Do blood types change personality?

30 Aug
blood-type Do you or your friends or family care about blood types? We do in Japan, and I learned it’s something specific in Japan. “anan” Magazine has just issued a number featuring blood types, while many books on blood types have been issued. Blood types is the issue that is liked to be discussed any time, anywhere, in Japan. My blood type is O, and it is roughly said;
-to be a good leader
-to be friendly and sociable
-not to be worried too much about mistakes
-to be romantic rather than realistic
-to be good at taking care of people
-to be a good speaker rather than a good listener
-to be honest
-to be careless
-to be a poor planner
-to show likes and dislikes strongly
-to be too confident and selfish

…Some sound true but some don’t. 😦
How about other blood types?

For blood type B, it’s roughly said;
-to be very active to work and hobbies
-to be positive
-to have diverse interests and curiosity
-to have good sense especially for art
-to be easily warmed up but just as easily cooled down
-to dislike team playing work
-to like to do things at one’s own pace

blood-type-so-what

How about blood type A?
-to be responsible and deliberate
-to be a hard worker
-to consider moral, rule and regulation are something very important
-to value happy harmony
-to be well-organized
-to be inflexible
-to be worried too much about mistakes
-to be passive
-to be worried too much about what other people would think

Finally blood type AB
-to be cool-headed and very smart
-to be a good planner and flexible
-to be calculating to figure out if things are profitable to one or not
-to be a good listner
-to be mean-spirited from time to time
-to be irresponsible and confusing people around

If you know your blood type, what do you think?
Although my blood type is O, I have many traits from other blood types that apply to my personal character. How is yours?

But there I found one thing that looks definitely true to Japanese people. Did you know that blood type A is major in Japan? Meaning most of Japanese people are made from blood A-type of personality! There’s no wonder many of us are working very hard, and that many of us belong to companies as employees rather than entrepreneurs or self-employed. No wonder many of us are very shy due to the fear of making mistakes, being too deliberate to anything. Maybe that’s why we have to wear company uniforms, do things on time strictly, act polite, and so cooperativeness is considered something most important at work? No…you’ll deny that later when you see the chart at the bottom. :p

I hear that many foreign tourists in Japan are so much impressed with how polite and kind Japanese people are, how clean and well-organized train stations or public places are, how punctual everything is, and so on. Is that because blood-A created this country? No, I’m just kidding. XD

Look at the distribution map of blood types.
Disclaimer: The chart is from this site.
blood-type-map

Red = blood type A
Blue = blood type B
Yellow = blood type O
*blood type AB is minor worldwidely.

According to the map, we can see Europe and most of Australia have majority of blood type A, while north and south America and Africa have majority of blood type O. It’s interesting that majority of blood type B is only concentrated in central Asia.

Overall, discussing blood types and personality maybe just nonsense, but Japanese people still like this topic a lot!
If you read Japanese, you can read more in details from here.
You can also try to enter yours and your partner’s blood types to enjoy the result of chemistry just for fun! 😉

ps) This is a reserved post for you while I am off for vacation in Sydney. Your comments may need time until approved by me. But feel free to discuss and share your thoughts. I’m looking forward to reading them later! Thanks!!

22 Responses to “Do blood types change personality?”

  1. Walter August 30, 2009 at 8:22 pm #

    xD. You're right . Blood type and it's influence on your character is complete nonsense. Just like the blood type diet, the influence of your star sign, ( the year you were born in ( year of the pig, the dragon, etc..).
    Your character is first defined by the influence of your parents, later on by your environment ( school ,education, life experiences).
    B), not by the presence of A or B antigens on your red blood cells. ( In fact , next to the ABO blood group system , which classifies blood tpe in A,B,AB and O there are 29 other blood groups. Why ? Well because there are 29 other types of antigens covering your red blood cells. In fact there are about 600 different antigens.
    Why would only the ABO blood group matter in defining your character ?Because that's all most people know .

    It's as scientific as classifying people by the color of their eyes or the color of their hair.
    Of course Japanese people are smart and hardworking : they're not blond and blue-eyed. Ahahaha!

    Yes I know it's a big topic in Japan and many people list their blood group along with their star sign. The blood type diet is a big topic over here too ( until the next diet hype comes along)

    • kirin September 2, 2009 at 4:12 am #

      Yeah, as you say blood type should not be that easy. But the books are selling crazy in Japan. I won't buy it. I read a couple of pages of blood type O book roughly but found that some did not apply to me at all. 😦

    • robert May 5, 2010 at 11:15 am #

      Blood is very important my father is A and my mom is B. I think you can guest out what is my.

      • kirin May 6, 2010 at 12:25 am #

        You should be A or B or AB…right? Do you think your way of acting is similar to the same blood type grouped people? I am blood type O and sometimes I strongly agree that I act the same way as most blood type O people, but sometimes not at all.

