Your name in Kanji

20 Sep

I made a simple video to reply to the comment from Amanda, and it tells you how it’d be like to have Kanji name. You can have any combination of Kanji that you like! Hope she likes my suggestion better than other options she had.

Enjoy your Kanji!

35 Responses to “Your name in Kanji”

  1. 愛満妥・アマンダ September 20, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

    どうも有り難うございました!That was soooo nice of you to do a video for me! ^_^ Thank you so much!!

    「愛」という漢字がすごい大好きですよ。英語でアマンダの意味は「愛すべき」ですから、「愛」がある漢字の名前は完璧です。

    Previously, when I tried to make up kanji names, I only used the on-yomi and kun-yomi. I didn't realise that sometimes the readings can be different in names (like just 'a' for 愛 instead of 'ai'). I think it's really interesting!

    日本人の友達に私の漢字名前を教えるのを楽しみにしています!手伝ってくれて有り難うございました。

    • kirin September 21, 2009 at 12:29 am #

      I'm glad you liked it! Your comment was right at the good timing when I was wondering how to make this video.
      I'd rather thank YOU for leaving that comment. hehehe… XD
      I think it's got a nice meaning as "full of love" 😉
      What a coincidence your name originally has something to do with love?!

      I didn't know English name had a meaning itself? Every name? Only yours? It's very interesting and I wonder how you will ever know the meaning. Because in Kanji, anyone can guess from Kanji character what the meaning of the name is. But in English, Ama refers to Amor or something?

      BTW your Japanese is good!

  2. mintz September 20, 2009 at 3:18 pm #

    This entry made me go and search for the pronunciation of my kanji name. 郭思敏 which is kaku shi bin. Doesn't sound like a girl's name to me haha.. But it was fun looking for my name 🙂

    • kirin September 21, 2009 at 12:51 am #

      Is your name in Chinese? It looks intelligent and decent to me though. It's difficult when your name includes the sound that has small number of Kanji options. Bin is one of them. But that Kanji looks good. 😉 Many people ask how to spell their names in Kanji, but choosing the best Kanji by oneself is much fun.

      • mintz September 21, 2009 at 9:31 am #

        yes it is in chinese haha… but seems like the basic meaning of the words in kanji is the same as chinese. it is a very common name for chinese girls.

  3. Ivy September 21, 2009 at 10:27 am #

    My Chinese name is 爱薇。Family name 陈。It's quite a coincidence that 爱薇 in Japanese (Aibi) is pronounced very simiarly to my English name. Hahaha. But then again in one of the Southern Chinese dialects, 爱薇 is also pronounced as Aibi so maybe it's not such a coincidence after all. 😀

    I think people need to be a little careful when they pick kanji names because the combination of kanji sometimes can lead to quite a humorous result. LOL.

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 6:58 am #

      Your Chinese name also sounds beautiful! I like that. 🙂
      The funny combination of Kanji results in humorous result…I agree with you! LOL

  4. theSWIT September 21, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

    thank you kirin chan ! I know how they name kanji alrd !
    Its like foreigners name their name in Chinese as in (eg, Mary = Ma Li 玛丽) in mandarin so the same goes to english>japanese (kanji) but now Im confused about the onyomi/yunyomi.. I hope tht you can explain it in future videos !thank you again !<:

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 7:02 am #

      Kunyomi usually needs Hiragana for completion. Onyomi usually needs another Kanji to complete the word. But as you say, it maybe easier to explain this in video. It's very interesting to look back why we use Japanese in this way. Thank you for your question.

  5. G... September 22, 2009 at 2:22 am #

    Kirin-san, many names have meanings. However, many “English” names were originally not English words. For example, my name (Gary) comes from the German word “ger,” meaning “spear.” My brother’s name was originally Greek, and my parent’s names are originally from the Bible.

    I may sound like I know a lot about names, but I don’t really. I just looked them up on http://www.behindthename.com/

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 7:08 am #

      Thank for sharing the interesting link with us. It sounds like each English name or foreign name described alphabetically has its own history. That's very interesting. I'd refer to the link if I name myself an English name in the future. 😀

  6. riotnikki September 30, 2009 at 5:11 am #

    I have no idea what my given name (Nicole) would be in Kanji but my nickname already is kind of Japanese isn't it? (Nikki).

    • kirin October 7, 2009 at 7:16 am #

      When I hear Nikki, it directly means diary in Japanese. You can put any Kanji into Nicole -> Ni Ko Lu -> for example, 似呼留 丹湖瑠 whatever… But mmmm, the second one may look like a name of a place or something. The first one also means "resemble" "call" "remain" which doesn't sound any meaningful for human names. Sorry for that. (@_@;;) But I personally don't dislike either of them though, when I see the balance of Kanji.

