Successful young mom model, as represented by Momoeri.

27 Jul

Mama + Kid Model
18/APR/2009 on air


Early 20s young mama with little kids have chance to be a parent-child fashion model to some special fashion magazines targeting fashionable mama. These fashion magazines are such as followins, from which you will see how popular mama models can be in Japan!


Mart (http://mart-magazine.com/index_main.html)
SAKURA (http://sakuramama.jp/)
Saita (http://www.saita.net/saita/index.htm)
BLENDA (http://www.blenda.jp/)
I LOVE mama (http://www.fujisan.co.jp/Product/1281683285)
como (http://www.prebabycomo.com/como/index.php)


Momoeri is the top mama model in Japan. She used to be a hostess, then married, and gave birth to her son. But 5 years ago she divorced from her husband to become a single mother. She is only 27-year-old successful charismatic mama model (it’s called “mamamo” with abbreviation) who is as famous as a cover girl to “mama” magazine. Besides, she established an on-line shop of her own. She is a CEO to her company who is also engaged in new product plan. The pink sandals for home usage is from her idea.

Mama models are popular because they do not look like, so to speak, a “mom” as you know from the image of your neighbors. They look really young, fit, and kawaii where you’ll find no air of daily household works and busy child management. The more mama models look gorgeous the more gyaru mama adore them.

You can easily imagine there are many young moms who wanna be like Momoeri or other successful mama models. Mr. Ikki and Beni-chan selected Mrs. Miyazaki and her boy for beautiful mama and kid model feature pages of “mama” magazine. The point for success is to repeat the same color or item between mom and kid.


Reflecting such trend, Harajuku no longer target young people only. These days kid (especially targeting 0 -3 years old) brand shops open in Harajuku one after another. As for the pricing, Mrs. Miyazaki spent 63,000 yen (USD630) in total, which was for herself, and another 20,000 (USD200) for her son.

Beautiful mama should be beautiful from inside and outside.
Inside factor is influencial because the readers (also moms) would feel for them. For example if the readers know how much effort mama model makes to keep their beauty or whatever, anything,
they will be encouraged or energized so that they should do their best to improve themselves too.

Mr.Ikki and Beni-chan visited an apartment where a beautiful mama (bimama, bi=beauty) lives in west Japan. BTW, if you read my post about Japanese houses, this illustrates life of average Japanese people. Small house and small kitchen…Don’t take me wrong I don’t say they are economically-challenged, as you see both parents have jobs. This is average when we live in/near the city area, where houses cost high.

Another mama model to “como” magazine, you’ll see how mama models make every effort to keep themselves fit. She get haircut and haircolor every other month, for 7800 yen with model discount.
3 times a month, she goes belly dance, with each 2100 yen. And every night before sleep, she does face yoga by herself. She does all these things besides household works, parenting, and modeling!

Another example is hand-only model or leg-only model. It’s called parts model in Japan. But she is also working so hard to keep beauty. She shows how to moisture her back of the hand and legs.
For hand, place a tissue (Kleenex) over the back of the hand, spray purified water : lotion = 1:1, cut the tissue along with the fingers, and wait 3 minutes. While waiting, make moisturaizer warm by holding inside palm, then put it over the back of the hand to rub it into the skin. Same lotion or moisturaizer for legs. But legs need aluminum foil to be rolled over before wait for 3 minutes.

=====
Kirin’s opinion

Momoeri is popular as “age-jo” which was only I knew, but I didn’t know she is successful as a mama model now. (Age-jo is how models are called who work for the crazy-selling agazine “Koakuma Ageha”.) It’s good that we can enjoy being kawaii even after becoming a mom. But on the other hand, it’s not good if a mom is too fashion conscious to pay more attention to education.
=====

Disclaimer: Tokyo Kawaii TV is a TV program owned and broadcasted by NHK Japan, and has nothing to do with this blog.

***There are archives of episodes listed under the page titled “Tokyo Kawaii TV” that is just located under the title banner of this blog.
***If you want to know the music that was used in the episode, please refer to this page and help yourself to find it by selecting the date when the episode was on air in Japan.

37 Responses to “Successful young mom model, as represented by Momoeri.”

  1. Suzu July 27, 2009 at 7:30 pm #

    thanks once again for sharing this video ~ ! :3

    with the mama and kid modelling, it almost seems as if the mama models are using their kids to help themselves become more popular though ne :T

    • kirin July 28, 2009 at 2:15 am #

      I agree with you! And the duration will be only while the kid is aged until 5 or so. Mama models may need to think of the strategy after their kids become primary school students. In that way, the job of mama modelling is a limited opportunity only available while they and their kids are young.

