How to cook shabushabu (cold version) for summer.

19 Jul

I’ve filmed new videos about how to cook Japanese home cuisine, cold shabushabu.

If you cannot find Ponzu sauce, you can fix it with following ingredients for 2 people.
-2.5 tbsp of soy sauce
-2 tbsp of citrus or lemon juice
-1/2 tbsp of rice wine vinegar
-1/2 tbsp of cooking wine
-1 tsp of mirin
-dried kelp 2 x 3 cm
-dried bonito flakes

1)Prepare a small pan and boil cooking wine and mirin.
2)Squeeze citrus or lemon (remove seeds) and get 2 tbsp of juice.
3)Add 1) + 2) + soy sauce in a bowl.
4)Add dried kelp and dried bonito flakes to 3).
*Use a sachet for dried bonito flakes so that you can take it away easily later.
5)Wrap it, put it in a fridge to wait for 1-2 days.
6)Take out the kelp and the bonito flakes, and the sauce is ready!

Ponzu sauce can be used on Tofu, salad, meat, dumpling and various ways just like this example. It’s useful and healthy because it’s free from oil. 🙂

I think shabushabu is healthy because we can have good volume of vegetables while pork and sauce are almost free from oil.

Here’s the dinner picture! We had cold shabushabu with somen!
How Japanese, and how summer!!
reishabu-somen-dinner

17 Responses to “How to cook shabushabu (cold version) for summer.”

  1. Clay July 19, 2009 at 5:51 pm #

    konnichi wa.
    What is okura?
    In USA we write okra. Is it the same vegetable?
    domo

    • kirin July 21, 2009 at 1:53 am #

      Yes, that's what I meant! Sorry for my poor English, I thought Okura (that's how we call it) was Japanese food and didn't know there was an English word for it. :p And also pronunciation seem to sound different…sorry for confusion, I'm learning English.

  2. Lisa July 20, 2009 at 4:34 pm #

    I lovelovelovelove ponzu sauce, so thank you very much! I can’t wait to try this recipe. 🙂

    • kirin July 21, 2009 at 5:41 am #

      Hi Lisa! How have you been?
      This recipe is very healthy, and if you have ponzu sauce, that's great! I listed how to make ponzu sauce but that was too little, so if you cannot get it at your local stores, please multiple the ponzu sauce recipe like 5 tbsp of soy sauce…whatever, as much as you like. (I've never made this sauce by myself, because as you know, ponzu is sold everywhere in Japan, so I just picked up one of the easiest samples of how to make the sauce. :p)

      Anyway…you never had this while you were in Japan?

      • Lisa July 28, 2009 at 10:05 am #

        Hi! I've been good, but not really had an internet connection – it can be very frustrating sometimes! I hope you're well! 🙂
        I never had cold shabu shabu, no! Only the boiling version. So this seems like a great alternative for summer!

      • kirin July 29, 2009 at 3:39 am #

        I'm doing good, thanks! This cold version of shabushabu is such a casual home cooking recipe that you can easily make with vegetables you like to consume from fridge. 😉

  3. Miss Ia July 20, 2009 at 7:14 pm #

    Hi again, Kirin! Another great set of videos! Shabushabu sounds so tastey, and the dinner photo looks delicious! I was wondering, do you add any flavouring to the somen?

    • kirin July 21, 2009 at 5:47 am #

      For the somen this time, I just added some leek that I cut into small pieces. I wanted to have simple somen because the cold shabushabu was full of ingredients. (maybe it was too much veges? hahaha!)

      If you want more toppings on somen, you can have okra (not okura, hahaha! that was my misunderstanding!) or tuna or…Let me do somen video next time, where I can explain it better!

  4. walkw/me July 23, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    I love to try this recipe. Thanks for the share. I'm sure it is so yummy.

    • kirin July 24, 2009 at 1:34 am #

      Hope you can get ponze sauce at your local stores. Unless otherwise, please multiple the amount of sauce, which I listed too small portion by mistake. :p

  5. Ella July 23, 2009 at 11:16 pm #

    hi:
    great recipe 🙂 I have to say I really liked it, I love veggies but I never eat bean sprouts… I think this is a good way to try them, I'm definitively going to try this recipe 🙂 thanks for sharing.. I hope I find ponzu sauce in my local asian store, if not I'm going to have to make if from scratch 🙂 a quick question, what's mirin?
    Thank you 🙂

  6. kirin July 24, 2009 at 1:37 am #

    Sorry, Mirin was not familiar to you. Wiki desctribes it better ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mirin ) but the image is sweet cooking wine. If you have to make monzu sauce from scratch, the amount I listed was too little, so please increase the ingredients as per the volume of your shabushabu. (^_^;)

  7. riotnikki August 2, 2009 at 8:04 am #

    Wonderful recipe! Back when I was not a vegetarian I used to make shabu shabu using beef, all kinds of veggies and then would finish with noodles in the broth. It was one of my favorite things. Now as a vegetarian I still eat it only using more veggies and mushrooms and tofu. The salad looks great – I love daikon and the addition of that with ponzu would make an incredible dressing for salad. Japanese food is my favorite on Earth! In fact I just went tonight for teppanyaki and had grilled tofu with vegetables and fried rice and miso (white miso) that they did with lovely enoki mushrooms in it. That was a little different and I enjoyed it. I eat lots of miso at home either from scratch or the instant kind from a package. I like it for breakfast. Do you have a tomato season in Japan? Ours just finished here in July and the tomatoes were incredible. I am Italian-American so I have a love affair with tomatoes. Italian food is my second love after Japanese. Cold somen is perfect in the summer (I do a cold soba too with tofu and dipping sauce that is really yummy). I like how it is sometimes served in a bowl of ice water. I love to eat seasonally and the Japanese have a wonderful way of doing this. Have you ever had Kaiseki? I have a number of cookbooks but many of ingredients cannot be found here in the US. The food is so beautiful, healthy and clean.

    • kirin August 2, 2009 at 2:19 pm #

      WOW! How much experience you have with Japanese foods!! You could speak better than me, honestly! To be honest, I like Westen cuisine a lot more, such as pasta, pizza, cheese, Chinese foods, steak, and many other Westernized Japanese foods, such as Omuraisu (omlet and chicken rice), curry and rice, hamburg, etc. But I know Japanese food is healthy and less calorie and so I *try* to fix it from time to time. Speaking of Japanese food, my favorite maybe steamed rice! hahaha!! As I read thru your comments, you really sound that you fit in our culture!! 🙂

  8. Stefani Sarah August 21, 2009 at 6:00 am #

    Thank you for sharing. I'm making this tonight. I especially love your radish tips. I didn't know they taste differently. I thought the reason of cutting it into parts is so that you can have them cheaper in supa. Haha… I guess I was wrong.

    • kirin August 21, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

      That's also true about the cut radish. A whole radish is just too much for a single person to eat. That's why many vegetables are pre-cut, wrapped and sold for half+ price. I like this, even for 2 people. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Odori Park » Archive » Shabu-Shabu :: A webcomic comedy of culture shock in love, life, and family, by Chris Watkins :: - July 22, 2009

    […] Japan culture blog I recently started following. Tokyo Kawaii, Etc. posted instructions for making cold shabu-shabu. For the uninitiated: regular shabu-shabu is a sort of “social” dish. A large bowl of […]

Leave a Reply

