Blogs in Japan (Japanese blogspot)

25 Jun

I’ve set up another blog in Japan last weekend. At a moment I run 4 blogs.

No.1- Japanese Cuisine Daily Recipes and Something Kawaii From Harajuku
(Free Blogger blog that I started Feb.2008 in English and I still keep it while I update a new post only once in a while.)

No.2- Tokyo Kawaii, etc.
(This blog that I work hardest, and love most! I pay for domain and hosting server, from which you’ll see how special this blog is to me.)

No.3- Pi-chan (my dog) blog
(Free FC2 blog that I run in Japan in Japanese.)

No.4- My daily stock exchange market trading blog
(Free Seesaa blog that I run in Japan in Japanese.)

*I no longer run other 3 blogs, because I decided to focus more on this blog, “Tokyo Kawaii, etc.”.

Wow! No wonder I’m busy! But I’m spending most of the time for Tokyo Kawaii, etc. (this blog). I know I should stick to 1 blog, meaning Tokyo Kawaii, etc. only, but the first blog is still good to be kept. The third dog blog is important in order to record how my dog spends her life with us. The fourth one also is important to record what I am learning and how I’m acting in my daily trading habits.

Some of the readers from my first blog (Japanese cuisine…) might be confused to hear that I’m trading at stock exchange market because I used to work as an importer, house renovation planner, and writer. But now I’m working from home. Online stock exchange market trader from home, writer and blogger. Why such a big career change? It’s a long story so let me avoid explaining that here. :p

Instead, today I’ll introduce blogspot in Japan, as some of you are already good at Japanese and may want to browse Japanese blogs to read or to write a blog in Japanese by yourselves.

Blogsphere in Japan is totally different from the U.S or most of English spoken countries. First of all, WordPress is minor, which I think is because there are many attractive free blogs available in Japan and how to manage dashboard or how to write a post is far easier and more convenient compared with WordPress or blogger.

seesaa-blog-dashboard

This is a dashboard from Seesaa blog and I was surprised to find this difference. In English blogsphere, we basically add things we want. We may join Google Analytics to track stats, and paste the code or do something to activate it if we want it, for example. To the contrary, Seesaa had everything there including stats. (not from Google, but original one) We are then deleting things we don’t need. That’s it!

Japanese people are used to this style; say everything being given in a package, and so, customizing blogs with plugins by themselves like what we do with WordPress is not accepted.

Here are major Japanese free blogs for your reference.
FC2 (Do you know FC2 ranks in No.2 in Alexa in Japan!?)
Seesaa
Ameba
Livedoor
and there are actually hundreds of more but above 4 blogs are I guess most popular ones. There are many blogs that do not allow affiliate promotion. (Above 4 blogs are OK)

If you prefer Ezine, rather than blog, there is a free Ezine stand called “Magu Magu” and this is the most popular and the largest scale in Japan. Of course you can start yourself both blog and Ezine (in Japanese it’s called “melumaga” meaning mail magazine) for free, if you want to. But I know how hard it’d be to write constantly in foreign language, so you can at least browse Japanese blogs and Ezines of your interests just as you like to improve your Japanese with fun!

33 Responses to “Blogs in Japan (Japanese blogspot)”

  1. Miss.Friendz June 25, 2009 at 4:47 pm #

    Thank You for sharing all your delightful information. It's so interesting to read more on other cultures and new happenings around the world. I've always found that those who blog from Japan don't often use blogger or the regular blogging sites, and thanks to you, I now know why.

    • kirin June 26, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

      Japanese free blogs also offer hundreds of new blog designs for free and we can change them with one click. So it's popular we change blog designs by months or seasonally. (I'm confused if I should call "we" or "they" because I could be both…hahaha) As for me however, I don't change them at all because I spend more time on this Tokyo Kawaii blog than Japanese blogs.

  2. sixmats June 26, 2009 at 5:58 am #

    Be careful not to get burned out. If you think it's too much, you can always combine some of the blogs.

    • kirin June 26, 2009 at 2:28 pm #

      Thanks, but I'll be OK because I rarely update first English blog and my dog blog. The fourth one about online trading was very easy since I have something to write everyday as long as I keep trading from home. Moreover, I see how different and how easy it is to write in my mother language! I need no dictionary and I write a lot quicker than I do in English. :p

  3. Benjamin Cip June 28, 2009 at 6:33 pm #

    ああ ビックリしたキリンちゃんはたくさんのブログがもってるんだよね!僕は一つだけのブログが持ってる、、、忙しいそう!キリンちゃんが働き者だよね!いつか日本語でブログを書くと思う、、、ミックシ知ってる?そこでブログが持ってた。

    • kirin June 29, 2009 at 12:47 am #

      本当は一つのブログをじっくりやるのがベストだよね。私の場合はTokyo Kawaii, etc. 以外のブログは皆カジュアルというか…。楽にやっているから、そういう意味では本腰入れているのはこれだけかなー。mixi知っているよ。most powerful and well-known social networking service in Japanだよね。でもなぜか、I just keep my account there but I don't actually write to it.

