Fast fashion special

24 Oct

Fast fashion special
23/MAY/2009 on air

What is this long queue in Harajuku? It was 29th of April 2009 that FOREVER21 1st store opened in Harajuku, Tokyo Japan. FOREVER21 is from the U.S, H&M which is just next to FOREVER21 is from Sweden, and we have ZARA from Spain, Topshop from U.K, collect point from Japan, all located in Harajuku. These shops are famous for kawaii trendy clothing for reasonable prices, and such fashion is called “fast fashion”. Harajuku has become a center of fast fashion battle.

There are some critical points that do not make fast fashion look cheap. With some creative ideas and a little bit of efforts, basic and cheap clothing can be really cool. Do you know “UNI-kakushi”? That means to do some makeover to UNIQLO clothing. UNIQLO is another fast fashion brand that Japan is proud of. Their clothes are very basic and durable with many color variations, but very cheap. What’s good about UNI-kakushi is that we can take a risk to do anything on the UNIQLO clothing, and if we fail, we lose only a small amount of money.

The man wearing a gold painted jacket did the spray painting by himself over the original UNIQLO red colored jacket.

Girls from deco-clo enjoy many ways of UNI-kakushi.

Tokyo Kawaii TV interviewed the CEO of UNIQLO to ask what he thinks of UNI-kakushi phenomenon. He said, “We are dealing with clothes as parts. It’s all up to individuals how he or she wants to wear them.”

H&M is a good place to find a cheap celeb-kei (celebrity-oriented) sort of fashion. The head designer of H&M has visited Tokyo more than 20 times in the past 15 years. It’s called inspiration trip and she is inspired for a new design from this trip. She checks out small second hand clothing stores in residential area in Tokyo, and the button store where Paul Smith also likes to shop.

Shimamura is a Japanese long-established clothing store since 1953. Speaking of cheap Gyaru coordination, Shimamura has become a key player. Gyaru who like to shop and wear Shimamura clothing are called “Shimarah”.

However, Shimamura has not been like this. It’s only 8 years ago when they changed their taste. They enriched Gyaru and teenager clothing. One big question however is that buyers are all middle aged men who don’t exactly understand the sense of kawaii at all. They try to catch up with the latest trends by repeating a supervised tour to Europe every other month. They try to figure out what’s coming next and strive for marketing research.

Mama retro fashion cost nothing, as long as your mom was fashionable and kept her wardrobe in a good condition.

Kirin’s opinion:

There was a long line at FOREVER21 even in this summer. I didn’t feel like shopping there because of too many people : A long line to get into the store, another long line for fitting, and another one for payment. 😦

UNI-kakushi looks interesting. If I were good at sewing, I’d like to makeover and create my own clothing from UNIQLO, but unfortunately I am so bad at it, I have no choice. My mom was very good at sewing, my grandma was also so good at knitting, but I feel myself very clumsy and I feel safer being away from these things. :p
When I was a child, I was wearing original clothes from my mom and grandma, which I didn’t like very much then, but now I think I should’ve been more grateful to them. :p

37 Responses to “Fast fashion special”

  1. Sparklewolfie October 24, 2009 at 2:58 pm #

    that is funny! F21 is like a cheapo trendy place here, but no big lines ever… they even split into two shops – one for clothes, and Love 21 for accessories 🙂 I like to go to look for cute accessory to wear with lolita clothes!

  2. kirin October 25, 2009 at 12:03 am #

    I think that's because it was the first store in Japan and that's the only store we have right now. When they open 2nd, 3rd, ….more and more stores, there should be no such a long long line.

  3. kirin October 25, 2009 at 12:04 am #

    Oh, hi Ting*Ting!
    I didn't know it either! I am learning a lot from each episode. :p

  4. Cath October 26, 2009 at 6:33 am #

    I've no time to watch the episode yet! =(

    Anyway, I'd like to start sewing again! I made a dress with my mum's help when I was 14. My husband bought a Singer sewing machine for me but I've not even used it! =(

    • kirin October 27, 2009 at 9:34 am #

      It should be so much fun if you can make something by yourself with sewing or knitting. Maybe if I throw away this inferior feeling that I have against things like that, I can do any better jobs…? :p I don't know.

  5. mei October 27, 2009 at 1:42 am #

    for me personally, I dont want to wait in long line just to buy clothes.
    modifying is good, its such a quite unique cloth, but I am not sure people here will wearing it on daily activities. For special occasion yes.

    btw I am impressed with mama from mama retro. she is beautiful, nee???

    • kirin October 29, 2009 at 7:53 am #

      In the episode, if I should tell you more, she was introduced that she had a problem of hearing. That's why she had to give up being a model when she was young. That's why she is so happy about her daughter who works as a model with "mama retro fashion". She expects granddaughter in the future wears her clothes, too.

