What is genuine lolita?

1 Oct
Christon cafe1 I had this interesting experience that I interviewed a chief editor of “Gothic and Lolita Bible” and “Kera Maniax” at a Christon cafe in Shinjuku, Tokyo.

To be exact, there should be no such a chance without David and Ashley from “Carnivalesque Films” in NYC. It was back in July that they contacted me through my blog.
They said they were already in Tokyo to make a new film. They found me from my blog and they needed me as a translator to be hired.
In other words, my blog found me a job, which is the coolest thing ever happened in my blog!!

Since August, I met them from time to time to be supportive as “on-demand translator”. It was a fun job, we interviewed various people. This was such a good experience to me, too. I don’t think it’s appropriate that I talk about the details here, as I believe the content belongs to them. So I just want to share my experience roughly in this post.

I knew Christon Cafe by name, but I had no chance to visit there. But the chief editor of these popular magazines suggested this place for the interview, and we were there a few hours before the cafe opened. It’s named “cafe” but in fact it’s a place for drinking alcohol. That’s why it opens from 5pm.

I’d like to share some photos that I took at the Christon Cafe. I wonder how the Christian would think of such a bar. Is it blasphemy against Jesus? But hope you are not offended to find such a thing in Tokyo. The Japanese do not stick to the strict rules when it comes to “style” of fashion or architect today. Any style can be mixed up, and that’s one of the reasons Japanese fashion is considered very unique and cool. It’s just a concept restaurant so the customers enjoy the atmosphere and interior. We do not aim to make fun of church and solemn or strict image of it. I hope you understand. ๐Ÿ˜‰

This time, we were just there to have the space, the ideal location that is suitable for the image of the Gothic and Lolita. I think I may want to come back to the restaurant someday as a customer and experience how it’d be like to eat and drink there.

Christon cafe3
Christon cafe2
Christon cafe menu

Gothic and Lolita Bible was created by this chief editor who was dressed up with beautiful Lolita cosume on the day. I’d avoid writing about what she spoke to us as well as sharing her photos, because I think they belong to Carnivalesque Films. But I was able to ask her questions, from which I learned that there are certain people who were born to be Lolita! I am neither Lolita nor Goth, and I don’t know their thoughts. But I think I learned that they, especially Lolita girls, are dressing like that for some serious and good reasons.
In other words, superficially, we will never understand the background and constraints that they have. There seems to be a in-depth story about Lolita, which was too far to reach within the short interview.

From what I learned from Harajuku street interviews to Lolita girls, it can be said that genuine Lolita is rather introverted nature and they do not even want to be interviewed or filmed. I had to accept neglect or strong No to the interview from so many Lolita girls until we found more sociable Lolitas who call themselves “casual Lolita” aparting themselves from genuine ones. That’s why I had an impression that Lolita girls are not friendly, but there should be some reasons behind that. They are totally Lolita both from inside and outside, because that’s how it’s supposed to be.

One of my blog readers shared me with these useful links about Lolita, and I’d like to share them with you here.

LolitaFashion.org
…for basic lolita starting. It has a lot of information.

Lolita Handbook
…the original lolita handbook for beginner lolitas. It also has a lot of information, tutorials, and links.

The EGL Community
…This is the biggest Lolita Fashion community on the internet.
In the links, you can find a lot of spinoff communities (like local communities, lolita crafting, lifestyle lolitas, etc.)

Avant Gauche
…Avant Gauche – a lot of magazine scans, where to find patterns, etc.

BLOGS

Lolita Charm
One Thousand Frills
The Ugly Duckling
Princessly Living
Gothic and Lolita Sewing
Carousel of Crowns
Sweet and Simple
Prince des Enfers (it is a boystyle blog)

Well, I am overwhelmed by these passionate websites all about Lolita, and there is a boy Lolita, too!? In any ways, I think it’s good that we can dress as we like and have likeminded people who we can share thoughts. I don’t have Lolita friends around, so it was such a fresh experience to me, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ How the things around you?

25 Responses to “What is genuine lolita?”

  1. Randy Nichols October 1, 2009 at 12:37 pm #

    Hi. I read a few of your other posts and wanted to know if you would be interested in exchanging blogroll links?