    • kirin June 29, 2009 at 12:48 am #

      I like writing, so I won't feel tired or fed up with them. Besides these, I have my own diary book which I write by hand and I keep it for over 7-8 years. In this diary I don't write what I did today. I write down struggles, worries, hope, about my dream, what I've achieved, what I've learned, and so on. This is good to soothe my mind when I feel annoyed, confused or depressed.

      So writing does not mean working to me. :p でも、株式投資は好きとは言えないけどね, I just need to be skilled with it to make my dreams come true.

  4. n a n d a July 18, 2009 at 2:41 am #

    thank you so much for the link. much appreciated 🙂

    am always wonder how japanese blogs look like and as i expected they have more and cuter emoticons hehe 🙂
    i love it so much and want to try to blog from japanese blogging sites .. too bad for me i can't speak japanese and have lousy internet connection so it may take time to load the pages fully hehe ;p

    anyway, already feel happy with your review. thank you! 🙂

    • kirin July 19, 2009 at 2:16 am #

      I know what you mean. Japanese blogs are full of cute emoticons. (http://blog.goo.ne.jp/yarimo23225 like this blog I read is so cute, which I often go thru my dog blog in Japanese) Maybe that's the reason some English-speaking people blog from Japanese blog.

      But the thing is, even if you understand Japanese to set up the blog with Japanese blog format, inside of it is basically in Japanese, such as "submit comment" in Japanese so that readers being not familiar with Japanese may feel reluctant to leave a comment. 😦

      Good news is that FC2 has made English blogging possible. With this, you can enjoy cute emoticons and English blog format at the same time! Here is a link. http://staffen.blog124.fc2.com/blog-entry-1.html

  5. n a n d a July 19, 2009 at 2:40 am #

    thank you so much for the links! 🙂

    yeah, once i tried to leave a comment in ameba blog and gave up cos i dont know how to 😦
    too bad she also doesnt have tagboard in her blog 😦

    glad to know that now FC2 available in english 😀
    will definitely check it out!! ❤

    • kirin July 22, 2009 at 11:20 am #

      I hope you can enjoy FC2.
      FC2 offers emoticons which are the same as we can use at 3 major mobile phones in Japan. So I find them quite familiar. 🙂

  6. LnddMiles July 21, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    Pretty cool post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I have really liked reading your blog posts. Anyway
    I’ll be subscribing to your blog and I hope you post again soon!

    • kirin July 22, 2009 at 11:23 am #

      Thank you so much for your kind comment. I'll do my best to keep publishing posts in good quality, but if you have any specific topics you want me to deal with, any questions about Japanese culture or language, whatever relating to this blog, please feel free to write to me either from comment section, shoutbox, or from contact form beyond the title banner. (^0^)

  7. Naomi July 31, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    Nice post, thanks for all this info!
    You sure are busy with blogs, but it seems you have a great time with them.

    I studied Japanese for some years, but it's been a while. My reading and listening are ok because of doramas and magazines/manga but I can't write very well (I already forgot many kanji if I try to write by hand) and my speaking skills are not good as well. I was thinking about trying to begin a blog in Japanese so I could practice, at least at writing, and your post is just perfect for that!

    Loved your blog, I subscribed to your RSS, that way I can always see when you post new things =)

    • kirin July 31, 2009 at 1:35 pm #

      Thank you, Naomi. I'm Glad to hear that my post made sense to you. 😉 You are about to do something challenging, but ganbatte ne! If you are in trouble, feel free to ask me. There should be something at least I can help you!

