Japanese Fashion Magazines, especially for MEN

20 Aug

This is a collection of Japanese fashion magazines especially targeted male readers. I should have included this part in the previous post, but women’s fashion magazines were too many, and I forgot that.

2nd 411
begin chokichoki
cool-trans cover
elo fine-boys
gainer gq
grind joker
leon mens-club
mens-egg mens-ex
mens-nonno oceans
popeye sense
smart tune
uomo woofin

Models on the cover are not always Japanese guys. And again you can guess from the cover what taste of magazines they are. Some target hiphop street fashion, some Onii-kei fashion (Gyaru of male version maybe?) some formal fashion, and so on. I just listed popular magazines I can usually see at a local book store, and of course I don’t know how good they are as I don’t read them. I may just enjoy looking at nice-looking models (I’d like models on Gainer and GQ, how about you? :P) that’s it!

15 Responses to “Japanese Fashion Magazines, especially for MEN”

  1. n a n d a August 21, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    japanese men are well-groomed ❤
    in one of my bro's japanese mag besides articles abt fashion and toy/hobby there are also articles abt hair/skincare/beauty products, how to shape eyebrows and nail art (for men!)
    surprising! ❤

    • kirin August 21, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

      I know these days some of Japanese men go to esthetic salon to get depilation.
      ( http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/1796 ) I also see young guys wearing manicure (black nails) and drawing eyebrows, too. Sometimes it looks too much for men to do that much…

  2. Miss Ia August 21, 2009 at 5:35 pm #

    Awe, I wish American men would pick up on this sort of thing! I love a guy with style, especially if he's well-groomed, too. I'm not even sure if there are men's fashion magazines here (outside of Esquire, if that even counts). I'll have to look the next time.. As for the modesls, the GQ and Gainer models are awfully handsome! ❤ I also really like the Jrock and not too overdone visual kei look, somehow they still look well-groomed, but anyway, that said, I'd probably poke through ChokiChoki, too. ^^; I'm pretty open-minded, and I think that if women are expected to go through all of these hassles, then men should put forth the extra bit of effort as well – but I'm a stickler for style/upkeep. haha

    • kirin August 22, 2009 at 1:21 am #

      I thought American people have a lot more magazines because it's a country of diverse people. If I go to Kinokuniya or any big book store I can find foreign magazines (although very expensive because they are imported) and I may want to check out how they are. :p The model on GQ is a Korean star. ❤

      • Miss Ia August 22, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

        Oh, there are a LOT of magazines (which is why my little bookstore doesn't carry them), but I have yet to see a fashion magazine targeted towards American men. The men's magazines I've seen are more fitness and, well, pretty ladies. ^^; Ooh, wow! What kind of star is he? TV?

      • kirin August 23, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

        I think he is a famous movie star in Korea and very popular in Japan, too. 😀

  3. skyline August 22, 2009 at 12:19 am #

    I was reading your male fashion mag post and started to wonder if there is a Japanese male magazine in English that you can buy?

  4. kirin August 22, 2009 at 1:26 am #

    Hmmm I wonder if we can find such thing because we usually don't use English daily.
    Japan is a racially homogeneous nation, most of the things are available only in Japanese.
    But then what about foreign people who want to learn Japanese fashion? Too small demand to profit?
    I may check this out when I have some free time.

  5. Walter August 22, 2009 at 9:45 am #

    The guy on GQ looks well dressed. I like wearing a nice shirt with matching tie to work, although I usually take the vest off at work.
    And in summer I don't often wear a tie. But.. just white and light blue shirts with a suit ? I like several colours and also dark blue (like on Uomo) and purple , yellow, red to go with a light colored vest. And you must always look well groomed! Clean shave, trimmed fingernails, proper haircut. Hmm . I'd never wear a sakura motif like the guy on Tune. It looks like he's in his underpants.
    Actually ,I like the model on Smart magazine (heh!). I have a few T shirts like that.

    • kirin August 23, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

      In Japan men's business suits are very boring. Black, gray, navy blue…that's it, almost. 😦 How nice you can enjoy so many color options at work!

      Tune magazine is a little bit specific to fashionable young guys around Harajuku. 😉

  6. riotnikki August 23, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    Such handsome Japanese and Korean men. Wow. This is some really nice eye candy!

    • kirin August 23, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

      Ah! That's the way it is said in English? "eye candy"? Meaning feasting one's eyes? That's "me no hoyou (目の保養)" in Japanese. XD I can even learn English from your comments!

  7. mens studs September 3, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

    There are a lot of fashion magazines available these days especially in this part of the world.LEON is the one i usually prefer.

    • kirin September 4, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

      Oh you do? I have not read much of the men's magazines but it must be informative, too. 🙂

  8. Fashion online March 9, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    In Japan and Korean the people like most of the street fashion .They use to wear the rough fashion dresses.

Leave a Reply

