Marui ONE in Shinjuku looks like a little Harajuku.

1 Aug
complete-makeover-marui It has passed so long since I took photos of Marui One fashion department building to write about. I wrote about Marui One when it reopened for renewal some time ago. This time I’d like to post more photos from it.

Marui One is focusing on demand of kawaii fashion. It has Hime taste of store as represented by Jesus Diamante, Goth to Gothloli, and Punk taste of store such as KERA and many other distinctive stores.

When I went there, there was a cute Blythe doll corner and I am very much impressed how Marui put an effort to make this entire fashion building very different from all the other Marui buildings. Just in case you are interested in how other Marui is, I put a link to the online Marui store from which you can shop in your language.

Marui web channel

I am not into Hime or Lolita, or Gothloli fashion at all, but I think it’s nice to have such strong preferences to the outfit they chose to put on. Whatever it is, I like to browse around these stores. Among many unique stores, there was a Yukata store named “Mamechiyo Modern” as in the photo. If I give you the image of Yukata, I’d say it’s a casual version of Kimono. Kimono is made from silk, but Yukata is made from cotton and so the price is totally different. Not many Japanese people nowadays wear Kimono because our culture is so westernized but many people enjoy wearing Yukata during summer, for special occasions such as Hanabi (=fire works observation event) or Bon Odori (=Bon dance) Compared with Kimono, Yukata is casual and easy to buy, wear, and maintain. Girls look definitely kawaii in Yukata! (But I don’t have it, and even if I do, my short hair won’t make me look cute because updoing long hair looks good on Yukata.)

Speaking of center of unique fashion, it’s definitely Harajuku! Hime, Gyaru (Gyaru could be better in Shibuya), Goth, Gothiclolita, Lolita, Punk, and any other cool street fashion is usually concentrated in Harajuku. In that sense, Hime-dressed people or Lolita-looking girls or whatever clothing and tastes one chooses to have, he or she looks OK (not weird!) as long as it’s Harajuku. Same thing can be said about cosplay in Akiba. Cosplaying at any other areas of Tokyo may be seen as weird, but in Akiba (Akihabara) it’s OK. In that way, Marui One in Shinjuku is very convenient to shop such unique taste of clothing, but the place does not give us impressions of free areas of whatever fashion that we can enjoy.

I hear that Goth and Lolita are popular in other countries, too. I think Western people look really cute in such clothing because the original taste is from there.

How the things are in your country? Have you seen Gothloli or Lolita taste of clothing sold at your place? Do you or your friends enjoy such fashion?

blythe-dolls
modern-yukata-shop
a-goth-dressed-shopper
jesus-diamante-shinjuku
32 Responses to “Marui ONE in Shinjuku looks like a little Harajuku.”

  1. Ady August 1, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    Hi! 😀
    I'm from Ottawa, Canada.
    Here in Canada there are many various styles, and there isn't a specific place where goth, gothloli, or punks are seen. All styles are spread out. I'm a mix of styles… Hippie, goth, decora, gothloli, loli… I don't stay with just one. My boyfriend is just a goth. My friends, however, are… "normal", I guess. I wish I had friends with whom I had more in common…
    Anyway..
    Thank you for posting!

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 4:18 am #

      I hear some people enjoy different tastes depending on situations, which I think cool! Sometimes you could be lolita, some other time you could be goth or punk…That's interesting although you have to have many different kind of clothing. I dress normal but still I enjoy casual and formal. 🙂

  2. cin August 1, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    wow I'm putting this in my "places to go" list 😀
    i wanna try a yukata 😀

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 4:30 am #

      Hope you enjoy shopping in Tokyo while you are here. Is it soon? You could try Yukata on at the store. (It's OK just to try and they won't force you to buy it.) One good thing about you is that you understand Japanese. Please understand that most of Japanese people do not speak English, which means you have to ask shop staff in Japanese at the store. But I believe you can do that! 🙂 You can practice your Japanese while travelling~!

