Shibuya 109 English Guidebook

19 Oct

shibuya109 guidebook The other day, Lisa, one of my blog readers who also has lived and worked in Japan kindly introduced me an interesting blog that is written by a foreign Gyaru who lives in Tokyo now. This is it: Universal Doll

I think that some of my blog readers who are very much interested in fashion can enjoy her blog. In her blog, she mentions about a new magazine, “Shibuya 109 English Guidebook“. I also found another post about the magazine but is written in more objective way than hers.

If you are planning to visit Shibuya, which is the very center of Japanese Gyaru fashion and where 109 department building with full of Gyaru taste of fashion stores is located, it’s not a bad idea to give it a try. It’s also well-known that Hollywood celebrities and musicians love to drop at 109 when they visit Tokyo. I see how much they can get excited about kawaii fashion at cheap prices!

Shibuya 109 is a fashion department building especially targeted teens and young men and women. (It was not that much Gyaru-targeting atmosphere when I was a highschool student. That’s because I used to shop there often but I was not Gyaru at all then. Maybe Gyaru was not even popular then. ^ ^; ) The taste of fashion is Gyaru-kei for women, Onii-kei for men. (Gyaru-kei fashion for men) As is always, 109 is not exceptional. They open at 10 am and close at 9 pm. (Restaurants open 11 am to 10:30 pm.) They open everyday only except for 1st of Jan.

In case you are not familiar with Gyaru, here‘s wiki for your reference. Also, let me put a video link here again, which you can also find at Universal Doll but is not played smoothly due to lack of memory or because she doesn’t use a self-hosting blog? I don’t know but anyhow it’s a Japanese TV show introducing foreign Gyaru in Shibuya, Tokyo.

Yamanba” or “Manba” type of Gyaru is not so popular in Japan any longer. I rarely see them in Shibuya any more there days, but it’s a surprise to me this trend can be seen somewhere overseas…((-_-;))

As for myself, I have never been a Gyaru-type of girl and I have no interests in Onii-kei young guys but I don’t dislike them. I just feel awkward and out-of-place when I shop at 109 now, with my natural and casual way of looking among most of other shoppers who are totally “Gyaru” from top to the bottom. Pesonally I find Gyaru items are reasonable and cute. I think it’s good to enjoy fashion as much as we like while we are young. When we get old, we have so many other things to do and we cannot spare much time for it any longer…just like me now!

8 Responses to “Shibuya 109 English Guidebook”

  1. Patty October 19, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

    Hey, the tall foreign girl where they visit her home, doesn't she look familiar? I think she's the same girl that got a makeover w/ Kawaii TV to dress more like a school girl….

    • kirin October 20, 2009 at 12:03 am #

      YES, That's exactly what I was thinking!! She seems to have had a haircut, and I think that hair style is better than the one she appeared on kawaii TV. 🙂

  2. Jenny October 20, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

    It's interesting they put this guide out, but I don't really know if it was necessary given 109 is pretty straight forward. What they should REALLY include is things girls need to know before going in. Like how to ask to try on clothing (in Japanese of course) and a general idea of what size "free size" really is.

    I feel so much the same about manba and yamanba styles! I know these overseas girls still find it extremely interesting but many do not fully understand just HOW dead the fashion look really is and they often ask for new sources for the look… it's a bit annoying to see that.

    • kirin October 22, 2009 at 11:26 am #

      Actually when Manba or Yamanba style was hot here back in 2000-something I forgot, I was totally wondering what was so good about them. That was the time Ganguro =dark pained face or tanned face was popular. I guess it was some time ago…long time ago maybe. :p

  3. Miss Ia October 22, 2009 at 1:24 am #

    Hi Kirin! It's been a while! I'm glad you had a good time on your trip! I've been crazy busy, hunting for jobs in a new city and now on Friday I'll be visiting Toronto for a week to see friends! I caught up with your posts – I really want to visit Amsterdam, and thank you for the recipe! I like gyaru because it's very pretty, and with more room for variety. I like to mix and match everything. ^-^

  4. kirin October 22, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    Hi Miss Ia. Always nice to have you back here! Did you find a new job? Cool! Amsterdam was a good place, but things cost very expensive, compared with those of Japan. There seemed so many cafe and bakery around, but there's no particular Dutch cuisine restaurants available. Visiting friends in different places always makes me feel excited! Have a wonderful time with your friend! 😀

  5. Lisa October 23, 2009 at 12:55 pm #

    Wahh, Kirin I’m blushing! ^^ I didn’t think you would post so soon about ti, but I hope you found it as interesting as I did! 🙂 (For me it was especially interesting to see a lot of the foreign girls dressed up gyaru style, this was unexpected as I don’t think I ever saw any foreigners dressed like that in Osaka…)

    I, like you, don’t really wear the gyaru fashion, but I can be inspired by accessories and details. I wish I could grow my hair that long or do my make up as perfectly but… maybe I’m too lazy. 😉

    • kirin October 25, 2009 at 12:29 am #

      Oh I'm very much pleased with your suggestion, because it's not easy to be ready for the next post all the time. Sometimes I have a hard time wondering what I should post next. Also, it was the perfect timing because it's not been long since the magazine was released.

      People in Osaka dress a little bit differently from those in Tokyo. I have a grandma who lives in Osaka, and so I sometimes visit her in Osaka. Kobe also is different from Tokyo or Osaka. 😉

Leave a Reply