  7. KEI May 7, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Hi Kirin, this is an interesting entry. I do not really like my name when i was young because my friends and teachers always have hard time pronoucing my english name. =( but as I grow older i started to appreciate my name more and more! My chinese name is 楚慧 (meaning 清楚的智慧 which means 'Having a Clear Knowledge') and my family name is 蘇. when its spelled in English its Soh Chio Hui. When i took up japanese classes in school our teacher wrote our names in Katakana, then i realise its very easy to break down as ソー。チイオフイand i am happy because she can pronouce my name the right way. Its convenient! BUT because japanese call people by their family name i was made fun of, ソー as そう!(=_=)

    • kirin May 11, 2010 at 2:22 am #

      Thank you for sharing an interesting story. I'm happy to hear that katakana solved your problem! 😀

  8. KEI May 7, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Then i was occasionally involved in activities of bring Japanese students who come over for tour, the students couldn't remember my name well, then i realise 慧 is also KEI in japanese thus i use it as my 'japanese name' so that they can remember me. Because my actual name is 楚慧, does "楚" have any pronouciation & meaning in japanese?
    By the way sorry for the long comments, i just got hyped up when i saw this entry. LOL

  9. kody August 12, 2010 at 3:18 am #

    can you help me found out my name in kanji i recentley moved to yamagata and im still trying to learn the kanji my name is kody

    • kirin August 12, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

      Ah~, that's hard because we don't have "dy" sound. Is your name コーディーin Katakana? I sometimes don't even know how to read foreign names. ^ ^;

  10. Kaitlyn August 21, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    Hmmm… I wonder what my name is in kanji…

    Do you know Kirin-Chan?

  11. melanie December 10, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    Hi, i was visiting your blog when i foind this page, then i decided to search for my kanji name. My name in english is melanie, and the translation of my name according to the website is http://japanesetranslator.co.uk/your-name-in-japa

    I was wondering if it's correct?

    • kirin December 12, 2010 at 12:03 am #

      Hi Melanie,
      Yes, the website is cool. It's absolutely correct!! (^0^)

      • melanie December 13, 2010 at 8:12 am #

        Thanks so much! ^^

      • melanie December 13, 2010 at 9:12 am #

        Oh i just want to ask another thing. After browsing many websites, I realised that the name i found in the website, is actually not kanji but katakana?? Then i went to search again for my kanji name and i got this: 目良似. I don't actually like it but i don't know if there's any other options? I'm currently self learning Japanese so it's really hard 😦

        After reading many people's comments on your blog, I realised that generally people have a harder time writing kanji. Personally i find it harder to write hiragana/katakana. Maybe its because i learn chinese? I find that kanji and chinese are quite similar. For example, January is 一月 in both kanji and chinese.

      • kirin December 13, 2010 at 11:22 am #

        Oh, you were looking for your name in Kanji? Yes, the one you found above is Katakana, not Kanji.
        Melanie can be any ways…for example 芽羅似. It's a combination of kanji from it's sound of 'me' 'la' and 'ni'.

        Japanese and Chinese share many same characters, because our culture is much influenced by China in a long history. That's why I think I should learn Chinese, I have advantage, right? ^ ^

      • melanie December 14, 2010 at 1:39 am #

        Oh i see.. Thank you!

        I think you should learn chinese! Yeah, you would have advantage. Many people can speak chinese but can't write chinese characters mainly because of the many strokes in a word. But since kanji and chinese is kinda similar, i don't think you will have that problem. Chinese is my 2nd language so i can speak and write it well that's why i prefer writing kanji to katakana.^^

      • kirin December 14, 2010 at 3:00 am #

        Thank you for sharing that story with me. I understand many people who study Japanese also say Kanji is the most difficult thing. It's like I was wasting an opportunity to learn Chinese. OK~~, I have advantage, Kanji is no problem to me (of course, I'm Japanese lol), thank you Melanie.

      • melanie December 15, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

        Haha I should be the one thanking you! Pls do keep this learn Japanese page going! It has helped me alot! 🙂

  12. jianing March 10, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    I have a chinese name 佳柠(jianing) and i was told it was read Karei, but im not very fond of the sound ._<

    is it possible to make a new name with ja-nin ?

    thanks kirin-san!
    😀

    • kirin March 10, 2011 at 5:06 am #

      Kanji for the sound of "Ja" is not good. 蛇 (snake) 邪 (evil)…maybe 雀 or 舎 will do…but these kanji should not always read Ja.
      For the sound of "Nin" maybe 忍 or 任 or 人…but you see it means so bad if you combine 邪人or 蛇人 for example. Don't do that.

  13. Hannah June 15, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Haha, I have a very simple name, Hannah. Which translates to Hana, and Hana is also the kanji for flower or nose. I like to represent myself in Japanese with the kanji for flower. I've learnt it off by heart now and I put it on my artwork!

    • kirin June 16, 2011 at 11:57 am #

      What a lovely name you have! ^_^

  14. kayleemarie July 2, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    I've made a Kanji nickname that I use for avatar communities and accounts. I've always found the meaning cute.
    Chiyonatsu, which, if the website I got it from is correct, when used with the Kanji 千代夏 means thousand-generation summer. c: It always reminds me of fireworks and lemonade and meteor showers.

    My name also seems to read KeiriiMarii. ❤

  15. Melanie October 4, 2014 at 3:47 am #

    I was wondering if you can help with putting my name in kanji. My name is Melanie Mateus, I would be very grateful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