  2. aichaku October 1, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    oh this is so interesting!! i always felt i was lolita inside – i like lolita stuff alot – now that i know true lolita is also introverted, i really think i'm a lolita inside keke, as my online personality is very different fr my real-life one. ๐Ÿ˜€

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 8:28 am #

      Oh, you are the very good example of lolita! I cannot understand its meaning completely when I hear that people are lolita by nature and they some day find lolita fashion and thoughts with which they sympathize a lot.
      But I suppose that really makes sense to you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

  3. Sparklewolfie October 1, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    That cafe looks so cool! Are the tables and chairs all made of marble? It looks so pretty I wish I can visit there too…

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 8:30 am #

      Chairs were made of woods, but as for the tables, I was not sure if they were genuine marble or immitation because I was paying a lot more attention to the interview. I should go there for drink and enjoy the atmosphere more… :p

  4. Benjamin Cip October 2, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

    "Lolita" rings bell with "gothic" to me. I like Lolita stuff. Thanks for sharing it with us Kirin-chan. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 8:32 am #

      Hi Ben, nice to have you here again. I've been away from your blog for a while. Let me visit yours when I have some time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Walter October 2, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    OK ,NOW YOU'VE DONE IT!
    My fellow Christians and I are right now sharpening our swords, pikes, lances , arrows , stringing our bows , donning our armor and white capes with red cross ( and reprogramming our cruise missiles and ground to ground missiles).
    We will sail for Tokyo (and Osaka and so on) forthwith on a Holy Crusade to burn these unholy places to the ground and slay all those who have built these cafes, work at these cafes, yes even those who blog about them and their families and relatives down to the fourth degree.
    We will sow the ground they have stood upon with salt so nothing will grow there for a hundred years,HAHA!.
    And don't even think of running away, you foreign heathens, because we'll attack at rush hour. No getting in your car and escaping our rightful WRATH!
    Subway ? Even better. We'll just stand at the top of the escalator and mow you down as you come up.
    Have a nice day and wash your necks, please.

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 8:35 am #

      Does this sort of thing offend Christians? Sorry if I make you feel bad. :p This is how Japan is. We would do the same with Buddha or Santa Claus or anything if we can offer outstanding experience and service.

  6. bianca October 3, 2009 at 5:01 pm #

    The cafe looks so cool! I can't believe they made a bible.
    Thanks for sharing!

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 8:37 am #

      There was a menu inside the bible. ^ ^; I wonder who designed this cafe…

  7. Miss Ia October 4, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

    I've heard of that cafe and I always wanted to see the inside – it's so pretty! I bet that interview was very interesting, I think it's cool how a lot of Japanese designers will do interviews, I haven't heard that many interviews with couture designers in the West (or maybe I'm just not paying attention?). I also read those loli blogs you mentioned! haha ๐Ÿ˜€

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 8:44 am #

      OH you've already heard of the cafe!? You should go there if you have a chance to visit Tokyo. It's in Shinjuku. Well if you've got a chance to come over to Japan, let's meet up, and I'll take you to this cafe and let's have some drink!!

      I don't know about the interview things, though. :p
      As for the loli blogs, they are originally introduced by one of my blog readers. But she didn't want me to mention her name here. Hope you enjoyed them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Walter October 7, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    Ohmygod, Kirin. ๐Ÿ˜ฎ For Heaven's sake : ใ˜ใ‚‡ใ†ใ ใ‚“ ใงใ™!. I'm kidding ofcourse; Can't you tell ? We don't do Holy Crusades anymore : they went out of fashion hundreds of years ago.
    If there was anything offensive in the cafe, the Church would have complained, don't worry.
    The menu on the Christon cafe website looks nice, BTW . Bur I only see 4 dishes and the top pictture shows a Pizza ?
    If I visit Tokyo , I'll try to visit it. I'll wear black B)

  9. Lisa October 7, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    Hi Kirin!
    Again I’ve not been keeping up daily with your blog – Ive just moved house! But as always I enjoy coming back… Especially today because I have a cold, so I can sit and catch up on your articles. I really enjoy them, so thank you! ^^

    As for Christon Cafe, I went to the one in Umeda, Osaka many times. I even had my birthday party there! I find the decoration to be very elegant and well thought out, so I feel very comfortable there.