  6. Lisa December 7, 2009 at 4:27 pm #

    I'm commenting a bit late on this, but I saved watching a few episodes because of JLPT studying! This episode really inspired me and I shared it with a friend who felt the same. It's really amazing that even small changes with just nail polish or spray paint can do so much! I guess you just have to dare to try…
    I'll be buying a lot of basics and trying things out in the future I think. 🙂

    • kirin December 8, 2009 at 1:51 am #

      Yes, this episode made me think that I should try out from a small thing, because modifying looks so fun! If I were younger and had enough time for myself, I'd love to learn DIYing such as sewing, accessory making, crafting, etc. from beginner classes. ^ ^;

  7. john james January 30, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    I like the “Fast fashion special” video alot, but however it seems that the video has NO SOUND? Please help!

    • kirin January 31, 2010 at 2:22 am #

      That's strange, because I don't have any problem on the sound. Have you also checked out other videos from here (http://tokyokawaiietc.com/tokyo-kawaii-tv) and you hear nothing? How about Youtube? Have you checked out your speakers?

      Anyhow, the sound is all in Japanese, though.

  8. Damian Smith August 11, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    The top fashion statement is now in Japan. I have lots of things that I bought from FOREVER21 and I love every pieces that I bought. Good thing that there are FOREVER21 in Japan.

  9. Barbara F. Giesen October 19, 2011 at 3:22 am #

    modifying is good, its such a quite unique cloth, but I am not sure people here will wearing it on daily activities. For special occasion yes.

  10. Loivel Sanz October 29, 2011 at 3:09 am #

    It looks fun if you could modify it with unusual design. I was lucky to browse your blog.Beside I got some good thoughts and ideas can be helpful to me.

  11. Amanda Fisher November 7, 2011 at 3:44 am #

    I wish I have a sewing machine 'coz I want to make my own clothes. My brother (gay) is good in designing and I want to get his design .. hehehe
    Someday I will buy a sewing machine so I can enjoy making clothes for myself.

  12. Jean Bullington November 8, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    @ Amanda.I like the line of your post that says " I wish I have a sewing machine 'coz I want to make my own clothes." I love the idea of creating my own on design for my clothes. Way back to the past i used to design my own dress and skirts.

  13. Robin November 10, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    Fashion is an important thing to us women's. That is the reason why men get easily attracted.

    • Alma Myers November 11, 2011 at 2:04 am #

      @Robin, Fashion is an Art. We need Art to cultivate our cultures and Also to modify our technology…

      I wanna try to make my own design and product! weh! ^_^

      • pat November 14, 2011 at 10:10 am #

        Thanks for your opinion and informative! Looking forward for your own design and product!

  14. hazel November 10, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    @ AMANDA AND JEAN – both of you are so incredible cause you make your own design using a Sewing machine would you please put on this site that a create your own design for your clothes.

  15. kathleen November 11, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    @hazel: I agree with you girl. They should post a video on how they design their clothes so that we will have the idea. Hope to see the video soon.

  16. ErlindaDolphin November 11, 2011 at 1:56 am #

    @hazel, amanda, and jean – I will make my own design too…

  17. marna November 11, 2011 at 2:15 am #

    That was so very great and pretty good to hear that because you can make a design at your own by using a sewing machine.

  18. Joan Washington November 11, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    For my own opinion, fashion is a good asset to become attractive. It also reflects on what kind of person is an individual as the way she wear her clothes.

  19. lenny November 11, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    Its a nice post.Hope more to come.

  20. Linda November 11, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    @Robin. I agree with Robin. Men are so sensitive. hahaha.

  21. zoe November 14, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    Nice site! I love fashion so much but fashion doesn't love me. I tried to make a dress but unfortunately the result is bad. :(. Thanks to this site. I will try my best to do it again. 🙂

  22. kathy November 15, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    If you sell those pictures, How much each clothes? Where I can possible purchase?

  23. Allison G. Hayes November 17, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    In my own opinion fashion is a good asset to become attractive. It also reflects on what kind of person is an individual as the way she wear her clothes.

  24. Robert Key November 17, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    @ Allison: Fashion is not just a good asset to become attractive but rather it also gains some attention from others.

  25. Cha November 18, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    I love fashion. This site is very nice. Thanks for sharing.

  26. Dona November 24, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Fashion is my hubby. I love making my own style that will make me look good.

  27. Alex November 24, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    I do love Japanese the way they do styles and also their so fashionable. Their design is very unique and I like the way they ware their dress. It's so fashionable to see.

  28. Tracy November 24, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    Honestly, I really love Japanese when it comes to fashion and technology. They really dedicated to show their skill by producing their product such as designs. More power to the Japanese Culture… I really like your culture. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. UNI-kakushi - October 25, 2009

    […] discovered UNI-kakushi this morning in Kirin’s summary of a Tokyo Kawaii TV espisode that explores the practice. UNI-kakushi involves modifying and […]

Leave a Reply

