Japanese-English and English-Japanese online dictionary

29 Jul

eijiro

This is the online Japanese – English or English – Japanese dictionary that I use when I write a blog post. (I cannot do without it. So I can easily get stuck with right wordings when I film my Youtube video. How stressfult it is to do this in second language! But I know I can improve it little by little, and I quite like the way to improve it from daily communication with other English-speaking people.)

ALC is a Japanese company engaged in English education or study-abroad programs from Japan to the world. The goodness about this online dictionary named Eijiro that ALC offers is that we can look up the word both in English and in Japanese. Meaning, if you enter Japanese word into the box, the English word that corresponds to the Japanese word will be shown as a result. When you hit English word, vice versa. So you don’t have to switch the box whether it’s from Japanese to English or the other way round. You can use whichever ways!

Another good thing is that we can search the word just like we search by Google. Let’s say I didn’t come up with the word “other way round” but I remembered only “other ??? round” I can just type as “other round” in the search box and hit enter. Then the right word can be found among the results. This also goes with misspellings. For example when I search as “simultanious” they suggest if I mean “simultaneous” but this is not alway working as I wish. :p

If you study Japanese, you can make use of it. But in that case you have to know exact Kanji to enter because they do not recognize the Japanese word, which normally is described in Kanji, written in Hiragana or Katakana. While it looks good as long as you learn corresponding Japanese words from the result of the English word you enter.

Just in case, for those who are unfamiliar with Kanji, Hiragana and Katakana, take a look at how to write “kawaii” in Japanese and see that we have 3 ways to write it in Japanese. However, usually one of them is mostly used at most occasions.

17 Responses to “Japanese-English and English-Japanese online dictionary”

  1. Miss Ia July 29, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

    I wish it were just hiragana or katakana all the time! hehehe I read somewhere that katakana is usually only used for places and names, is that true?

    • kirin July 30, 2009 at 1:59 am #

      We use Katakana for the words from foreign countries. For example, we call "pan" (パン) for bread, which is from Spain or Portugal and so is described in Katakana. There are of course many English words we use as Japanese in Katakana. "doonatsu" (ドーナツ) for doughnut, "ribon" (リボン) for ribbon, "toile" (トイレ) for toilet, etc. and these are countless. That's why foreign names and foreign places are described in Katakana. "nanshii” (ナンシー) for Nancy, "tomu" (トム) for Tom, "amerika" (アメリカ) for America, "furansu" (フランス) for France, etc. But of course Japanese names and places are described in Kanji and Hiragana, at most of the cases. Can I make this clear to you? 😉

      • Miss Ia July 30, 2009 at 4:09 pm #

        Ah! I understand now. 😀 Thank you~!

  2. megan July 30, 2009 at 5:42 am #

    That's interesting!

    Another good online translator I know of is this: http://www.csse.monash.edu.au/~jwb/cgi-bin/wwwjdi
    Jim Breen's Japanese pages are very well know and popular for those studying Japanese (from what I've seen). There, I think you can also search in Romanji.

    • kirin July 31, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

      Oh, I didn't know the site at all, thanks for sharing! 🙂

  3. TheBattleScene July 31, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    Wow very useful

  4. Walter July 31, 2009 at 11:47 pm #

    Ooh, interesting site. And so useful, now I am beginning to study Japanese.

    I have found another useful function of this site.

    When I type certain Japanese words in romanji in the left box , like arigatou , I get a page with examples on the use of the word.
    It doesn't happen for all words, but still, good!
    Try typing tofu 😉 This page tells me "Clam, corbicula, tofu and seaweed taste better with white miso while red miso is preferred for tonjiru (miso soup with pork and vegetables), Japanese radish, deep-fried bean curd, etc."
    😀

    • kirin August 1, 2009 at 12:42 am #

      Oh you got some tips on Japanese cooking, too! I'll try to make some Japanese videos, too. But my blog readers range from beginner to advanced. So I wonder what I can do with videos. Maybe I just ramble, for example, about cultural difference in Japanese and in English alternately so you roughly get used to how native Japanese sound like. I think Japanese pronunciation is closer to Spanish or Italian rather than English or French. It's basically flat and less intonation and always "vowel plus consonant" combination. In that sense, English and Japanese are so different!!

  5. riotnikki August 2, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    I wish I could speak and understand Japanese. I would like to learn. I was good at languages back in my school days and learned Spanish and French but they are very similar and not too far from English really (plus we use many French and Spanish words in English too). I watch many Japanese films and TV shows with subtitles and I have picked up some words here and there but not much. Is English a difficult language to learn when you speak Japanese? Does the Japanese language have lots of slang the way English does? What about differences in accents – we have many different accents here in the US. All I want to do is go to Japan and eat bento, have lots of ramen and udon and sushi. And go to Kyoto and visit Buddhist temples and go to Japanese toy stores for re-ment!

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 1:44 pm #

      As a native Japanese who studied English over 10 or 20 years, I can tell you one thing.
      English and Japanese are so different and that's why we have such hard time learning it!
      I sometimes think that Spanish, Italian, or Portuguese might be easier for the Japanese to learn when it comes to pronunciation. But of course, there are many English native speakers who speak good Japanese, which means there's no way you cannot be like that!

      Japanese has slang, too. We have regional dialect too. But unlike English which is spoken in the U.S, U.K, Australia, NZ, Singapore, India, and a lot more, there's no other country where Japanese is spoken. In that sense, it doesn't happen something like that U.S people call 1st floor, while U.K people call ground floor and they mean the same thing.

      I may make a video about Japanese language, too in the near future.
      I believe you can enjoy Kyoto a lot because I think it gets along with your taste.

  6. cin August 3, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    I love this site! I always use it for assignments 😀 My lecturers say that it is not a dictionary but a database of Japanese and English text. But either way it's very useful 🙂

    • kirin August 3, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

      I'm glad to hear that this blog is helpful to you. 😀

  7. Melusine October 29, 2009 at 5:13 pm #

    when I have time I do like come and read your blog. I do have quite a catch up to do. anyway for french speaker you have this two site that can be useful : the first one it's a dictionnary french/japanese and vice and versa as the second one it's mostly a kanji one.
    http://kanji.free.fr/stroke.php
    http://www.dictionnaire-japonais.com/

    • kirin October 30, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

      Oh Melusine, I'm glad you enjoy my blog! Also thank you so much for sharing the useful links with me. I started to listen to radio program in the morning, which is 15 minutes French lesson, 15 minutes of Italian, and last 15 minutes of Spanish. 3 languages at a time, but it's OK because they sometimes share similar words, and 15 minutes is too short anyhow. I'll bookmark the links. Thank you!

  8. mei November 11, 2009 at 7:30 am #

    Kirin, once, it was about 5 month ago – I ever tried to learn Japanese language. But, as time goes by, I gave up "(. The reason was because I founded it very difficult to me. I can say watashi wa namae na Maria desu or similar introduction way. But when it comes to writing in kanji…wuahh I gave up. Maybe you have suggestion how is the easier way to learn your language??

    • kirin November 12, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

      Thank you for sharing your experience. The problem is…I don't know how hard it is for you to learn Japanese, because it's my mother language and I don't know the easier way for foreigners to learn it. To solve your problem, it's better you take a look at Japanese lessons conducted by foreigners who studied it. I'm sorry I am not the right person for your question. I can give you native pronunciation but I cannot answer your question like that. I'm sorry for that, mei. 😦

  9. LGT April 22, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    I personally use tangorin.com &http://www.j-prep.com/reference/home.

    Hope it helps someone out there.

Leave a Reply