    And for the Lolita, I found what you said very interesting as well. I guess you could say that I sometimes dress casual lolita style (sometimes leaning towards gothic, sometimes towards sweet loli) and I enjoy not being fully serious about it because I love wearing many different styles. I learned as well though that some are very serious about it and I respect that. It’s so interesting to find out what people think and why, isn’t it!

    • kirin October 8, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

      Hi Lisa! Hope you are getting better with the cold…
      But I'm glad to have you here. I'm sorry I'm not a podcast user and since you changed to it, I am getting away from your podcast blog. But I always remember you!

      There are also many girls who just enjoy Lolita fashion, while there truely exist genuine Lolita type of people whose mind is filled up with Lolita thougts. I have noticed that while I interviewed street Lolitas in Harajuku. They have their world! That is indeed very interesting to know.

      ้ขจ้‚ชใ€ใฏใ‚„ใใ‚ˆใใชใ‚Šใพใ™ใ‚ˆใ†ใซ๏ฝž(^ ^)/

  10. Walter October 8, 2009 at 5:51 pm #

    Ohmygod, Kirin ! Iwas totally kidding ofcourse xD. Can't you tell ? Besides , the Christians don't do Crusades anymore : too expensive B)

    • kirin October 9, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

      Oh good, I thought so, but I can never guess it right how Christians would feel, as I don't have any specific religion. I believe in God, but I just don't care which God it is. :p

      Sometimes Intensedebate takes extra time to proceed comments. Your first comment was somehow gone since I approved. It makes several errors all the time… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I like this threads style, so… sorry for the confusion.

  11. Cat October 22, 2009 at 8:54 pm #

    Hi Kirin. I come from a Christian family and I don't find that cafe offensive at all. It looks really fantastic to visit – perhaps next time I am in Japan I will go there.

    I was wearing lolita fashion regularly last year (while living in Brisbane). When wearing lolita you get many comments – some nice but many nasty. Also you receive the same questions about what you are wearing and why you are wearing it all the time. Sometimes that becomes annoying – so maybe that is part of why the Lolitas you tried to interview in Harajuku were so resistant to questions. Also, some Lolitas I know in Brisbane are very very shy and quiet girls.

  12. David Redmon October 31, 2009 at 3:32 am #

    Hi Kirin! Thanks for translating in such a patient and careful manner. You have a wonderful sense of humor. We'll see you soon, I hope. David

    • kirin October 31, 2009 at 3:24 pm #

      Hi David! Wow, thank you for commenting here. Was I that funny? Ahahaha! I guess I should watch the secret video you took in Akiba. (LOL) I hope to see you again! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck for your trip.

  13. kelly December 28, 2010 at 3:59 am #

    i've always loved lolita style. i used to dress like it, and every one thought it was strange. my parents didn't like it so i had to stop. when i dressed lolita people would always ask me questions, like why i dressed up like that or if my clothes were uncomfortable, and it started to really annoy me. i think i've always been a lolita on the in side – im extremely shy, i barely even talk to my family or close friends. i never know what to talk about because no one has the same interests as me. i feel so awkward around people that i like to spend most of my time alone.

    is lolita style very popular now ? it kind of seems like it to me, but i guess many of them are casual lolita and not "genuine" lolita.

    • kirin December 29, 2010 at 7:48 am #

      You must be a genuine lolita!
      If you come to Harajuku, you can still see lolita girls.
      I wouldn't say lolita style is very popular in Japan, because we can only see them in Harajuku.
      I didn't know there were lolita tasted girls and genuine lolita girls from the bottom of their heart.

  14. mirian January 28, 2011 at 1:00 am #

    OH! it must be a nice experice. I find lolita fashion very beautiful, sad Iam a litlle old for that:(.
    I like to now here I can find the result of that work? It seem interesting.

    • kirin January 29, 2011 at 5:12 am #

      I think they are still editing the film. I hope I'll be informed when it's completed and available. In that case, I'm sure I will let you know in this blog. ^ ^

Leave a Reply

