kawaii hat

25 Sep

kawaii hat
26/NOV/2008 on air

*This episode was missing from the list, but the content is from fall 2008, which doesn’t always mean what’s spoken inside corresponds with fall 2009.

30% of people in Harajuku enjoy wearing hats. Why they like to wear it? Because we can change our image or the atmosphere with just one hat.

Loro, a hat store in Shibuya is where anyone can find a hat that suits on him or her.  Most of the products in the store are handmade, yet they are around 7000 yen, not so expensive. Joyuubou, or actress hat got so popular. Actress would wear it low over her eyes to hide the face. This makes the face look smaller and of course people would not notice that person is an actress. When common people, just like us do the same, people might think that we are celebrity or actress. That’s how this hat became popular.

21-year-old fashion school student who belongs to hat and jewelry design dept. has collected as many as 50 hats. When she gets dressed, she chooses hat first then other clothing that look good with the hat.

Wearing a hat can make one’s face look smaller.

Knit cafe is so popular. Even middle-high aged men are into knitting.

“There should be no one that looks poor wearing a hat,” says Mr. Toshio Yoshizawa an owner of hat stores in the world. He says, when one thinks he doesn’t look good with hat, that’s only because he doesn’t know the good angle.
First of all, those who has big eyes especially look good with hat on.
Secondary, it’s cool to wear a traditional hat in a little twisted way.

He likes watching young people in Harajuku to consider what kind of hat is hot now, what shape of hat will look good on Japanese people, and so on. He has become so popular among Harajuku by now, but his store used to be in Ameyoko, Ueno (Tokyo) back in 1989.
He used to sell imported hats from the U.S, and this cashed in on the boom of so-called “Amecaji” (American Casual fashion) In 1997, he established his original brand saying good bye to the imported American hats. His company has grown so big now as to spread worldwidely. Mr. Toshio says, “I don’t hire serious-minded fellow. I like someone being crazy for music, for example. Backgrounds don’t matter at all!” His employees mention that Mr. Toshio will not care about the sales, he cares about if the hat is something outstanding or not.

Finally he says, “We look greater, as we get used to wearing a hat. It’s so true!”

Kirin’s opinion

I like hat, but I’ve never thought of selecting what to wear from the taste of the hat. I liked that idea, and in that way, there’s no wonder one has as many as 50 hats. It also sounds true to me that we look good with hat when we get used to wearing it.
But at first, I remember I was a little embarrassed to wear it.
Now, I’d wear it so often, but most of the case I do to hide my messy hair! (LOL)
How about you? Do you have any episode with hat?

12 Responses to “kawaii hat”

  1. アマンダ September 26, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

    Ooh, I think I want to try wearing hats now!!
    次の番組、スイーツアクセ、超楽しみにしているよ!。+。(*^∀^)

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 7:30 am #

      おー、りょうかーい。^^; といってもすぐにできるか、わからないけどね。
      Please be patient, but I'll do it one by one.
      You can understand the episodes without my English summary can't you?
      That's because your Japanese is so good, now that I can see you know how to write in casual way.
      I have to take time for translations for those who don't understand Japanese. This is however a good way to improve my English, too.

  2. Miss Ia September 28, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    I love hats! I don't get the chance to wear them very often, because I'm usually at work. I have a small collection, and I hope I can add more as time passes. ^-^ I didn't know hats were so popular in Japan – Here, you rarely see anyone wearing a hat!

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 7:34 am #

      This show is especially focusing on Shibuya and Harajuku (Tokyo), the center of fashion. That means most of the Japanese people at all the other areas do not usually wear hats. (I should write as "hats" in plural…OK, I'm learning, too! For me, singular and plural or "a" and "the" is the most difficult parts in English.) ^ ^;

  3. Cath October 1, 2009 at 6:56 am #

    Not many Singaporeans wear hats, although I see them a little more often now. Our weather is just too humid for hats! I would love to wear hats when I do back to Tokyo. But my head is shaped like a ginkgo nut and I don't know what style suits me!

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 7:39 am #

      Ginkgo nut-shaped head? (^3^) what is that…? Sorry I am not supposed to laugh but, you sound funny…hahaha!!
      My problem is that my back of the head is totally flat! How is this? I think it's worse. (-_-) Hats maybe good to cover it though…

  4. Lisa December 8, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    Ahhh, hats! I love hats! Kobe is really great for hats, and I bought a couple there. But I gave them away to friends before leaving Japan because otherwise they would have gotten squashed on the trip home… A real shame! I wear hats a lot here because it's so COLD! But of course it's mainly a fashion accessory…. and also to cover the fact that I've not brushed my hair properly in the morning. 😉

    • kirin December 11, 2009 at 11:00 am #

      I always wear cap or hat to hide my messy hair! (LOL)

  5. mimi-chan February 19, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    thankyou so much for putting these videos on!!!! i try watching them on youtube but there only 4 minutes long!
    again thankyou so much!!!

  6. jessy February 26, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    i agree with you.
    sometimes i wear hats to hide my bad hair ><
    most times i wear hats in winter, so
    at that times i get used to it.
    hats are always a good accesory.
    especially for the beach –> looks good and hides from the sun

    • kirin February 27, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      I wear hat whenever I walk my dog for 3 reasons:
      1) To protect myself from sunshine (ultraviolet light)
      2) To hide my messy hair :p
      3) To protect myself from wind in winter

      ^_-

Leave a Reply