      • cin August 2, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

        hehe thanks! 😀 i'm definately practicing my Japanese! I'm going in December so it's still a long way away~
        Can I ask you something?
        Is it better to stay in Ikebukuro or Shinjuku?
        I'm deciding on a hotel 🙂

      • kirin August 3, 2009 at 4:00 am #

        Oh I misunderstood and somehow thought you were coming in this Aug. In December, I'm not sure if they sell Yukata, because Yukata is for summer season. They may change to Kimono (a lot more expensive!) but I have no idea because the store didn't exist last winter.

        Ikebukuro and Shinjuku, these places are not far but Shinjuku is definitely better for connections with all the other lines (railway and bus)!! I'd stay in Shinjuku if I were you. 😉 You can also have small excursions from Shinjuku if you choose some lines that go so far as to little northern or southern part of Kanto area. 🙂

      • cin August 3, 2009 at 9:21 am #

        Hehe coming in August would be nice too 😀 But I got uni at the moment >_<
        Thanks for the tip 😀 We wat to go to Mt Fuji on New Years~ My boyfriend heard that everything is closed in Tokyo on New Years is it true? I can't imagine a city as huge as Tokyo havign everything closed on one day.. Maybe he got it wrong XD

      • kirin August 3, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

        Your BF is right! Even Tokyo, many stores and restaurants will close on 1st Jan. But they open from 2nd or 3rd of Jan.
        Yet this is better compared with other areas. Most stores and restaurants close from 27 or 28 Dec. to 5 or 6 Jan. and somewhere inbetween. As you are away from big city such as Tokyo or Osaka, you'll see more stores are closed for long days. But many people climb up to Mr.Fuji on 31 Dec. and observe the morning sun of the very new year. This is called "Hatsu Hinode"!

  3. aichaku August 2, 2009 at 3:53 am #

    my personal taste is toward hime and loli but i don't dress in this style, just use the small accessories etc to give myself a "taste" of it.

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 4:32 am #

      That's also nice. Mix style also looks nice!

  4. Suzu August 2, 2009 at 6:02 am #

    there are also a lot of girls that looks really cute in a yukata with short hair ~ ! it gives a bit of a otona feel i think =]

    anyway, i love hime and gosurori style ~~ but i dont have enough money to buy the clothes TT__TT (lol)

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 1:06 pm #

      Maybe you're right. When I'm in Japan, almost every fashion magazine likes to have girls with long hair, especially when they wear Yukata. So I started to think that short hair would not match Yukata… I used to have long hair but I like short a lot more! XD

  5. riotnikki August 2, 2009 at 7:17 am #

    Hi Kirin – in the US there are all kinds of different styles but not so many Lolita and Harajuku (kawaii) fashion as in Japan. There is a lot of goth and punk and skater, hip-hop, hippie. I tend more toward hippie myself but I've dressed like that since I was in college so it is not new to me. I am a vegetarian, Buddhist, peace, love and all that kind of chick. But I love the Harajuku fashions and such – especially that store Baby, the stars shine bright – is that the name of it? It was in that cute movie Kamikaze Girls? Ever hear of it? I'm too old to dress like that (I am 40!) but I still adore all things kawaii.

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

      Hi riotnikki. I think you are so cool because you've got yourself, your style, and your thoughts! From what you eat to what you wear, you've got policy. But at the same time, you respect other tastes of fashion, as well. I really like that. 🙂

      I want to be open-minded even if I get aged. I am 30+ years old, which is not young enough to speak about Lolita or cute things but I like to hang around Harajuku and see what's going on among young people. I don't get myself dressed with distincitive dresses such as Lolita or Goth or Hime, but I want to have my mind open for those.

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

      I forgot to paste this link, Baby which you meant this right?
      http://www.babyssb.co.jp/

  6. whitney August 2, 2009 at 7:27 am #

    I Live in NYC and i have seen plenty of punk, goth, and lolita styles, especially at night for clubbing and partying. I am pretty sure i have come across stores specifically for this taste in The Village. I love living here because i get to see so many different styles and inspires me to make my own. I even saw a Gyaru tourist in Macy's before.