  2. Rosa July 28, 2009 at 3:33 am #

    YAY! Thanks! I love watching these videos and it's so nice that you take your time do write about it. Your hard work is not being under appreciated. I LOVE your website. It's the BEST.

    • kirin July 29, 2009 at 3:24 am #

      Oh Rosa, how sweet your comment sounds to me~! Thank you!! My efforts are paid off by your kind comment! 🙂 XOXO

  3. Miss Ia July 28, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    It seems there's a lot of pressure on women in Japan when it comes to family and appearance. I feel bad for the children, who may grow older and wish they hadn't been in these magazines with their mothers! I wonder if mama models decide to keep having children just to continue modeling?

  4. kirin July 29, 2009 at 3:34 am #

    I think we are under high pressure of good appearance, regardless of age and gender. As for Japanese women, you can see how many of us dye hair, do nails, full-makeup all the time, and of course wear clothing in vogue to stay as kawaii! I wonder how much money we need to keep up with these things all the time… So I don't dye my hair, nor do nails, and I shop only at a sale. 😉 I like being kawaii but at the same time I have something that is considered more important, too. Balance is important, right?

    • Benjamin Cip July 29, 2009 at 5:44 am #

      Keeping your natural beauty can also be kawaii. If everyone look same by dying hair, doing nail and so on… it will change the definition of being kawaii. It sounds like to me that most of people think that they should change their appearance to become kawaii, but it's wrong…

      • kirin July 30, 2009 at 2:11 am #

        It's very interesting to hear such opinion from opposite gender, meaning male. Sometimes when I do full, maybe a little bit over makeup, my hubby says he prefers natural look. I've spent my young days (10s and early 20s) very little makeup, which was because all my ex-boyfriends did prefer natural look or even without makeup. I sometimes feel that I could have enjoyed more those days, because girls always like to change appearances a lot by makeup, false eyelashes, and anything. It's confusing what we (girls) think kawaii might not look so to men sometimes…

    • Miss Ia July 29, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

      I absolutely agree!

  5. riotnikki August 2, 2009 at 7:40 am #

    I think all Japanese women are so lovely that they don't really need much make-up at all! I love all the different hair-dos too long, short, in-between. I like short hair with cute little hair clips too. I do love make-up, I am a make-up junkie really – have so much of it and I wear it almost every day except when I am at home. The women in this video are gorgeous but I think would be just as much so without tons of make-up too. They all have pretty great figures too – I don't see a lot of bigger girls (plus-size) in Japan – are there any? Lots of plus-size girls here in the US. But also some who are too thin too.I am a a bigger girl myself, five foot seven – would that be considered tall in Japan? en are so handsome too – many of the actors I've seen – oh wow. I like Ken Watanabe. There were some really cute guys in Bambino! did you ever watch that?

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

      Oh you watch Japanese dramas? I think Ken Watanabe is nice looking, too. But I have almost no time to watch TV, so I don't really know new actors or actresses these days. 😦
      There are not many big girls in Japan, but there are some and they are increasing as time passes. Japanese people have been short because we had to sit square on the floor, or on zabuton (cushion) for a long time in our history. I am a good example! I learned Koto, or Japanese traditional music instrument from 5 to 13 years old. That's why I am very short. (I had to sit like that while I played Koto.) My height measures only 154cm, which is 5 feet 1 inch in your culture? American unit is unfamiliar to Japanese because we use "cm(centi meter)" "m(meter)" "liter" "g(gram)" "kg(kilo gram)" and so on…same as European way.
      Anyway, that's why when I go to the U.S, reception counter is very high and I feel as if I were a small kid. :p

    • Guido June 15, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      Plus-size? You mean 'fat.' Let's get real.

  6. whitney August 2, 2009 at 8:39 am #

    It reminds me of America's young celebrity mamas and young rich mama's who want to stay fit , fashionable and chic. But a lot of them just have nannies take care of the children and household chores.

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

      Oh there are already some people like that in the U.S! Many trends come from the U.S, and may be this is one of them. :p

      • whitney August 2, 2009 at 11:21 pm #

        Maybe, maybe not. The gossip magazines are definitely crazy about celebrity parents and their children, but I have not seen a magazine dedicated to normal young fashionable mamas and their children. I think that kind of magazine would sell great here if we had one like that.^_^

      • kirin August 3, 2009 at 4:08 am #

        Oh that sounds interesting. 🙂 Nowadays we can get information and trend from other countries thru internet, it'll be quicker and easier to copy the trend and apply to the other countries, compared to old days. In Japan, people used to say, "Japan is 10 years behind the U.S," but how about today? There are still many cases we follow the U.S, but in some areas we have things that U.S people never thought of.

