My experience of making decoden, or decoration over cell phone!

21 Jun

Basically I’m not good at crafting but since my first experience of making DECOTTI, I kinda find it fun to craft something by myself. Yet, I cannot make something from scratch. I have to rely on kits or easy tool to make something cute by myself. πŸ˜›

So what’s new this time? It’s my first experience of decoden! As I filmed myself making decoden, you’ll see this is not mori style as well-known as what decoden is like. I use my cell phone as a camera, too, and so too much overloaded decorations just unable it to be used as a camera. That’s why I chose this water-proof sticker type of decoration with Japanese Makie art pattern, combination of rhinestones so that my decoden won’t look too simple.

Please watch the video, see how I made it, and let me know what you think. πŸ™‚

I’m quite satisfied with the outcome, nevertheless I’m kinda clumsy at things like this requring skills to pick up small pieces… Also, as a result, simple deco was OK to me. I really liked it. πŸ™‚

simple-decoden7
simple-decoden6
I have more photos available at my flikr page.

Have you ever tried decoden yet? If yes, tell me your experience and share it with others who like kawaii, cute stuff here!

33 Responses to “My experience of making decoden, or decoration over cell phone!”

  1. astrorainfall June 22, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

    Your phone looks gorgeous!! I sometimes think too much bling bling on mobile phones can look tacky but yours look totally classy. Wow.

    • kirin June 23, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

      Thank you for your comment!
      First I thought it could be too simple, but as it turned out, I really liked it. πŸ™‚

  2. Jiki June 23, 2009 at 6:48 am #

    I really like your phone. It looks really classy.
    And I'm a very big fan of your blog. I always enjoy reading it.

    • kirin June 23, 2009 at 2:20 pm #

      Hi Jiki, thank you so much for your sweet comment.
      I'm so glad someone like you enjoy reading my blog. πŸ™‚
      Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have specific topics you want me to deal with. πŸ˜‰

  3. Sing Yee June 26, 2009 at 12:45 am #

    Wow! Your phone looks chic! And I agree that it looks classy as well. Excellent job. πŸ™‚

    • kirin June 26, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

      Hi Sing Yee, thank you for your comment. When I finished it, I felt that I'd be able to do it better if I try another one, definitely! But I have only 1 cellphone, hahaha… Decotti last time and decoden this time, I feel like decorationg more and more… How much you'd love decorating stuff, as you keep doing it and improving your skills day in and day out. xD

  4. Ember June 26, 2009 at 3:24 am #

    This is such a cute project. I really love it. I sew and craft sometimes, but this kind of decoration is so difficult for me. I really like your simple design. Now I see that it can be a really classy and elegant type of style.

    I also really love your blog. I only discovered it a little while ago while I was looking for information on NHK Tokyo Kawaii TV.
    Your blog is so cute with a variety of topics and I will keep checking on it in the future.

    • kirin June 26, 2009 at 1:55 pm #

      Hi Ember, you are very much welcomed to my blog!
      Also if you have any specific topic you want me to write about, please let me know.
      I sometimes wonder if I should narrow down to single topic or keep this style with several Japan-related topics. So I appreciate your comment today so much as you say you enjoy other topics as well, although the information you were looking for was about Tokyo Kawaii TV. πŸ™‚

  5. Ligaya July 29, 2009 at 4:19 pm #

    Hi! I love your website and your posts so much! ♥ Also, your English is wonderful. Please keep writing!

    By the way, major points for choosing a simple yet very beautiful keitai decoden. ;D

    Finally, I would like to know if you write about cute bento arrangements. Thanks again!

  6. hotgal1 August 4, 2009 at 3:42 am #

    cool phone

  7. isabelle October 2, 2009 at 6:52 am #

    cute cell >.< !
    it look so classy well I approve!

    BTw
    is there any possible to buy a japanese cellphone outside of japan ?
    i really want to buy one (>.<)

    • kirin October 8, 2009 at 1:26 pm #

      Thank you! ^ ^

      Do you want a Japanese keitai (=cell phone in Japanese) ?
      But do you know that Japan and Korea do not belong to GSM or CDMA? That means, even if you get it, you cannot use it in your area, if you live outside Japan. But if you just want it as a toy or gadget, you can ask your friend (or me) in Japan to send it to you when she changes to a new model. This is of course if you don't mind about second-hand.

      It's so inconvenient that our system is minor and only available in Japan, while there are some models featuring GSM or CDMA, these days though…

  8. Chibi November 8, 2009 at 10:22 pm #

    OMG! i luv it so much.i re watched this vid 5 times!/ i want to this so bad

    tnx for the vid!