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

      Gyaru tourist!!?? Do they dress like that even when they travel abroad? That's dangerous depending on the places. When I travel abroad, I'll try to look cheap so that I will not get ripped off or my money is not stolen by pickpockets. For example I use 100 yen wallet overseas, although I use 13000 yen cute one in Japan. My most concern outside Japan is safety rather than being cute.

  7. whitney August 2, 2009 at 11:01 pm #

    Yep, she dressed liked that, Looking between the Guess, Baby phat, Rocawear and Tokidoki section. Eventhough it's NYC a lot of people had to take a second look ~_~. Maybe because it was the Macy's in Herald square shopping area where a lot of people want to look fashionable and trendy as well as flash their cash.

    • kirin August 3, 2009 at 3:54 am #

      I've never been to NYC, so I have no idea but maybe the place was not that dangerous… (@_@#)

  8. Miss Ia August 3, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

    Hi Kirin! I'm a little late on reading this post. ^^; I love lolita fashion, but I have yet to wear it. I've been observing it over the years, but I never got fully into it because it seemed so unattainable (back when I couldn't sew). Now that it is much more easy to get, it has gained a great deal of popularity. But, there is still no specific spot for the fashion like Harajuku. There are online communities for the style, where you can organise meet-ups and chat. Unfortunately, it's less avant-gaurde than previously, and more all about the brand names and standard looks from the Gothic and Lolita Bible. Some girls are actually rude to others because they are not wearing brand/adding details that are not "lolita" to the outfit, etc. It's starting to be less about self-expression, and is looked at more as a fashion. I don't know if Japanese girls are the same?

    • kirin August 4, 2009 at 1:45 pm #

      It's never too late to join the comments any time. I'm responding to it, anyhow! 😉
      There seems to be several kinds of lolita girls- those who just enjoy it as fashion, and those who are lolita from inside to the whole look-. There are friendly type of lolita and unfriendly and quiet type of lolita. I don't know exactly but it seems that many of them just want to be left alone without interference. Well I really don't know their world but I just like to see that people enjoy any kind of fashion. :p

      • Miss Ia August 4, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

        Thank you for the insights. 😀 I love seeing people dressed up, because it's not something I see often.

  9. stylistainthemaking January 22, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Hi!
    I always see a lot of Japanese girls dressed in kawaii fashion, and it makes me wonder: Is it only the girls who dress in this trend, or o Japanese guys dress "kawaii", too? If so, how does a guy in kawaii fashion look like?

    Thanks! ^_^

  10. stylistainthemaking January 26, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    Haven't read it yet..reading it right now..thanks again.. 🙂

  11. karina March 6, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    there are quite a few Gothlolis / Lolitas around here (depending on where u go). i like hanging around the markets so there are quite a lot of them. but…the numbers have gone down because the shops are closing down and there was a bad fire so a lot of the Gothloli / Lolita places had to close and haven't come back.

    i've even seen people hanging around really "posh" areas wearing the same loli coat as me or something…you just sort of smile and nodd at each other and then run and hide 😛 haha.

    it's very expensive though…and quite hard to get hold of your size because the people who own the stalls etc have to go to japan, buy the stuff and bring it back with them so once your size is sold out (limited quantities)…it can get a little pointless looking at stuff.

    i don't really have a style…i just buy whatever i like / looks good and whatever i can get hold of / afford 😛 hehe that makes me…really random? a lot of my friends really like Gothicloli/ Lolita…it's certainly getting more supporters over here…

    • kirin March 7, 2010 at 7:33 am #

      Thanks for sharing your story. I have no GothLoli friends so I really don't know details of these stores or trends and etc.
      ^ ^; But they are priced very high, yes, I was so much surprised!

  12. Gynna March 9, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    Hey I was wondering if this place still excists? I remember it from back in 2008 but when i visited in summer 2009 it had vanished. Or moved to a different location?! Could you tell me where in shinjuku this is? I really wanna visite a jesus diamante store!

  13. Yuthika January 27, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    I so love this shop, and I cant stop buying there!!
    Love from Holland

    • kirin January 28, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      It's good you found your favorite shop in Tokyo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

