Fresh tasty Edamame cooking video

6 Jul

I’ve updated a video showing how to cook Edamame from my kitchen in Japan. This Edamame is particular, since it’s from a farmer and was from the field in the morning of the day I recorded and cooked it. Usually Edamame is not sold like this (with leaves, stems, & roots) but yet, we can buy raw fresh Edamame (non-frozen one) in this season (summer) at super markets. (If we want to eat it in other seasons, we’ll grab frozen one.)

Edamame and beer, this is the best combination and no one would doubt that, I’m sure!

Hope you enjoy the video.
Here’s additional post about Edamame that I wrote last year.
Someone voted “video” in the poll.
What kind of video do you like? I’ll plan to take Japanese foods videos like this from now on so that I can add them to Japanese foods page.

16 Responses to “Fresh tasty Edamame cooking video”

  1. ESTRELLA July 6, 2009 at 3:21 pm #

    ESTA COOL LA RECETA, ADEMAS DE SENCILLA, Y SALUDABLE GRACIAS; POR CIERTO SE COME TAMBIEN LA CASCARA??

    • kirin July 8, 2009 at 12:39 am #

      Gracias! …Pero lo siento, yo no puedo comprendo Espanol muy bien. 😦

  2. Miss Ia July 7, 2009 at 4:43 pm #

    Yum! I love Edamame, I tend to buy it pre-cooked and frozen from the Asian Supermarket so that all I need to do is defrost it. πŸ™‚

    I'm really interested in learning to make miso soup. Maybe you can do a video for that, if it isn't too much trouble?

    • kirin July 8, 2009 at 12:40 am #

      Thank you for your comment here. πŸ™‚
      Miso soup! That sounds like a good idea! Thank you for suggesting me that. I'll make a miso soup video next time. πŸ™‚

  3. Nakimu July 7, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    Hey kirin, I love your website , everything is soo nice. Anyways since you started adding videos i can't see them ( i think i have to download something because i cant see videos off other websites either) which program do you use? ( i know kinda off topic) – keep up the super cute blog

    • kirin July 8, 2009 at 12:58 am #

      Hi Nakimu, thank you for your comment.
      I use Youtube. Do you mean that you cannot see any videos from Youtube?
      In that case, check out if JavaScript is on (activated) and Macromedia Flash Player is not too old version.
      You may need to uninstall Flash Player (http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/141/tn_14157.html) and re-install Flash Player (the newest one) .

      Well, I'm not tech person, so I just introduced you the way that was spoken in Japanese site that I found by search. :p
      Hope this helps.

  4. Miss.Friendz July 12, 2009 at 6:02 pm #

    Thank you for the video, I didn't realize it was so easy to cook Edamame. It would be great if you're able to show a video on how to cook ginger pork, I've attempted to cook it on several occasions through recipes I've found on the net, but somehow, they don't quite taste the same as the ones I had in Japan.

    • kirin July 13, 2009 at 7:06 am #

      Ginger pork! Sure!! I cook it once in a while and so it's pretty easy for me. Maybe my problem is something else which is that I don't measure exactly. hahaha…I'm very casual and rough especially at daily cooking. But that doesn't mean it tastes bad. :p

      Someone already requested miso soup, and so your request will be sooner or later. Thank you always for your nice comments or opinions. πŸ™‚

  5. Walter July 16, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    Hello Kirin,thanks for the video I ate Edamame at the Japan art festival in Richmond recently. πŸ˜‰ So good! I loved them ❀ .
    The pods are a bit hairy, but the beans inside are great !
    I have to get the seeds, so I can grow them here!

    • kirin July 17, 2009 at 2:36 am #

      Oh, how nice you ate it and liked it!! πŸ™‚
      If you can grow them, that'll be the best thing. (You have a big garden of your own, that'd be great idea!)
      You may be able to get the frozen Edamame at super market out there, but taste is so different!
      Get raw Edamame and boil them, this tastes far better than frozen one, which is so true I always find big difference between these. So if possible, you can enjoy Edamame most if you make all by yourself.

  6. riotnikki July 27, 2009 at 7:14 am #

    I love edamame, especially with salt or soy sauce too. It is so good with Japanese beer! I usually get it before I have sushi too as an appetizer. I buy it frozen usually to make at home. I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to see more of your Japanese food videos – I have a small kitchen too and I like to see how people work in their own small kitchens. Plus I love Japanese food so much! Your site is awesome, I am having so much fun here.

    • kirin July 27, 2009 at 3:12 pm #

      Thank you for your opinion, riotnikki. I'll try to make more Japanese daily home cooking videos from now on. Sometimes compact kitchen is OK because everything is within easy reach! πŸ™‚ How did you like cold shabushabu video? (http://tokyokawaiietc.com/archives/2398) Hope you liked it, too. :p

  7. coupons for groceries July 27, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    Thank you much for that imformative entry.

  8. Jose Perez July 13, 2010 at 6:02 am #

    me and my mom always love to cook and eat delicious recipes”;-

  9. Liam Price October 10, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

    my mother and i loves to do cooking and baking’~.

  10. alhambra water damage January 6, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Nice blog and also precise info. You raise many questions in my mind; you wrote an outstanding post, but it is also mind provoking, and I have to ponder it some extra.

Leave a Reply