      • whitney August 4, 2009 at 3:56 am #

        Definitely Japanese technology trends are always mentioned being way ahead of us. I noticed a lot of the simple everyday things that can be made kawaii we never thought of and so many girls i know love it. I don't know where circle lenses started from but i have seen those being sold in a local beauty supply store recently. I think there is a fascination with Japan and it's trends in America period. So many more people want to learn it's language and visit. Well, that is what i see from my point of view anyway.

      • kirin August 4, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

        Oh your words sound so fresh to me. 😀 I was wondering why people study Japanese nevertheless it's a small island country with no other nation's speaking Japanese, just unlike English is officially spoken in many different countries. Besides, we are losing population, our economy is not as good as it used to be… Well, let me write about this topic next time, and I hope we can discuss thru comments there! XD

  7. mei August 3, 2009 at 4:02 am #

    all mamas looks the same to me, with full makeup, fake eyelash, and how they talking(or all Japanese woman talking in that way??), but o yes, they looks really pretty .

    For me, to be a fashionable mom is important. and we have to put all effort for it but it doesn't mean that we can use our kids for it *I don't like child exploitation*

    • kirin August 3, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

      They look the same, right. Many girls follow Momoeri and her blog is so popular. That's how most Japanese young girls are, and they do talk like that. ( Of course not all of Japanese women talk like that. )

  8. Amanda August 3, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    Do the lady and son in the video get to be in another magazine? Or was it just a one-off?

    • kirin August 3, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

      I don't know about that but the lady is so popular she is on TV too.

  9. Aja September 11, 2009 at 10:32 pm #

    OMG isn't that lady in 00:52 that crazy chick that the Host hated in The Great Happiness Place…you know, the one that said she would give anything to marry the host and was really demanding and playing mind games with him. I think she did most of her interview on the stairs. Wow She was really crazy and seemed very manipulative in that documentary if that is her!

    • kirin September 14, 2009 at 3:17 pm #

      Was that 00:52? On 00:52 there are only a mom and her little kid…(@_@??)

  10. Catherine October 11, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    Oh, I don't have time to read all the comments! =(
    I think I'm too old to be a bimama. I'm already in my early 30s! =P
    But thank you so much Kirin for this interesting topic!

    • kirin October 12, 2009 at 7:54 am #

      I'm too old, and I don't even have kids, so…this is totally irrelevant story to me. :p

  11. Grace January 21, 2010 at 4:19 am #

    I'm so glad to see this! I'm 34 yrs old and I still look like these mamas! no kidding. I'm Asian and blessed to look very young still. I wish I live in Japan and I would be more accepted. I'm Asian and I'm blessed to look very youthful! Why don't they have this kind of magazine here in the U.S.? Most moms here get really fat once they have their babies. I don't feel bad wearing younger clothes/makeup because I can!

    • kirin January 22, 2010 at 12:46 am #

      That's great, you still look fit and young. In Japan I really think mamas do not look like mama. They do not look like they have kids! Really. Many mamas these days look very young, kawaii, and fit. That's because women want to stay beautiful and fit, regardless of age, right? I can't believe why most moms in the U.S give up this.
      You should be proud of your looks, that you maintain the young looks. 😉

  12. alexis July 13, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    So it's kinda like what we call milfs?? Except "Bi-mama" (beautymama) sounds way nicer than calling someone a milf i suppose. :)))

    • kirin July 13, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

      Hmm…Maybe Japanese mama, even if they are sexy, they have some cuteness, too. And that's actually why they are kawaii. 🙂

  13. Juliet the model May 12, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Thanks for shedding light on this interesting phenomenon of 'mamamos'. Please note that a hand or leg model is also called a parts model in the US, not just in Japan.

    • kirin May 13, 2011 at 11:22 am #

      Thank you for telling me that. ^ ^

  14. syari August 10, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    You are superb writer. Article you've written give me lot information and I'll come back to read your next amazing post. Last but not least, I like your site's design

  15. Katrina September 4, 2012 at 4:09 am #

    I live model mamas ❤

  16. Kitty September 22, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    Spot on with thіs ωrite-up, I absοlutely believe thіs web site needѕ far moге attention.
    I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the advice!

  17. Ellen Franklin March 14, 2013 at 4:28 am #

    I guess it's only fitting that the kid is as fashionable as the mother. After all, who else will the child take after?

Leave a Reply

