Do you like DOMO or KERORO?

14 Sep
domokun I wonder if there are any other places but Japan where people like cute characters as much as Japanese people. I am not that much into character goods, except that I love Rilakkuma, but I think they are all so kawaii! Even Ultraman can be so cute when he turns to be a little soft toy! I happened to find this character street when I dropped at Rilakkuma store.

Tokyo Character Street is located in the basement of Tokyo station where you can shop following character toys.

-NHK characters, as represented by Domo-kun.
-Hello Kitty shop
-Snoopy shop
Rascal (I loved this anime so much when I was a kid! I miss it!!)
-Ghibli characters, as represented by Ponyo or Totoro.
-Fuji TV characters
-TV Tokyo characters, as represented by Keroro Gunso.
-TV Asahi characters, as represented by Doraemon.
-Nihon TV characters
-Jump shop with characters such as One Piece or Reborn.
-Ultraman shop
…and so on. So many cute character toy shops gathered at one location in Tokyo, which was just like another KIDDY LAND to me.

ultraman

keroro
ponyo

But I never expected Rascal shop. It’s an old anime. Are you familiar with Rascal?

When I was a kid, I had many kind of animals; bird, rabbit, hamster, dog…It’s not too much to say that I grew up with animals. They were always around me since I was very little. Now I can feel these great anime programs might have influenced that, as I really liked watching “Rascal” and “Flanders no inu (dog)” far more than girly anime such as Candy Candy.

Are they familiar to you, too? I heard many Japanese anime can be watched overseas. Well…I am totally off the track! :p If you find characters of your taste, Tokyo Character Street is another option!

20 Responses to “Do you like DOMO or KERORO?”

  1. Patty September 14, 2009 at 4:15 pm #

    Wow, talk about walking down the memory lane. I remember when I was little, in Hong Kong, you can buy comic book for Candy Candy. That was a big thing because most of the comic books are boys-oriented. So, to have a girls comic book, coloring book, and dress up set, was a big deal. Next to Hello Kitty, of course. I also remembered Flanders, but was so confuse because I always thought they're French, but they speak Chinese, and walking by windmills.

    • kirin September 15, 2009 at 1:43 am #

      Did you watch Flanders in your country, too? But in Chinese, not in Japanese? Anyway I know Rascal or Flanders, they are stories from Canada or Belgium, I guess. But the original novels were made into animation in Japan…That's how I think. :p

  2. Walter September 14, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    I have the impression Japan are more interested with cute characters than people in my country. Is it more a female thing ? I can't picture Japanese men being interested in cute characters.
    According to this article http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/ja… it's not cute characters their ( at least a rising number of them) hands are reaching out for.

    • kirin September 15, 2009 at 1:47 am #

      Somehow the link you gave me is not visible, it seems to be 404 error…
      You can't imagine Japanese men being interested in cute characters? Haha, young men, say in their 10s or 20s are!
      They'd even wear Hello Kitty underwear and bring small Rilakkuma toy strap on mobile phone! I'm not kidding. I see many young men these days acting like girls.

  3. Miss Ia September 14, 2009 at 8:46 pm #

    I wish there were at least a proper sanrio store around here! I'm a huge fan of Sanrio and San-X, I really love them all. πŸ˜€ Pandas and bunnies were my favourite animals for a long time, but now I really like foxes. I never see cute fox toys anywhere, though. Also – I'm not familiar with those anime, but I'll have to check them out! Between Domo and Keroro, I like Keroro better. πŸ™‚

  4. Walter September 14, 2009 at 8:48 pm #

    Yes we can watch anime here , although not regularly on TV . A dog of Flanders is unknown to me , even though I live here o.0. I had to Google the name to find out it was written in 1872 by an English woman and tells the story of a boy and his dog in Belgium !
    Of course it's illegal to have a dog pull a milk cart these days : did they ever use dogs to pull carts in Japan ?. The story in the book sounds like a total sob story πŸ˜₯ . Now I'm curious to see the anime.^_^

    • kirin September 15, 2009 at 2:02 am #

      Oh that's interesting. Flanders is from where you are! Even though the anime is made in Japan, there's no Japanese culture inside the story except for the language was spoken in Japanese. That means, there's no custom that dogs pull a milk cart in Japan, either. If Japanese culture is loaded in the anime, they should eat rice, instead of bread. (LOL)

      These animations were really touching and I think we learned how to be nice to people and to animals. I believe these were very educational, and it was not just anime but was teaching something very important in our life. Kids learned things like that thru anime. I think that was good.

  5. mintz September 15, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    ohhh. thanks for this post πŸ˜€ If i ever visit Tokyo, I'll make sure I go to these character shops ^^

    • kirin September 18, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

      If only there are characters of your taste, mintz. Kiddy Land in Harajuku deals with more characters in variety.

  6. Harvey September 17, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

    Cool! Do a video about Giongo and Gitaigo. I love them! And there are so many…

    • kirin September 18, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

      Oh, you know them already! Giongo and Gitaigo are my favorite. I'd say I like Japanese for those. I'll try to make a video about them in the future. Thank you for your opinion, and I'm glad you introduced my video in your blog, too. ^ ^

  7. bianca October 3, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    I like ULTRAMAN better, lol.

    • kirin October 10, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

      When it comes to character toy, ULTRAMAN looks a lot cuter than the real one. πŸ˜‰

  8. VA October 5, 2009 at 6:46 pm #

    I wish there were at least a proper sanrio store around here! I’m a huge fan of Sanrio and San-X, I really love them all. πŸ˜€ Pandas and bunnies were my favourite animals for a long time, but now I really like foxes. I never see cute fox toys anywhere, though. Also – I’m not familiar with those anime, but I’ll have to check them out! Between Domo and Keroro, I like Keroro better. πŸ™‚

    • kirin October 10, 2009 at 12:21 pm #

      Oh I thought Sanrio is spread everywhere by now…but you can buy them anytime online! πŸ˜‰

  9. Becca October 9, 2009 at 4:47 am #

    I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE DOMO-KUN. He is my favourite! I started collecting one or two things of Domo-kun in high school but haven't gotten much lately because I am saving to pay my tuition ;__; Domo-kun is becoming quite popular now, appearing in shops like Urban Outfitters and recently 7 Eleven in the US started a domo-kun cup/slurpee campaign : ( I am in Canada so I can't get any. ❀

    • kirin October 10, 2009 at 12:18 pm #

      7 eleven in the U.S is becoming like the one in here? I like 7 eleven or other major convenience stores dealing with Rilakkuma goods of special version. (I like Rilakkuma ^ ^ http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/2121)

  10. Qawaii January 9, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

    Kero~kero~
    OFC Keroro Gunsou!!! xD

  11. Domo Pictures April 19, 2012 at 6:45 am #

    I love domo Kun and mostly I like domo t-shirts. I have big collection of domo Kun from my childhood and whenever I seen them my old memories became fresh.

Leave a Reply