  8. Ahnenforscher September 21, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

    Ich liebe diese japanischen Blogs wegen den wunderbar verspielten Designs.
    Grüße aus Deutschland

  9. Keitiichan February 15, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    I use ameba.jp
    I think this one is very good. Just thought I'd like to mention it ^_^

    • kirin February 17, 2010 at 6:38 am #

      Thank you. I'll take that into consideration when I open a new blog next time.
      It was very hard for me to run more blogs than this one. I stopped updating all the other blogs. ^ ^;

  10. Sky.Live April 14, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    I am working in a Japanese Company right now, quite amazed with your profficiency in English. Struggling to improve my conversation skill in Japanese now, nice blog btw =)

    • kirin April 15, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

      Thank you for your visit to my blog and oh, my English…(^ ^) although I still continue minor mistakes…haha!
      It'd be so hard you are tired from work and from the language you are not familiar with…
      Please take care of yourself, there are many strange (sometimes unspoken) rules in Japanese society that confuse foreigners. It's very stressful to work in Japan, it's far from laid back atmosphere at the many working places. Not many Japanese people in general can speak or understand English well, but they will try to listen to you when you need them.
      (I'm Japanese but I once went to a US college for 1 year and that experience made it possible for me to use English like this.)

  11. Popo April 19, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    like your post , one of the best i read this week. will visit your site again for sure 🙂

  12. George Ciobanu June 13, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    Hey great job, it must take a lot of openness and courage to do what you are doing. Keep it up!

    • kirin June 14, 2010 at 11:48 am #

      Thank you for your comment. Yes, in fact I had to overcome so many obstacles and difficulties. Still I read English slowly, need dictionary, and I have to spend extra hours to keep this blog. But I believe this blog makes me happy. 🙂

  13. Luke Jackson July 12, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    it is easy to setup blogs on Blogspot but WordPress is one hell of a lot better*:’

  14. yaptus August 19, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    i just discovered your blog today and im really thankful! your blog is very informative, and it really answers my question! about the blogs, I think times has changed because i see japanese bloggers showing their faces specially the lolita and gyaru bloggers and I want to eject myself into the japanese blogging community, i signed up an account on AMEBA months ago but still can’t figure out how to blog there. do you have a guide or could you help me out with that, if you dont mind? 😳

    • kirin August 23, 2010 at 3:38 am #

      I'll think of how I can explain the way to blog with Ameba. I'm thinking of making a tutorial video but I'm not sure how soon I can make it. Let me see…

  15. Lemuel September 10, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    I just wanted to send a simple comment to be able to express gratitude to you for all of the magnificent instructions you are giving on this website. My rather long internet search has now been honored with good details to write about with my contacts. I ‘d declare that we site visitors are very much blessed to live in a decent site with many awesome professionals with helpful plans. I feel really happy to have used the website page and look forward to some more fun minutes reading here. Thanks once again for everything.

  16. Aislinger April 13, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    First of all, i thank you, Kirin, for running this blog, i'm new here and i just read a few entries, but i came to undestand that to japaneses this you are doing is not as easy as it is for us, and i know it's hard to explain your own culture to someone so different in mentality as we are, so thank you for your effort *bow*

    i wanted to comment because reading this precise blog had me struck by an idea, and i wanted to hear your opinion on it, if possible:
    i do not have enough written japanese skills to run a blog on my own on a japanese domain, but i probably have enough to make the interface works, or i might be able with some external help, so the idea is, what do you think of an english written blog on a japanese domain? i though it might just be interesting enough to japaneses interested in western cultures, and close enough to run into it by chance, being in a japanese blogging site
    what do you think of it?

    i thank you again for this blog, and for any opinion you might express^^

    さよなら!

    • kirin April 14, 2012 at 12:42 am #

      Thank you for your comment Aislinger. 🙂

      As for the English written blog on JP blog, targeted to the Japanese interested in western culture, I'm afraid we (Japanese) want to read the content in Japanese. I can imagine there are many Japanese people interested in western culture, but then they will like to read the blogs written in Japanese. Also there are many Japanese people living abroad and write a blog to tell us the life there.

      But I know there are some people who run JP blog in English so you may give it a try with a help from your JP friend or something and see how things go on. 😉

  17. ashigakari July 19, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    wow, that’s quite some blog! anyway, i recently started studying japanese and have wondered how long could one possibly get used to speaking at least for daily conversations.

    thanks in advance

    • kirin July 20, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

      How long could we possibly get used to speaking daily Japanese?
      Hmm…as a native Japanese speaker, it's a difficult question. Please ask that question to someone who learned Japanese as a second language. ^ ^;; sorry!

  18. michelle August 4, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    how to change the cover of the blog ?? (at the top of the blog)

    • kirin August 5, 2012 at 5:25 am #

      You can choose it from dozens of designs that each blog prepares for you. Otherwise, there should be the way to customize it with css something, but please don't ask me further, I'm so poor at technical things. :p

Leave a Reply