    • kirin November 9, 2009 at 2:01 pm #

      Oh 5 times!? ^ ^; Thank you for watching it. I'm happy you enjoy it. πŸ™‚

  9. ,..] tokyokawaiietc.com is one another must read source on this issue,..]

  10. Keekii November 23, 2009 at 3:45 pm #

    I have tried to stick a rhinestone sticker on the back of my phone with Stitch on it. It was really quick and easy to stick on, but when I had to take it off it sticked a little bit to well! It was a little bit tricky I must say. That's all the experience in decorating my phone I have to give xD

    I would like to make some phonestraps like those macarons, donuts, tarts and cakes with lots of cream! They look so delicious and I would love to give some to my friends as a surprise. But I live in Denmark, and it's difficult to get supplies. Do you know some website shops that ships internationaly? shops inside Europe would be really nice! Then I don't have to worry about customs xO

    Really nice blog btw and your English is the best I have ever heard from a Japanese person – you're good!

    • kirin November 24, 2009 at 5:19 am #

      Thank you for your comment and also sharing your experiences. I know it's too sticky and so no mistakes are allowed, which is a little pressure when we start this… 😦

      Unfortunately I cannot advise you shops in Europe because I live in Japan and I only know Japanese shops that ship internationally. Have you tried Strapya? (http://www.strapya-world.com)

      ^ ^; Thank you for the compliment.

      • Marcy December 20, 2009 at 10:39 am #

        Hi, can you tell me stores in japan that do ship internationally?

  11. Reno December 4, 2009 at 2:44 am #

    Your phone looks so cute! I want to try decoden with stickers like that now. Before I’ve done it with rhinestones and little star and fruit parts, but I love how the sticker looks!

    I’ve been wondering, what does ‘WIN’ on Japanese mobile phones stand for? I’ve seen it on a lot of different phones but still can’t figure it out.

    I’m really glad I found your blog. It’s awesome!

    • kirin December 5, 2009 at 1:05 am #

      Hi Reno, thanks for your visit and comment here. πŸ™‚

      There are 3 major mobile phone companies in Japan. Docomo, Softbank, and au. WIN is a service offered by au and means it allows high-speed communication: high-speed TV, internet, music downloading, etc. You know mobile phone used to need much more time for exchanging data, compared with PC, that's why high-speed data exchange was worth promotion. But now, with improvement of technology, that's no problem with any mobile phones. So, nowadays new models of mobile phone released by au don't have the letter of WIN any longer, because that has become standard.
      My mobile phone is a little bit old, like 3 years or something…hahaha ^ ^;

  12. Emily February 12, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    It looks great! I did the same thing with my old mobile phone with these little bling rhinestone stickers kind of thing. I did a purple butterfly and it turned out great! All free handed too πŸ™‚

    Stay Kawaii and beautiful!!!

    • kirin February 13, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

      Thank you. You've tried decoden too? Nice~!
      Stay kawaii and beautiful…, you too Emily! ^ ^

  13. claudia April 15, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    hiii i want to know were can i buy the stickers to decorate my cell phone cause i cant find them here in U.S.A were please tell
    meeee!!!

    • kirin April 17, 2010 at 5:26 am #

      Sorry I have no idea about shops in your country, I live in Japan. 😦
      Have you searched Etsy or eBay?

    • Sara July 6, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

      There just MIGHT be a store in your area but you gotta do some research. Its called Kinokunya and its known as the Japanese bookstore and they are scattered around the U.S, but they don't just have books, they have anime charms, imported CD's/ DVD's, and more importantly, they have cell phone stickers and deco! I'm making a trip today just to get some for my new phone ^_^

      • kirin July 6, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

        Thanks for sharing your comment here.
        Kinokuniya sells so many things overseas?! In Japan it's nothing but a book store. But wow, they deal with deco too?? That's a surprise!

  14. shapewear November 19, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    the japanese love to decorate their mobile phones. once, I saw this mobile phone, and it was embedded inside this plushie.

  15. fajas colombianas May 6, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Japanese people are very decorative people, they love to customize almost everything that they have to fit their desire. And I must say, they have a very cute style of designing stuff, especially their mobile phones. Some even look like hamburgers, toys, etc etc.

  16. Maclaren June 6, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Verey pretty, I would never have thought of decorating my phone.

    • kirin June 6, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

      Thank you for your compliment! ^ ^ A few stones are gone but 95% still remains the same as of Today!

  17. Jessica August 24, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    that is perfect what you do with your phone B) i like that alot

    • kirin August 25, 2011 at 8:10 am #

      Thank you!! πŸ˜€ I still use this phone and most of all the stones are still there, except a few falling off… ^ ^;

  18. sumaiya November 15, 2011 at 5:01 am #

    wow ur phone looks so lovely i love it alot i too wona make my phone like urz πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