  2. Walter August 30, 2009 at 8:34 pm #

    Hi Kirin,

    I found this interesting article on the popularity of blood type lecture in Japan in 'The Japan Times'
    http://search.japantimes.co.jp/rss/nn20081231f3.h
    enjoy!

    • kirin September 2, 2009 at 4:22 am #

      It's also true that many people like to read about blood types and personality for fun.
      Thank you for sharing us the good article, Walter. 🙂

  3. cin August 31, 2009 at 6:00 am #

    haha i actually did this as a topic for my japanese class a few years ago 🙂

  4. Miss Ia August 31, 2009 at 4:02 pm #

    I always wondered if blood type was really such a common topic – it's brought up a lot in manga, and in the english Gothic & Lolita Bible there was a small segment over it. I'm a blood type O, too! I find that I match a lot of those things *particularly more romantic than realistic, haha* but some things I don't know how true they are, and I do share traits of other blood types. I think that those are just the most common traits – the same with horoscopes. Different things in our life help to shape us into who we are, it deals with social conditioning as well as innate things (like blood type and horoscope) so no blood type or horoscope description can be 100% accurate all the time. But, I do find they are usually accurate enough! haha If I were to take the two blood types that I share the most in common with I would be an OB blood type! 😀 What about you?

    • kirin September 2, 2009 at 4:28 am #

      Same here! If I were to take the two blood types, that'd be OB. :p
      (It's not just a coincidence that my mom is blood type B.)

      Blood type and horoscope look similar. When I was young, as a teenager, I was into horoscope to see if I can be a girlfriend of someone I like. But as I get old, I stopped paying attention to that.

      • Miss Ia September 2, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

        haha, I still do that! 😛

      • kirin September 3, 2009 at 11:28 am #

        It's good, as long as you enjoy that! I miss those days. My relationship with hubby is very stable but that means I'm losing something exciting…

      • Miss Ia September 4, 2009 at 4:52 pm #

        I wouldn't worry about it – just make something exciting happen! 😀

  5. megan September 1, 2009 at 1:12 am #

    Hm, I'm not sure what my bloodtype is (It would be neat to know!). I think the description for O fits the personalities for a lot of us here in North America, though. 🙂

    • kirin September 2, 2009 at 4:33 am #

      Yes, in North America, O is wide spread, as well as Africa, Canada and South America. They are marked with yellow color in the map. When I was in the U.S, I was shocked to know that most of the U.S people didn't know their own blood types. That was one of big differences between our country. Over here, there are almost none who don't know his or her blood type.

  6. アマンダ September 3, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

    My boyfriend doesn't know his blood type and his mother doesn't know either! I was so surprised, I thought everyone knew their blood type. If I were to guess by your blog… I think he would be a B. I think it's fun, like star signs and personality quizzes and stuff.

    • kirin September 4, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

      It's interesting if his blood type really was B. xD When will he know? Maybe that's when he donate his blood for someone?

  7. bianca October 3, 2009 at 5:14 pm #

    I've heard about the blood types and personalities. I'm an avid fan of Jpop and I see them talking about their blood types.
    It's really interesting but I still don't get how they figured the personalities for each blood type. 🙂

    • kirin October 8, 2009 at 1:45 pm #

      That's the mystery to me, too. (*_*)

  8. domo August 1, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Hi kirin,
    I heard that blood B type is the most unpopular in japan..May i know is it true?

    • kirin August 3, 2010 at 12:05 am #

      Blood type AB is the most unpopular one and blood type A is the most popular one. 🙂

      • domo August 3, 2010 at 11:09 am #

        Sorry,I guess i did not state clearly.
        The most unpopular blood type that i mean are blood type that most people don't like in japan.(worst blood type)
        I heard that there are lots of books with titles like dealing with people that are blood B type,or don't blame yourself if your are blood B type..or Boyfriend with blood B type and etc…
        I just came across with many site that say Blood AB is the worst as it contains both A and B characteristics… which makes AB themselves and others hard to understand them.
        So i was just wondering which blood type are the most unpopular B or AB?

      • kirin August 4, 2010 at 8:28 am #

        Oh, sorry I took it wrong way.
        Haha, ^ ^; it's true it is said blood type AB is the worst and they are twisted because their blood is mixed of A and B and as you say that makes them hard to be understood by others. But blood type B guys are not liked by women, as well.

        But I guess it's only a blood type, you know. There should be more elements that are to be related to the character of the person like what kind of family he was raised in, what level of education he received, and etc. ^ ^;

        To conclude my reply, I guess AB in general is most disliked. But please do not judge people only by the blood types. 😉

Leave a Reply

