambling…but I was so excited with kawaii all over, which is something very unique in Tokyo and that was what I was definitely missing from my trip to other countries. Speaking of kawaii, I think I love Tokyo most no matter how stupid and stressful our working situations are. I found many foreign visiters at tutuanna where I like to shop leggings and socks as well as Mity Soxer. They are cheap but cute! You should go there too (when you are here), if you like kawaii! πŸ˜‰

7 Responses to “It's time to look for a new journal for 2010.”

  1. Lisa October 29, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

    I spent far too much time at LOFT! Even my mother loved it when she visited me in Japan… It's so much fun because there always seems to be something new/surprising/different. I guess most of my time was in the bath section looking at scrubs, and in the kitchen area looking at all the adorable bento boxes!
    I did my calendar shopping at KiddyLand, since they have a lot of cute character diaries too. I remember I bought a Moomin one that I still have – it;s too cute to throw away. I was surprised at how much Moomin paraphernalia they had though, more than in Sweden and Moomin is pretty popular here too! I'll be visiting Finland for the first time in December (for the JLPT exam!) so I'll see if they try to sell as much Moomin goods as possible there, since they're the origin of the character. πŸ™‚

    I've never been to that Soxer shop you mentioned, though I love shopping for socks and leggings, haha! I shall definitely check them out next time I'm in Japan. πŸ™‚ Tutuanna I know and love very much!

    • kirin October 30, 2009 at 12:41 pm #

      Miffy (http://www.miffy.org/) is the same thing. It's originally from Holland but when I went to Amsterdam last month, Miffy-chan goods were only sold at toy stores designed for small kids. Whereas we have Miffy bento box, Miffy stationery, or whatever that are designed for adults to use. My brother once told me he liked Miffy so much. He is a tech guy but that sounded kinda cute. :p

      So…I'm interested in what you'll find in Sweden: If Moomin is as popular as/ even more popular than here in Japan!
      Please let me know what you find there. πŸ™‚ That sounds very interesting! Have a good trip to Sweden! πŸ˜€

  2. Sara Mari October 29, 2009 at 9:49 pm #

    I bought my 2010 scheduler back in August haha, I wanted it to begin at September 2009. It was so hard to find one that started so early! Haha, But I was able to find one with a quilted pink heart cover, it’s so cute! There are so many cute options in Japan!

    • kirin October 30, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

      Oh you did already. πŸ™‚ In the U.S it might be natural to switch it in August because it's also end of the year, right? It's in March in Japan. Graduation from school or university is always in March, and it's also end of the fiscal year in Japan. Sakura (cherry blossoms) have always left us sort of mixed complicated feelings: sorrow feelings of saying good-bye to your classmates or teachers or colleagues, and expectations of saying hello to your new mates or team. When we look at Sakura, there certainly should be some complicated feelings besides how beautiful they are.

      • Sara Mari October 30, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

        Oh yes, that's right. My school year starts in the last week of August and kids start at the beginning of September so we will need a new scheduler at that time. The school usually sells planners to us, but I haven't bought a school one since Middle School haha. Oh how interesting, thank you for explaining about sakura, I can understand better how Japanese feel towards them.

  3. Cath November 3, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

    That would be me, Kirin! ^_^ Thank you for this post although I don't have time to read this yet… My husband loves Loft too!

    • kirin November 4, 2009 at 2:06 am #

      Oh it was you, Cath. πŸ™‚ You can come back any time and pick up the posts to read as you want. Thank you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

